Skip to main content

Twentieth-century U.S. society and politics

Asian-American Immigration

Lists of Chinese passengers arriving at Seattle (Port Townsend), 1882-1916 [microform]
RECAP Microfilm 11727
10 reels
Printed guide: none
For guides, see http://www.archives.gov/genealogy/immigration/microfilm/immigration-records-1891-1957.html

Passenger lists of vessels arriving at San Francisco, CA, 1893-1953 [microform]
RECAP Microfilm 11726
429 reels
Printed guide: none
See above.

Register of citizen (1943-1947) and alien (1936-1949) arrivals by aircraft at San Francisco, California [microform].
RECAP Microfilm 11729
2 reels
Printed guide: none
See above.

Register of Chinese laborers departing from and returning to the United States under Act of May 6, 1882 [microform]
RECAP Microfilm 11731
12 reels
Printed guide: none
See above.

Lists of Chinese passengers arriving at San Francisco, CA, 1888-1914 [microform]
RECAP Microfilm 11732
32 reels
Printed guide: none
See above.

Case files of Chinese immigrants from District No. 4 (Philadelphia) of the Immigration and Naturalization Service, 1900-1923 [microform]
RECAP Microfilm 11733
51 reels
Printed guide: none
See above.

Passenger lists of vessels arriving at San Francisco from insular possessions, 1907-1911 [microform]
RECAP Microfilm 11735
2 reels
Printed guide: none
See above.

Case files of Chinese immigrants, Portland, Oregon, 1890-1914, INS, Portland, Oregon [microform]
RECAP Microfilm 11736
15 reels
Printed guide: none
See above.

Index to passenger arrivals at San Diego, California, ca. 1904-ca. 1952 [microform].
RECAP Microfilm 11737
6 reels
Printed guide: none
See above.

Index to passenger lists of vessels arriving at San Pedro/Wilmington/Los Angeles, California, 1907-1936 [microform]
RECAP Microfilm 11738
7 reels
Printed guide: none
See above.

Passenger lists of vessels arriving at San Pedro/Wilmington/Los Angeles, California, June 29, 1907-June 30, 1948 [microform]
RECAP Microfilm 11739
118 reels
Printed guide: none
See above.

Passenger lists of vessels arriving at San Francisco from Honolulu, 1902-1907 [microform]
RECAP Microfilm 11741
1 reel
Printed guide: none
See above.

Passenger and crew lists of vessels arriving at San Francisco, CA, December 1, 1954--February 1, 1957 [microform]
RECAP Microfilm 11743
19 reels
Printed guide: none
See above.

Customs passenger lists of vessels arriving at San Francisco, CA, January 3, 1903-April 1, 1918 [microform]
RECAP Microfilm 11734
13 reels
Printed guide: none
See above.

Other immigration collections

History Vault: Immigration: Records of the INS, 1880-1930

Covers the central correspondence files of the Bureau of Immigration, the predecessor of the INS. This massive file records the administration of virtually every immigration issue. Covered topics are Asian immigration and exclusion, 1906-1913 and 1898-1941; Mexican immigration, 1906-1930;  Ellis Island, 1900-1933; European Investigations, 1898-1936; Prostitution and White Slavery, 1902-1933; Suppression of Aliens: Voices from Ellis Island.

Reproduces in full: Records of the Immigration and Naturalization Service. Series A, Subject correspondence files [microform]
Microfilm 10010

Census data with maps for small areas of New York City, 1910-1960 [microform]
Microfilm 10609
10 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms HA730.N5 C467
"This unique collection includes all of the census data taken for New York City on the tract level (1910-1960), health area (from 1930-1960) and city block levels (from 1940-1960) of geography. The census for each level is accompanied by a map specifying and illustrating each small area's boundaries. Every census series includes the questionnaire that was used to derive the data and maps detailing the small area enumerated in the tables that follow, along with any explanatory text accompanying the original tables."

Records of the American Council for Nationalities Service, 1921-1971 [microform]
Microfilm 11746
26 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms JV6403 .R436
"The four successive organizations whose records make up this collection—the Foreign Language Information Service, the Common Council for American Unity, the American Federation of International Institutes, and the American Council for Nationalities Service—were among the most prominent groups involved in the orientation of immigrants to American society in the 20th century."

Border and Migration Studies Online -- includes primary sources related to the U.S.-Mexico border