Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Advanced Technologies by
Call Number: Architecture Library (UES) TH6012 .T73 2001
Publication Date: 2001-06-01
In the last twenty years we have seen radical changes take place in the design of buildings. Present-day constructions are incorporating more and more elements which are "intelligent", providing a high degree of flexibility. Electronic systems control the regulation of light, temperature and energy flows, security devices are automated, even facades and the internal structures are becoming "intelligent". More recently, the advances in Information Technology are making what was once considered futuristic a very real possibility. "Building automation", where everything within an edifice is integrated and linked up is examined and investigated in this publication, providing a concise overview of the latest developments which will be helpful for both architects and engineers
Alternative Construction by
Call Number: Architecture Library (UES) TH146 .A48 2000
Publication Date: 2000-05-05
The first comprehensive guide to combining traditional natural materials and modern construction methods. From adobe to straw bales, traditional building materials are being adapted to meet code-required standards for health and safety in contemporary buildings around the world. Not only are they cost effective and environmentally friendly, but, when used correctly, these natural alternatives match the strength and durability of many mainstream construction materials. This book examines a broad range of traditional and modern natural construction methods, including straw-bale, light-clay, cob, adobe, rammed earth and pise, earthbag, earth-sheltered, bamboo, and hybrid systems. It also covers key ecological design principles, as well as current engineering and building code requirements. Experts on each building system have contributed core chapters that explore the history, development, climatic appropriateness, environmental benefits, performance characteristics, construction techniques, and structural design principles for each method. More than 200 visuals depict both construction processes and completed structures. An extensive resource guide shows where to go for further information, training, and research. In an increasingly resource-conscious era, alternative construction is truly an idea whose time has come. Whether you're an architect, designer, student, or homeowner, this book will help you to combine indigenous building materials with modern construction systems and design standards to create low-impact, high-quality buildings that meet the highest levels of comfort, health, and safety.
Concrete Construction Manual by
Call Number: Architecture Library (UES) TH1461 .B4713 2002q
Publication Date: 2002-09-26
The Construction Manuals from Edition Detail are among the most important reference works in the specialist literature. The latest volume shows the potential of the material concrete and documents comprehensively the technical principles of using concrete in construction. Chapters cover the history of the material, the properties of concrete, reinforced concrete, and prestressed concrete, the treatment of its surface. Also covered are the basic principles of statics for large and small structures, and the building requirements with respect to heat, damp, sound-proofing and fire protection according to the most recent norms and standards. Finally a large number of built examples are presented from illustrations of the complete structure down to detailed plans, showing the broad spectrum of applications for concrete in contemporary building. All plans have been specially produced by the editorial department Detail for this book and for ease of comparison, they have been drawn to the same scale.
Construction Methods and Management by
Call Number: Engineering Library (ST) TH145 .N86 2011
Publication Date: 2010-01-04
Construction Methods and Management,8/e, is designed to guide construction engineers and managers in planning, estimating, and directing construction operations safely and effectively. Comprehensive and up-to-date, the text integrates major construction management topics with an explanation of the methods of heavy/highway and building construction. It incorporates both customary U.S. units and metric (SI) units and is the only text to present concrete formwork design equations and procedures using both measurement systems. This edition features information on the latest developments in soil excavation, asphalt paving, and earthmoving equipment.
Construction Planning, Equipment and Methods by
Call Number: Engineering Library (ST) TH145 .P45 2002
Publication Date: 2001-06-05
Robert Peurifoy was a giant in the field of construction engineering and authored several classic books during his lifetime. Construction Planning, Equipment, and Methods, sixth edition, deals with a diverse set of constructionplanning scenarios. Clifford Schexnayder has improved on a classic treatment of the topic by updating, improving, and adding material important to instructors in this area.This sixth edition of Construction Planning, Equipment, and Methods has sharpened its focus on planning. New methods and data are incorporated throughout with many contemporary examples.
Olin's Construction by
Call Number: Engineering Library (ST) TH145 .S513 2011
Publication Date: 2011-12-20
Established as one of the leading books on the materials and methods of construction, the <i>Ninth Edition</i> of <i>Construction</i> was renamed <i>Olin′s Construction</i> to reflect the brand identity that Harold Olin brought to this standard text. The most comprehensive text on the subject, <i>Olin′s Construction Volumes 1 and 2</i> cover not only the materials and methods of building construction, but also building systems and equipment, utilities, properties of materials, and current design and contracting requirements. Whether a builder, designer, contractor, or manager, readers have for over two generations mastered the principles of construction operations with <i>Olin′s Construction, Ninth Edition</i>.
Construction Site Work, Site Utilities and Substructures Databook by
Call Number: ReCAP (RCPPA) TH375 .L48 2001
Publication Date: 2001-05-22
*A jam-packed, heavily illustrated resource for finding specs and data on all kinds of underground construction equipment and systems. *Cranes and earth-moving machines are covered, along with specific data on the size, capacity, and turning readius of bulldozers, loaders, and excavators. *Includes a discussion of concrete--from mixes and additives to concrete reinforcement types.
