Skip to main content

Economics Collections at the Mudd Manuscript Library: World War I and World War II

Guide to the archival collections related to economics located at the Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library, Princeton University

Edward S. Greenbaum

Edward S. Greenbaum

Collections

  • Ball, George W.
  • Baruch, Bernard M.
  • Brown, J. Douglas
  • Bullard, Arthur
  • Eberstadt, Ferdinand
  • Greenbaum, Edward S.
  • Kemmerer, Edwin W.
  • Kent, Fred I.
  • Labouisse, Henry R.
  • Liberty Loan Committee
  • Pate, Maurice
  • Petersen, Howard C.
  • Rockey, Kenneth H.
  • Sloan, Eugene W.
  • Viner, Jacob
  • White, Harry Dexter

Section Description

Sixteen of the collections include papers related to United States policies during and after the first and second world wars, with most pertaining to World War II. The majority are papers of individuals from academia and the private sector who held posts in the United States government, in the War Department, the Treasury Department, and the State Department, developing policies, managing logistical supply and manpower issues during the wars, and addressing post-war reparations, aid, and economic policies. These include George W. Ball, Bernard M. Baruch, and Ferdinand Eberstadt. The collections also include the papers of individuals involved in international relief efforts, and the records of the Liberty Loan Committee, which raised funds during World War I.

Section Organization

All collection entries in this section are listed by creator and include information on the title, date span, size (extent), and call number of the collection, as well as a brief biographical or historical profile and a summary of the contents. The creator name also provides a hyperlink to the EAD finding aid for each collection.

Collection Descriptions

Ball, George W. (George Wildman), 1909-1994

Title: George W. Ball Papers, 1880s-1994 (bulk 1933-1994)

Extent: 113.9 linear feet (222 boxes)

Call Number: MC031

Abstract: The George W. Ball Papers document Ball’s career as a lawyer, diplomat, investment banker and author. His involvement in Democratic politics, including his time spent on the presidential campaigns of Adlai Stevenson and his service as undersecretary of state for John F. Kennedy and Lyndon B. Johnson is well documented, as is his often overlooked role with Jean Monnet in European integration.

Baruch, Bernard M. (Bernard Mannes), 1870-1965

Title: Bernard M. Baruch Papers, 1905-1965 (bulk 1917-1965)

Extent: 302.40 cubic feet (521 volumes and 290 boxes)

Call Number: MC006

Abstract: Baruch was a financier and public advisor. Consists primarily of public papers relating to Baruch’s various involvements in government affairs, including the United States War Industries Board (1917-1918), the National Industrial Conference (1919), and papers relating to assignments during World War II, such as the Fact-Finding Commission on Synthetic Rubber (1942) and the Office of War Mobilization (1943-1944).

Brown, J. Douglas (James Douglas), 1898-

Title: J. Douglas Brown Papers, 1917-1978 (bulk 1930-1970)

Extent: 35.03 linear feet (84 boxes)

Call Number: MC155

Abstract: J. Douglas Brown (1898-1986) was an economist and Princeton University administrator who was an expert in the field of industrial relations, especially on the subjects of Social Security and personnel and manpower issues. He was one of the leaders in the development of the Social Security program and also served in the War Department during World War II on manpower issues. Brown’s papers document his career as a government consultant, as a scholar, and as a university administrator and include his correspondence and writings, reports, meeting minutes, notes, and publications.

Bullard, Arthur, 1879-1929

Title: Arthur Bullard Papers, 1905-1929

Extent: 5.0 cubic feet (11 boxes)

Call Number: MC008

Abstract: The Papers of Arthur Bullard (1879-1929), journalist and statesman, chronicle the major world political and economic events relating to World War I and its aftermath. Although the bulk of the material concerns Russia and Western Europe, there are writings on political events in North Africa, Central America, and East Asia as well. The collection includes copies and originals of newspaper and magazine articles, manuscripts of several novels, travel books, and political volumes, memorandum, and correspondence, most of which was written by Bullard. There is also a file of photographs and post cards.

