Data on the Digital Economy
Digital Economy and Society
Eurostat results from surveys on the usage of information and communication technologies in enterprises, households, and by individuals. Also includes statistics on digital sklls and the ICT sector.
Recording on how to use Digital Economy and Society
Information & Communication Technology Survey
Provides data on both noncapitalized and capitalized spending for information and communication technology equipment and computer software by U.S. nonfarm businesses with employees. Data have been collected annually beginning with data for 2003.
Recording on how to use ICTS
Pew Internet and American Life Project
Produces reports that explore the impact of the Internet on families, communities, work and home, daily life, education, health care, and civic and political life. Raw data are released 6 months after a survey report has been published. Useful for topics such as gaming, social networking, dating, and online shopping. Some of their surveys are also contained in IPOLL.
Recording on using the Pew and American Life Project
World Telecommunication/ICT Indicators Database 
Contains time series data for 1960, 1965, 1970 and annually from 1975+ for around 180 different telecommunication and ICT statistics covering the telecommunication network and ICT uptake, mobile services, quality of service, traffic, staff, tariffs, revenue and investment. Data for over 200 economies are available. Also see ITU Historical Statistics with select data from 1849-1967.
Recording about content and use of World Telecommunications/ICT Indicators Database.
Global Financial Inclusion (Global Findex) Database (2011+)
Measures how people around the world - including the poor, women, and rural residents - manage their day-to-day finances and plan for the future. Compiled using nationally representative surveys of more than 150,000 adults age 15 and above in over 140 economies, the 2017 Global Findex database includes updated indicators on access to and use of formal and informal financial services. It has additional data on the use of financial technology (or fintech), including the use of mobile phones and the internet to conduct financial transactions. Expected to be conducted every 3 years. First round included 140 countries. The initial survey round was followed by a 2nd in 2014 and a 3rd in 2017.
Recording on content of Global Findex
Survey of Consumer Payment Choice (2008+)
Reports data on consumers' adoption and use of 10 payment instruments as well as consumers' assessment of payment instrument characteristics like cost and security. The raw data files at USC include additional variables including state of residence.
Recording on content of Survey of Consumer Payment Choice
BusinessUSA: (1997-2020)
Contains information on approximately 59 million businesses in the USA. Includes private companies and branches. Latest version available through JerseyClicks. Also available through WRDS.
Recording on how to use BusinessUSA
Contextual Data
Wide variety of economic, labor, social, environmental, and political indicators from many US government agencies as well as international bodies. Includes IMF's International Financial Statistics, Direction of Trade (1980+), Balance of Payments, and Government Finance Statistics
Recording on content and using Data-Planet
E-Commerce Statistics (E-STAT)
U.S. Census Bureau's Internet site devoted exclusively to "Measuring the Electronic Economy." This site features recent and upcoming releases, information on methodology, and background papers.
Allows users to visualize,analyze and understand the demography of the United States through the use of interactive maps and data reports from 1790 to the present. Includes the United States Census and the American Community Survey.
Recordings: ACS Methodology; ACS through Social Explorer; ACS through IPUMS