Skip to main content

African American Studies: Religion

A guide to resources at Princeton University Library.

Digital and Microfilm Collections

Afro-Americana Imprints (1535-1922)

Full text of more than 12,000 printed works, including lesser known imprints published from the early 16th to the early 20th century. 

 

Black Thought and Culture  

Full-text collection of published non-fiction works is included, as well as interviews, journal articles, letters, and other materials of leading African-Americans. Biographical essays by leading scholars and an annotated bibliography of the sources in the database are also featured.

 

Communist infiltration of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference and J. Edgar Hoover’s Official Confidential File on Martin Luther King, Jr.

Microfilm 05440                     Printed guide: none          9 reels

 

Grassroots social activism records of the Highlander Folk School and Highlander Research and Education Center, 1932-1978

MICROFILM 12479           Printed guide: (FilmB) LC5251 .G727 2007 Index          50 reels 

 

Mother Bethel African Methodist Episcopal Church, 1760-1972

Microfilm 11660                  Online guide                 8 reels

NAACP Papers

NAACP Papers: Board of Directors, Annual Conferences, Major Speeches, and National Staff Files  

Search this Module  Browse Collections

NAACP Papers: Branch Department, Branch Files, and Youth Department Files  

Search this Module  Browse Collections

NAACP Papers: Special Subjects  Search this Module  Browse Collections

NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Education, Voting, Housing, Employment, Armed Forces  

Search this Module  Browse Collections

NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Legal Department Files  Search this Module  Browse Collections

NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Scottsboro, Anti-Lynching, Criminal Justice, Peonage, Labor,

and Segregation and Discrimination Complaints and Responses 

Search this Module  Browse Collections

 

Records of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference, 1954-1970, Part 1: Records of the President's Office

The organization's records provide researchers with a treasure of primary source material on the complexities of organizing a successful mass protest movement. Organizational working papers, internal memoranda, correspondence, minutes of meetings, field reports, press releases, pamphlet publications, questionnaire replies, statistical compilations, and many other types of documents bring to light the struggle for civil rights.  

Records of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference, 1954-1970, Part 2: Records of the Executive Director and Treasurer 

Records of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference, 1954-1970, Part 3: Records of the Public Relations Department 

Records of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference, 1954-1970, Part 4: Records of the Program Department