Eberstadt, Ferdinand

Title: Ferdinand Eberstadt Papers, 1868-1970 (bulk 1935-1965): Finding Aid

Extent: 113.52 linear feet (277 boxes)

Call Number: MC021

Abstract: Ferdinand Eberstadt (1890-1969) was a prominent Wall Street investment banker who also served in several government posts throughout his career. During World War II, he organized the production and distribution of supplies to the United States military through his work with the Army-Navy Munitions Board and the War Production Board, and he was subsequently involved in plans for the reorganization of the armed services and in the development of post-war economic policies. The Eberstadt papers primarily document his extensive career in public service to the United States related to defense and the economy, as well as his career as an investment banker and his personal life, and include correspondence, reports, his writings, and his personal papers.

Greenbaum, Edward S. (Edward Samuel), 1890-1970

Title: Edward S. Greenbaum Papers, 1888-1969 (bulk 1930-1960)

Extent: 20.3 linear feet (48 boxes)

Call Number: MC069

Abstract: Edward S. Greenbaum (1890-1970) was a lawyer in New York City in the legal firm of Greenbaum, Wolff & Ernst who was involved in court reform efforts throughout his career. He also served in the War Department during World War II as executive officer to Under Secretary of War Robert P. Patterson, negotiating contracts with the private sector for munitions and supplies. Greenbaum’s papers document his career as a lawyer, as well as his government service, and include correspondence, legal documents, reports, and publications.

Kemmerer, Edwin Walter, 1875-1945

Title: Edwin W. Kemmerer Papers, 1875-1945 (bulk 1920-1945)

Extent: 149.17 linear feet (377 boxes)

Call Number: MC146

Abstract: Edwin W. Kemmerer (1875-1945), internationally known as “The Money Doctor,” was an economist and government advisor with expertise in finance and currency. Kemmerer served as a financial advisor to many governments, mostly in Latin America, and spent the majority of his academic career at Princeton University. Kemmerer’s papers document his advisory and scholarly career and include his professional correspondence, writings, and files from his financial advisory work.

Kent, Fred I., 1869-1954

Title: Fred I. Kent Papers, 1901-1954 (bulk 1920-1950)

Extent: 17.41 linear feet (42 boxes)

Call Number: MC077

Abstract: Fred I. Kent (1869-1954) was a banker who spent the majority of his career at Bankers Trust Company in New York. He was an expert on foreign exchange, and during World War I and its aftermath was involved with establishing foreign exchange policies, reparations, and war debt. Kent was also active in numerous organizations, including the American Bankers Association and the International Chamber of Commerce. Kent’s papers include his correspondence with businessmen and politicians about financial and economic issues, articles and speeches written by Kent, and papers documenting his involvement with several banking and economic organizations.

Labouisse, Henry R., 1904-1987

Title: Henry R. Labouisse Papers, 1785-2004 (bulk 1940-1987)

Extent: 21.71 linear feet (52 boxes)

Call Number: MC199

Abstract: Henry R. Labouisse (1904-1987) was a distinguished American diplomat and international public servant. He served as director of the United Nations Relief and Works Agency for Palestine Refugees in the Near East (UNRWA) from 1954 to 1958 and as executive director of the United Nations Children’s Fund (UNICEF) from 1965 to 1979. He also served as a United States government official working on the formation and implementation of foreign economic policies during World War II and the 1960s. Labouisse’s papers document his career with the United Nations and with the State Department and include correspondence, speeches and publications, as well as biographical and genealogical material.

Liberty Loan Committee

Title: Liberty Loan Committee Records, 1917-1919

Extent: 23.35 cubic feet (70 boxes)

Call Number: MC089

Abstract: Consists of records pertaining to the Liberty Loan Committee of the Federal Reserve Bank during World War I.

