Image sources: Princeton's museum and library collections
Princeton University Digital Library
Princeton Art Museum: Image Use and Access
Special Collections, Princeton University Library
- Rights and permissions: https://rbsc.princeton.edu/research/rights.html
- ARTstor This link opens in a new windowAlso includes images from the Department of Art and Archaeology Visual Resources Collection (http://www.princeton.edu/visualresources/).
Images sources: Princeton's licensed databases
`In general, images in licensed digital collections and databases accessible through Princeton University Library and other departments can be used for classroom/educational purposes but may not be used in publications or for any commercial purpose. If in doubt, look for a link to “terms of use,” “license terms,” or something similar.
- Arkyves: Online Reference Tool for the History of Culture This link opens in a new windowDatabase of images and texts.
- ARTstor This link opens in a new windowDigital library of more than one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
- AP Newsroom (includes AP Images Collection) This link opens in a new window
- Bridgeman Education Database This link opens in a new window
- Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
- Early European Books This link opens in a new window
- ImageQuest This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
- Prometheus This link opens in a new window
Looking for the license terms?
AP Images: http://classic.apimages.com/legal/Termsofuse.aspx and http://classic.apimages.com/uns/splash/?url=legal
Early English Books Online (ProQuest): http://eebo.chadwyck.com/help/faqs.htm#5 Must I obtain permission to reproduce images from EEBO? How?
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (Gale CENGAGE) and other Gale collections: Terms of Use http://www.gale.cengage.com/epcopyright/index.htm#terms – “personal, non-commercial, educational purposes only”
Early European Books (ProQuest): http://eeb.chadwyck.com/info/reproduction.do “Reproduction of images from Early European Books”
ProQuest Historical Newspapers “for educational or research purposes, including illustration, explanation, example, comment, criticism, teaching, or analysis.” http://search.proquest.com/cv_659841/info/termsandconditions?accountid=13314
Images sources: museums & cultural institutions
Many libraries, museums and cultural institutions make images of their collections freely available for classroom use, but charge for high-quality images for publication.
David Rumsey Map Collection http://www.davidrumsey.com/ -- See http://www.davidrumsey.com/about -- requires permission for commercial use of their images
Ad Access (Duke University advertising collections) http://library.duke.edu/digitalcollections/adaccess/copyright
Bibliotheque Nationale de France (Gallica) http://gallica.bnf.fr
British Library https://imagesonline.bl.uk/?service=page&action=show_home_page&language=en
Europeana http://www.europeana.eu/portal/ Offers digital reproductions of predominantly public domain works. Europeana has Usage Guidelines and requests that you credit the author and otherwise use the work appropriately.
Manuscripts Online http://www.manuscriptsonline.org Terms of Use http://www.manuscriptsonline.org/terms educational only
Morguefile (stock photos for presentations) http://www.morguefile.com High quality professional photos available free for any use except stand alone use (you can't take the photo and try to sell it by itself). Most of the photographers contributing to MorgueFile do not require attribution.
National Gallery of Art https://images.nga.gov/en/page/show_home_page.html
Perseus Digital Library http://www.perseus.tufts.edu/hopper
Life Photo Archive http://images.google.com/hosted/life
Library of Congress http://www.loc.gov/library/libarch-digital.html and http://www.loc.gov/pictures/
New York Public Library Digital Collections http://digitalgallery.nypl.org/nypldigital/index.cfm
Smithsonian Institution http://collections.si.edu/search/ and http://www.si.edu/termsofuse
U.S. government agencies:
- National Archives and Records Administration
- NOAA
- Department of Agriculture
- NASA
Museums offering images without fees
The Getty, open content program http://www.getty.edu/about/opencontent.html
Metropolitan Museum http://www.metmuseum.org/research/image-resources
National Gallery of Art https://images.nga.gov/en/page/show_home_page.html
Yale University http://ydc2.yale.edu/open-access-collections
Image sources: fee-based resources for publication
In most cases, there will be a fee for use of the image and for a high-quality digital file for reproduction.
IAP: Images for Academic Publishing http://www.artstor.org/what-is-artstor/w-html/services-publishing.shtml
AKG images http://www.akg-images.co.uk/C.aspx?VP3=CMS3&VF=Home (Archive for Art and History)
Art Resource http://www.artres.com
Artists Rights Society http://www.arsny.com/
Bildarchiv Foto Marburg, http://www.bildindex.de/#|0
Bridgeman Images http://www.bridgemanimages.com/en-US/
Scholars Resource http://www.scholarsresource.com/
SAH (Society of Architectural Historians) SAHARA (must be a SAH member to access)
http://www.sah.org/publications-and-research/sahara
World Images http://worldart.sjsu.edu/
Image sources: Public Domain and Creative Commons License
What Do Public Domain & Creative Commons Mean? http://guides.library.harvard.edu/finding_images
Finding Public Domain & Creative Commons Media (Harvard Law School Library)