Open-access database of over 700,000 mainly manuscript sources, most written before 1800, from hundreds of libraries and archives around the world. This catalog gives public access to the RISM A/II series: Music Manuscripts after 1600. Search by composer, title, thematic catalog number, music incipit, library, etc.; some catalog entries include links to digitized sources. Sponsored by Répertoire international des sources musicales.
"This database holds details of the 17th- and 18th-century music manuscripts preserved in libraries and archives in the UK and Ireland. It includes manuscripts from national, public and academic libraries, county and city record offices, cathedral and chapel libraries and some private collections."
The RISM database contains 34,941 musical manuscripts and 21,768 printed scores from 55 Swiss musical institutions, both private and public, including archives, libraries, convents, and private collections. The printed musical scores have been cataloged for the first time in www.rism-database.ch, as opposed to the RISM A/II database.
Maintained by the International Machaut Society, a scholarly organization founded in 1985 and devoted to the study, criticism, performance, research, and exchange of ideas related to all aspects of the works of the poet and composer Guillaume de Machaut (ca. 1300-1377) and their manuscript and performance traditions.
Full-text version of the 55-volume edition of 1886-1922, providing a very comprehensive collection of the texts of medieval Latin hymns and other sacred songs, with historical and bibliographical notes. Detailed electronic indexing allows for a variety of complex searches across the volumes.