Pate, Maurice, 1894-

Title: Maurice Pate Papers, 1904-1985 (bulk 1945-1965)

Extent: 10.51 linear feet (24 boxes)

Call Number: MC103

Abstract: Maurice Pate (1894-1965) was an international civil servant who devoted his career to improving the welfare of children. He was involved in a variety of relief efforts during both world wars and their immediate aftermaths, and was the first Executive Director of UNICEF. Pate’s papers document his career as a humanitarian and include correspondence, reports, Pate’s notes and writings, publications, and photographs, as well as biographical materials and Pate’s personal correspondence.

Petersen, Howard C. (Howard Charles), 1910-

Title: Howard C. Petersen Papers, 1915-1995 (bulk 1935-1970)

Extent: 12.72 linear feet (26 boxes)

Call Number: MC196

Abstract: Howard C. Petersen (1910-1995) was an expert in international economics and foreign trade. He served in the War Department under President Franklin D. Roosevelt, as Assistant Secretary of War for President Harry S. Truman, as National Finance Chairman and fundraiser for the Dwight D. Eisenhower campaigns, and as Special Assistant on International Trade for President John F. Kennedy. Petersen was also a principle drafter of the Selective Service Act, a lawyer, and president of Fidelity-Philadelphia Trust Company. Petersen’s papers document his entire career, especially his work with the new Security and Exchange Commission regulations as a lawyer in the 1930s and with the United States War Department during World War II, and include correspondence, articles, and publications.

Rockey, Kenneth H. (Kenneth Henry), 1895-1984

Title: Kenneth H. Rockey Papers, 1912-1959 (bulk 1940-1945)

Extent: 8.05 cubic feet (9 boxes)

Call Number: MC112

Abstract: Consists of selected papers of Rockey (Princeton Class of 1916), including memoranda, correspondence, and reports from the period when he served as chairman (1942-1944) of the Navy Price Adjustment Board on the development and administration of defense contract renegotiations during World War II and post-war economic policy and planning.

Sloan, Eugene Williams, 1893-

Title: Eugene W. Sloan Papers, 1941-1945

Extent: 26.33 linear feet (12 scrapbooks)

Call Number: MC183

Abstract: Eugene W. Sloan served as Assistant Secretary to the Treasury (beginning in 1935) and was the creator and first administrator of the United States Savings Bond program. Consists of fourteen scrapbooks compiled by Sloan, two of which Sloan compiled while Executive Director of the War Savings Staff.

Viner, Jacob, 1892-1970

Title: Jacob Viner Papers, 1909-1979 (bulk 1930-1960)

Extent: 59.63 linear feet (142 boxes)

Call Number: MC138

Abstract: Jacob Viner (1892-1970) is considered one of the greatest economists of the twentieth century. His career was spent at the University of Chicago and Princeton University, and he also frequently served as an advisor to the United States government. His primary academic interests included international economics, international economic relations and the history of economic thought, but his investigations ranged across many disciplines. Viner’s papers document his scholarship, as well as his government service, and include correspondence, manuscripts, reports, and research materials.

White, Harry Dexter, 1892-1948

Title: Harry Dexter White Papers, 1920-1955 (bulk 1935-1945)

Extent: 4.8 linear feet (12 boxes)

Call Number: MC140

Abstract: Harry Dexter White (1892-1948) was an economist with expertise in international finance and monetary issues. White served in the United States Department of the Treasury from 1934 to 1946, rising to the position of Assistant Secretary of the Treasury, and was one of the principal architects of the Bretton Woods agreements in 1944 that established the International Monetary Fund and the World Bank. White’s papers document his service in the Department of the Treasury and include correspondence and memoranda, notes, and writings.

The Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library

65 Olden Street
Princeton, NJ 08544
T: 609.258.6345
F: 609.258.3385
http://www.princeton.edu/mudd
mudd@princeton.edu

Hours:
Mon. to Fri., 9 AM to 4:45 PM

Summer: Mon. to Fri., 8:45 AM to 4:15 PM