Skip to main content

Using EndNote at Princeton: EBSCOhost

If you need help with Zotero, see this guide .

Exporting to EndNote from EBSCOhost databases

1.  After searching in your EBSCOhost database, save each article by clicking on the Add to folder icon located below each article record.
2.  In the right sidebar, under "Folder has items", click on Folder View.

3.  Chech the "Select / deselect all" box in the top-left corner of the citation list.
4.  In the right sidebar, click on Export
5.  Under "Save citations to a file formatted for", select Direct Export in RIS Format (e.g. CITAVI, EasyBib, Endnote, ProCite, Reference Manager, Zotero).  Click the Save button on the left side of the screen.
6.  Follow the instructions below to import these citations into EndNote.

From within EndNote (after following above directions)

A small box will appear, prompting you to open or save the .ris file*. Follow prompts to open the file. The exact steps will vary depending on what browser you're using, and whether you're on a Mac or PC.

Note: If you are unable to open the file, select Save File instead. In EndNote's top menu bar, go to File → Import → File. A small "Import File" window will appear. Browse for the file you just saved. Click Import.

Either EndNote will render you citation immediately, or you will be prompted to select an "Import Option". For .ris files, select Reference Manager (RIS). For other file types use the filter corresponding to the name of the database.

*For some databases, you might see another file extension, such as .ciw, .nbib, .enw etc.

If you need further assistance, email coach@princeton.edu

Full list of EBSCOhost databases

Academic Search Premier
Africa-Wide Information
Alternative Press Index (API)
America: History and Life
American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (ABSEES)
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection
ATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature Index (ATLA CPLI)
ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials
Bibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA)
Biomedical Reference Collection: Expanded
Biography Collection Complete
Business Source Elite
Communication and Mass Media Complete (CMMC)
Communication Abstracts
Criminal Justice Abstracts
Economía y Negocios
Environment Complete
ERIC (Education Resource Information Center)
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
Gender Studies Databases (Women’s Studies International & Men’s Studies)
Global Health
GreenFILE
Health Source - Consumer Edition
Historical Abstracts
History Reference Center
Human Resources Abstracts
Humanities International Complete
Index to Jewish Periodicals
International Political Science Abstracts (IPSA)
Left Index
LGBT Life with Full Text
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
Literary Reference Center (LRC)
MAS Ultra - School Edition
MasterFILE Premier
MEDLINE (EBSCOhost)
Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies
Middle Search Plus
Military & Government Collection
MLA Directory of Periodicals
MLA International Bibliography
Music Index Online
Newspaper Source Plus
Philosopher’s Index
Primary Search
Professional Development Collection
Race Relations Abstracts
Referencia Latina
Regional Business News
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Science Reference Center
Social Work Abstracts
SocINDEX with Full Text
SPORTDiscus
Teacher Reference Center
The Nation Archive (Nation Digital Archive)
The National Review Archive
The New Republic Archive
Urban Studies Abstracts
EBSCO Business Source Premier
EBSCO Magazine Article Summaries: Online
EBSCO Newspaper Source
EBSCO Points of View Reference Center
EBSCO TOPICSearch
EBSCO NoveList
EBSCO Salud en Español

WilsonWeb databases (part of EBSCOhost):

ASTI

Art Index

Bibliographic Index

Biography Reference Bank

Business Full Text

Book Review Digest Plus

Education Index

Essay and General Literature Index

General Science Index

Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective

Humanities Index

Index to Legal Periodicals and Books

International Index, Social Sciences and Humanities Index, Omnifile

Legal Periodicals FullText

Legal Periodicals Retrospective

Library Literature and Information Science Full Text (Omnifile)

Omnifile (Wilson)

Play Index  

Readers' Guide

Short Story Index

Social Sciences Full Text