Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Construction Resources: Building Materials & Product Info

Material Samples

Product Directories

Arcata directory of building product manufacturers and associations: a collection of catalog information pages from manufacturers. Fairfield, CT : The Architect's Catalog, Inc. Organized by CSI classification.

Reed Construction Data - free access to a library of commercial building product information, including manufacturers' addresses, telephone numbers, trade names, and regional distributors. Reed Construction Data Online expands the information available in the First Source directory published annually.

Green building products the GreenSpec guide to residential building materials [available as ebook] - Issued by BuildingGreen in 2008. 

Building Materials

Material ConneXion Online database of building materials, processes and specifications selected from a large spectrum of industries which are typically unnoticed or difficult to reach by the design community. 1400+ new and innovative materials representing eight categories: polymers, glass, ceramics, carbon-based materials, cement-based materials, metals, natural materials and natural material derivatives. (see video tutorials for using)

Network for Products via McGraw-Hill Construction Sweets Network. A directory of construction products and their manufacturers.

ThomasNet. A directory of American manufacturers and their products. Includes some CAD drawings for download.

Green Architecture: Advanced Technologies and Materials (2010) [available as ebook]: This publication Surveys new developments, innovative techniques, and emerging technologies that support environmentally responsive architecture. Residential, commercial, and institutional high-performance buildings are discussed. This architectural resource includes details on green building rating systems, energy generation and retention, water and waste management, and green building materials.

Rematerial: From Waste to Architecture: (2010) Rematerial features projects that rescue discarded materials from paper cups to cargo containers and transform them into buildings and projects that are sustainable, innovative, even daring from a conventional perspective. Rematerial brings to light a movement of diverse professionals from around the world who address this fundamental theme: the reuse of materials with architectonic purpose.

Product Information on the Web for Building and Designing