United States
Daily Labor Report [Princeton only]
News coverage of key employment-related developments plus labor legislation, court decisions, regulatory actions, and administrative rulings. Available online from 1996; for 1941-1959, see MICROFILM S00427. For 1960+, see the print (Firestone) HD4802 .D3 and most recent issues in Current Periodicals.
Department of Labor: State Labor Laws
Includes links to state labor offices, state labor associations, state minimum wage laws, state child labor laws, and other state labor laws. Also includes links to state legislation on 34 labor-related topics enacted in 2013 and 2014. For 1980-2012, this information was published on an annual basis in the Bureau of Labor Statistics’ Monthly Labor Review and articles have are archived under the subject category of “State Government” in the Monthly Labor Review Archive.
Employment and Labor Law: A Beginner’s Guide
Barbara Bavis and Robert Brammer, Legal Reference Librarians at the Library of Congress, have compiled a list of basic treatises/handbooks/dictionaries, statutes/regulations, and other online sources.
International
Doing Business Law Library, World Bank Group
- Choose area of the world.
- Choose Labor Laws (Employing Workers).
- Click Create Report button.
Print materials
The Developing Labor Law by Call Number: KF3369 .D48 2017ISBN: 9781682671443Publication Date: 2017-09-01(2019 cumulative supplement also shelved there. Check catalog for previous editions/supplements)
The Employer's Legal Handbook by
What do employers need to know about the law? Plenty. Employment laws change often. And they cover every aspect of the work relationship, from applications, interviews, and hiring, to firing, layoffs, and severance. Staying on top of the legal rules is essential to running an efficient, fair workplace - and avoiding expensive lawsuits. This comprehensive guide answers all of your workplace questions, quickly and easily. Use it to learn about: Safe hiring practices, from writing job descriptions to conducting interviews and background checks. Compensation and benefits, including wage and hour law and Obamacare. Workplace health and safety, such as smoking policies and OSHA compliance. Discrimination and harassment Smart personnel practices, such as performance reviews, discipline, giving references, and more. Terminations and layoffs, the task managers dread the most - and the one most likely to lead to lawsuits.
Call Number: Firestone Library (F) KF3455 .S737 2015 (see catalog for electronic versions of 5th and 6th editions)ISBN: 9781413321463Publication Date: 2015-05-30
Essential Guide to Federal Employment Laws (5th edition) by
Quick answers to questions about 20 Key Employment Laws This book explains, in plain English, the 20 most important federal employment laws that come up in the workplace. You can look up what each law allows and prohibits, which businesses must comply, and how to fulfill record-keeping, posting, and reporting requirements. Each chapter covers one law, including: Americans with Disabilities Act Age Discrimination in Employment Act Fair Labor Standards Act Family and Medical Leave Act Immigration Reform and Control Act Fair Credit Reporting Act Pregnancy Discrimination Act Equal Pay Act Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 Older Workers Benefit Protection Act, and Uniformed Services Employment and Reemployment Rights Act. The 5th edition is updated to reflect the latest Supreme Court cases, government regulations, and state laws. Every employer and HR professional should keep it close at hand.
Call Number: Firestone Library (F) KF3455 .G835 2016ISBN: 9781413322811Publication Date: 2016-04-18
Labor Guide to Labor Law by
Labor Guide to Labor Law is a comprehensive survey of labor law in the private sector, written from the labor perspective for labor relations students and for unions and their members. This thoroughly revised and updated fifth edition covers new statutes, current issues, and the latest developments in labor and employment law. The text emphasizes issues of greatest importance to unions and employees. Where the law permits a union to make certain tactical choices, those choices are pointed out. Material is included on internal union matters that tend to be ignored in management texts. Bruce S. Feldacker and Michael J. Hayes cover applicable labor law principles from a union's initial organizing campaign to the mature bargaining relationship, including such subjects as the employee right to engage in protected concerted activity, the duty to bargain, labor arbitration, the use of strikes, picketing and other economic weapons in resolving a labor dispute, the duty of fair representation, internal union regulation, and employment discrimination. This book is also a useful reference and review for full-time union officers and representatives who have a working knowledge of labor law but wish to brush up on certain points as needed in their work. Both authors have extensive experience in the construction field, and they have been careful to include material on those aspects of labor law that are unique to that field. Labor Guide to Labor Law is structured to present an unbiased and comprehensive explanation of labor law principles for anyone interested in the field. Thus, labor relations educators, as well as practitioners in the field representing labor, management, or individual employees, should also find the text suitable for their use. Each chapter includes a summary, review questions and answers, a restatement of "Basic Legal principles" with citations to key cases, and a bibliography for additional research.
Call Number: Firestone Library (F) KF3369 .F44 2014ISBN: 9780801452253Publication Date: 2014-09-09
