Skip to main content

Twentieth-century U.S. society and politics

Origins of the Cold War

The Origins of the Cold War
Microfiche 1542
17 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms D839.3 .O744 1982
"The historical conflict between the Soviet Union and the United States, and the world events that served to influence relations between the two world powers are presented here." Primarily based on Foreign Relations of the United States.

Papers of Dean Acheson [microform]: Princeton Seminars, 1953-1954
Microfilm 06058
4 reels
Printed guide: none
Papers of Dean Acheson Princeton Seminars, 1953-1954. See Acheson, Dean (1893-1971) in American National Biography.

McCarthy, Communism & the House Committee on Un-American Activities

The Rise and Fall of Senator Joseph R. McCarthy
Microfiche 1543
23 fiches
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms E748.M143 R57 1982
"The brief but dramatic political reign of Senator Joseph Raymond McCarthy is examined in this collection, from the Wheeling speech to McCarthy's condemnation by the Senate in late 1954." See also http://www.anb.org/articles/07/07-00188.html

Files of the Communist Party of the USA in the Comintern archives [microform]
Microfilm 11816
326 reels
Printed guide: none
"The material in the collection, largely the original headquarters records of the CPUSA shipped to Moscow many decades ago, spans the period from 1912 to 1944 with the bulk in the period from 1922 to 1936. The files contain the original incoming mail, carbons of outgoing correspondence, reports from regional and local organizers, and internal memoranda produced by officials and offices of the national headquarters. In addition to CPUSA records produced in America, these files contain documents created or gathered in Moscow by CPUSA representatives to the COMINTERN. Most of the material in the CPUSA records is in English, although in some files key documents are accompanied by Russian, German, or French translations."

FBI file on Joseph McCarthy [microform]
Microfilm 10685
4 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms E748.M143 F343
See above and also http://foia.fbi.gov/foiaindex/mccarthy.htm

FBI File on the House Committee on Un-American Activities
Microfilm 05654
9 reels
Printed guide: none
"From 1938 through 1975, the House Committee on Un-American Activities and the FBI developed a working relationship that both increased the power of the committee and gave the bureau another means of investigating suspected Communists. This file ... contains hundreds of reports centered on HUAC’s major investigations."

The FBI in the Cold War

Official & confidential files of FBI Director J. Edgar Hoover [microform]
Microfilm 10682
6 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms HV7911.H6 O334
"This file was one of two secret files Hoover maintained in his office.... [It] contains important policy documents pertaining to wiretapping, bugging, break-ins, and authorizations to investigate subversive activities. Other documents provide insights into the relationship between the FBI director and several presidents, as well as other prominent Americans. " See http://academic.lexisnexis.com/documents/upa_cis/10756_FBIFileHooverOffConfFile.pdf

FBI file on Julius and Ethel Rosenberg [microform]
Microfilm 11819
27 reels
Printed guide: none
The Rosenbergs were tried and executed as spies for the Soviet Union in 1953. See the online guide at http://www.gale.cengage.com/pdf/scguides/rosenbergfbi/rosenbergfbi.doc and http://www.anb.org/articles/07/07-00256.html

Coplon vs. U.S. [the record of the trial of Judith Coplon for espionage]
Microfilm 03158
8 reels
Printed guide: none
Judith Coplon, who worked for the Dept. of Justice in the 1940's, was tried and convicted of spying for the Soviet Union. The convictions were overturned on technical grounds.

FBI file on Roy M. Cohn [microform]
Microfilm 10704
4 reels
Printed guide: KF373.C62 F34
Cohn was an anti-Communist activist and attorney. See http://www.anb.org/articles/11/11-00943.html

The Communist Party, USA and Radical Organizations, 1953-1960: FBI Reports from the Eisenhower Library
Microfilm 06842
7 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms HX83 .C655 1990
"During the Eisenhower years, the FBI put a number of radical groups under surveillance. It gathered intelligence for use by selected federal offices, including the president’s, in monographs that assessed in great detail the organizations’ structures, inner workings, and beliefs. Most of the documents deal with the Communist Party USA (CPUSA) ... also includes reports on three other extremist organizations: The Nation of Islam, the Ku Klux Klan, and the Socialist Workers Party." See http://academic.lexisnexis.com/documents/upa_cis/10834_CPUSAFBIDDELib.pdf

The Amerasia Affair, China, and Postwar Anti-Communist Fervor Archives Unbound "The Amerasia Affair was the first of the great spy cases of the postwar era. Unlike Alger Hiss or the Rosenberg cases, it did not lead to an epic courtroom confrontation or imprisonment or execution of any of the principals. The Amerasia Affair sheds light not only on debate as to who "lost" China, Soviet espionage, McCarthyism, and the loyalty program, but also on the bureaucratic intricacies of anti-communism in Washington."

FBI file on Joseph McCarthy [microform]
Microfilm 10685
4 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms E748.M143 F343
See above and also http://foia.fbi.gov/foiaindex/mccarthy.htm

FBI File on the House Committee on Un-American Activities
Microfilm 05654
9 reels
Printed guide: none
"From 1938 through 1975, the House Committee on Un-American Activities and the FBI developed a working relationship that both increased the power of the committee and gave the bureau another means of investigating suspected Communists. This file ... contains hundreds of reports centered on HUAC’s major investigations"

COINTELPRO: the Counterintelligence Program of the FBI
RECAP Microfilm 05649
30 reels
Printed guide: none
"The FBI Counterintelligence Program file contains details of the bureau’s attempts to “expose, disrupt, and neutralize” groups that J. Edgar Hoover perceived as threatening to national security. The material in this file, spanning COINTELPRO’s existence from 1956 to 1971, is especially valuable for the view it offers of the U.S. political climate in the 1960s. The file is organized in sections that reflect the bureau’s interests, among them the Communist Party of the USA, Black nationalist “hate” groups, White “hate” groups, the Socialist Workers Party, and Cuban groups supporting Fidel Castro."

Other Cold War collections

Voice of America
1096.943
reels
Printed guide: none
(Voice of America scripts, 1953-1980)

Archives of War Resisters' International, 1921-1974
Microfiche 446
103 fiche
Printed guide: none
See http://www.iisg.nl/archives/en/files/w/10773401.php for the finding aid to the original documents, now housed at the International Institute of Social History in Amsterdam.

Cold War: Voices of Confrontation and Conciliation Archives Unbound Transcripts of oral recollections of key figures of the Cold War. From the private Collection of James Thebaut, Chronicles Group, Inc.