Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
See also "Publications," "Image Collections" and "Databases" for alumni-related resources.
Undergraduate Alumni Files, 1748-1920 (AC104)
Consists of personal files of former undergraduate students of Princeton University. Information in each file varies greatly but can include the names of relatives, notable achievements and news items, address updates, and obituaries.
Undergraduate Alumni Records, 1921-2008 (AC199)
Consists of individual files of former undergraduate students of Princeton University, compiled by the Bureau of Alumni Information. Material in each file varies greatly but most include the names of relatives, notable achievements at Princeton and post-graduation, news items, address updates, and obituaries.
Graduate Alumni Records, 1839-2009 (AC105)
The records consist of the personal files of former graduate students of Princeton University. The information contained in each file varies greatly but can include biographical information, lists of achievements, news clippings, and obituaries.
Office of the Registrar Records, 1803-2009 (AC116)
Grade books, matriculation records, entrance examinations and scholarship cards are all types of materials found within the OFfice of the Registrar records. These materials provide information about students' academic work during their tenure at Princeton. See finding aid for information on access and restrictions.
Office of the Dean of the Faculty, Series 1: Meetings and Minutes, 1781-2009 (AC118)
Early faculty minutes focus on the disciplining of undergraduates, and also provide an academic ranking of students after each college session. As time passed, the faculty minutes began to focus less on discipline and more on curricular changes. See finding aid for information on access and restrictions.
Senior Thesis Collection, 1926-2009 (AC102)
Since its introduction in the mid-1920s the senior thesis has been a core element of the undergraduate curriculum at Princeton University. The collection contains the senior theses of Princeton undergraduates.
Master's Theses and Dissertations
Searchable via the Princeton University Library catalog. See also Proquest's Digital Dissertations database at http://www.proquest.com/en-US/products/dissertations/disexpress.shtml
Lecture Notes Collection, 1772-1947 (AC052)
This collection contains 608 sets of student notes taken from lectures given by members of Princeton's faculty. They represent the broad range of courses taught at Princeton University (known as the College of New Jersey prior to 1896) and include the works of numerous famous faculty and students.
Syllabi and Course Materials Collection, circa 1880-1978 (AC333)
The Syllabi and Course Materials Collection brings together original materials from the university archives that document classes at Princeton University. Using the syllabi a researcher could trace the development of courses at Princeton.
Course Examinations Collection, 1841-1967 (AC054)
The course examinations collection consists of examination questions administered to undergraduates and graduate students at Princeton University. Most of this material dates from the late 1800s to the mid-1930s.
Scrapbook Collection, 1843-1954 (AC026)
The scrapbooks provide a measure of insight into the activities of students on campus. Often they include tickets to theatrical, musical, and athletic eventsl debates on campus; newspaper clippings; broadsides and photographs. The bulk date from 1860 to 1920.
Princeton University Class Records, 1798-2009 (AC130)
The Class Records consist of a diverse set of materials documenting the history and activities of Princeton University classes during their time as undergraduates and as alumni. In the collection are correspondence, newsletters, publications, photographs, and memorabilia, all of which pertain to a particular Princeton University graduating class and its members.
Princeton University Commencement Records, 1748-2009 (AC115)
The Commencement Records contain programs, bulletins, announcements and newspaper clippings which document commencement activities from 1763 to the present. All files are arranged chronologically by year. In addition there are separate series consisting of bound programs, electrical broadcast transcriptions, bound commencement notices, oversize material, and audio recordings of various commencement, class day, and baccalaureate activities.
War Service Bureau Records, 1940-1949 (AC014)
The records of the War Service Bureau include a wide range of documentation for Princeton men who served in World War II. Materials include biographical, military and school-related information, as well as correspondence between the students and Princeton University staff, faculty and students, and subject files for the War Service Bureau office. See finding aid for information on access and restrictions.