Earthquake Architecture by
Call Number: Architecture Library (UES) TA658.44 .A76513 2000q
Publication Date: 2000-11-01
"A crucial tool for professionals, teachers, and student architects and engineers, this important volume belongs on the desk of anyone involved in the construction of buildings in areas that are vulnerable to earthquakes. The world's most seismically active locales are represented in the projects profiled, where techniques for resisting catastrophic earthquake damage have been applied to many different types of buildings. Sites studied are in countries along the Pacific Rim - the west coasts of North, Central, and South America; Australasia and the east coast of Asia and all its islands, known as the "Ring of Fire"; and less-affected areas in Eastern Europe, Greece, and Turkey. Some projects show the latest techniques in earthquake resistance conceived by architects such as Rafael Mono and Arata Isozaki. Others deal with post-disaster situations; for example, a Polshek & Partners project to retrofit and add a new wing to a museum that suffered great damage in California's 1989 earthquake. Many sizes of buildings are viewed, from very small projects, like a house by Shigeru Ban designed for the homeless after the Kobe disaster of 1995, to huge buildings such as the San Francisco Main Library by I.M. Pei. Categories of construction are wide-ranging: residential, commercial, religious, medical, and cultural facilities are all considered in this comprehensive report on life-saving construction strategies."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Essential Structural Technology for Construction and Architecture by
Call Number: ReCAP (RCPPA) TH846 .D57 2001
Publication Date: 2000-07-31
A compact, easy-to-read and mathematicallyaccessiblereference for practicing construction professionals wishing to gain, or regain, a working knowledge of structures--one that will enable them to envision how structures resist loads and that will prepare them to collaborate effectively with other construction professionals while analyzing, designing, and constructing structures.Using extensive descriptions and a minimum of mathematics, the handbook focuses on the key concepts of structures--and their applications in unique, real-life problems--taken from traditional engineering topics in statics, mechanics of materials, structural analysis, timber design, steel design, reinforced concrete design, soil mechanics, and foundation design.For engineers, architects, construction contractors, construction project managers, inspectors, and others involved in the construction of buildings, bridges, and other structures.
Mechanical and Electrical Equipment for Buildings by
Call Number: Engineering Library (ST) TH6010 .S74 2010
Publication Date: 2009-11-24
For more than half a century, this book has been a fixture in architecture and construction firms the world over. Twice awarded the AIA's Citation for Excellence in International Architecture Book Publishing, Mechanical and Electrical Equipment for Buildings is recognized for its comprehensiveness, clarity of presentation, and timely coverage of new design trends and technologies. Addressing mechanical and electrical systems for buildings of all sizes, it provides design guidelines and detailed design procedures for each topic covered. Thoroughly updated to cover the latest technologies, new and emerging design trends, and relevant codes, this latest edition features more than 2,200 illustrations--200 new to this edition--and a companion Website with additional resources.
Modern Construction Handbook by
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2013
Classical building construction presented in a clear overview on the Island of Hombroich; Expanded to contain current digital architecture tools; Glossary following every chapter containing explanations of terminology and related information
Reading Architectural Plans by
Call Number: Architecture Library (UES) NA7115 .W44 1999
Publication Date: 1998-09-16
Informative, yet concise, this reputable text helps students become adept at reading both residential and commercial construction architectural plans. It offers thorough coverage on everything from projections to modular coordination, light framing to window details, and timber construction to trusses, and provides actual photographs of the buildings under construction. Individually shrink-wrapped exercises provide a neat and readily accessible means of applying material in the text.
Standard Handbook of Architectural Engineering by
Call Number: Engineering Library (ST) TH19 .B88 1998
Publication Date: 1998-03-01
"Featuring 450 universal design scenarios stocked with easy-to-use interactive formulas, innovative design tools, illustrated examples, and at-a-glance tables, this Standard Handbook leads you step by step through the design, selection, and sizing of virtually any functional component of a building."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Structural Renovation in Concrete by
Call Number: Engineering Library (ST) TA683 .L48 2009
Publication Date: 2009-03-12
Buildings and infrastructures degrade. The mechanisms by which this occurs in concrete structures are complex, as are the procedures and methods for inspection and for rehabilitation. Structural Renovation in Concrete examines the various problems caused by non-uniform deformation changes, poor durability, and natural and human disasters such as earthquakes and fire. Attention is given to the causes and mechanisms of the deterioration. General procedures and commonly used techniques for inspection and evaluation of existing infrastructures are introduced. The desk study, destructive test, and non-destructive test are discussed - in particular the newly developed non-destructive methods for deterioration monitoring. The book then moves on to conventional renovation techniques such as patch and steel plate strengthening which meet the requirements of normal practice. Special attention is paid to compatibility between repair materials and degraded materials. Fibrous composite materials are then introduced as a basis for innovative repair techniques, and different fibre and matrix properties are outlined, as are newly developed inorganic binders as a matrix for fibrous composites. Finally, advanced rehabilitation techniques using fibrous composites are described. Fundamental issues such as bonding and failure mechanisms are then discussed in detail. Fibrous composite strengthening techniques for beam, wall, column, and slabs are covered, including shear strengthening, flexural strengthening, and fillet winding, as are codes of practice for retrofitting with fibrous composites. Students and academics worldwide will find this an invaluable source of information. It is also useful as a practical tool book for concrete and structural engineering professionals. Book jacket.