Skip to main content

Economics Collections at the Mudd Manuscript Library: Public and International Finance

Guide to the archival collections related to economics located at the Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library, Princeton University

Women's World Banking

Women's World Banking Logo


  • Baker, James A.
  • Becker, Eugene M.
  • Brown, J. Douglas
  • Chandler & Company
  • Eberstadt, Ferdinand
  • Economists’ National Committee on Monetary Policy
  • Fisk, Harvey E.
  • Greenbaum, Edward S.
  • Hall, Melvin A.
  • Kemmerer, Edwin W.
  • Kent, Fred I.
  • Liberty Loan Committee
  • Loeb, Howard A.
  • Lutz, Harley L.
  • Sloan, Eugene W.
  • Strong, Benjamin
  • Viner, Jacob
  • White, Harry Dexter
  • Widenmann, Hans A.
  • Women’s World Banking

Section Description

Twenty of the collections are related to public and international finance, documenting government fiscal policies, banking systems, especially in the United States, and studies in the field of finance. Government fiscal policy is documented by the papers of government officials and advisors, including James A. Baker III, Ferdinand Eberstadt, and Edwin W. Kemmerer. The collections also include the papers of several bankers and their writings on the subject of finance, as well as their correspondence pertaining to their profession, and the records of Women’s World Banking, one of the world’s leaders in microenterprise financing, a not-for-profit international financial institution that facilitates the participation of poor women entrepreneurs in the modern economy.

Section Organization

All collection entries in this section are listed by creator and include information on the title, date span, size (extent), and call number of the collection, as well as a brief biographical or historical profile and a summary of the contents. The creator name also provides a hyperlink to the EAD finding aid for each collection.

Collection Descriptions

Baker, James Addison, 1930-

Title: James A. Baker III Papers, 1957-2002 (bulk 1972-1992)

Extent: 116.54 linear feet (266 boxes and 1 oversize album)

Call Number: MC197

Abstract: James A. Baker III served in senior government positions under three United States Presidents and was a central figure in the administrations of Ronald Reagan and George H. W. Bush in the 1980s and early 1990s. Baker also led presidential campaigns for Presidents Gerald Ford, Reagan and Bush over the course of five consecutive presidential elections from 1976 to 1992. The papers document nearly every stage of Baker’s career, including his work on presidential campaigns, his time as White House Chief of Staff for both Reagan and Bush, and his terms as Secretary of the Treasury under Reagan and Secretary of State under Bush.


Becker, Eugene Matthew, 1930-

Title: Eugene M. Becker Papers, 1944-2000 (bulk 1965-1972, 1993-1998)

Extent: 15.25 linear feet (32 boxes)

Call Number: MC125

Abstract: The Eugene M. Becker Papers consist primarily of correspondence, planning documents, position papers, articles, addresses and scrapbooks which document Becker’s career in public service, including Budget Director of New York City under Mayor John Lindsay; Assistant Secretary of the United States Army in the Johnson and Nixon administrations; and as the co-founder of the Mentor Group’s Forum for United States-European Union Legal-Economic Affairs (US-EC) and advisor to the Forum for Russian Legal-Economic Affairs.


Brown, J. Douglas (James Douglas), 1898-

Title: J. Douglas Brown Papers, 1917-1978 (bulk 1930-1970)

Extent: 35.03 linear feet (84 boxes)

Call Number: MC155

Abstract: J. Douglas Brown (1898-1986) was an economist and Princeton University administrator who was an expert in the field of industrial relations, especially on the subjects of Social Security and personnel and manpower issues. He was one of the leaders in the development of the Social Security program and also served in the War Department during World War II on manpower issues. Brown’s papers document his career as a government consultant, as a scholar, and as a university administrator and include his correspondence and writings, reports, meeting minutes, notes, and publications.


Chandler & Company

Title: Chandler & Company Records, 1916-1921

Extent: 0.25 linear feet (1 box)

Call Number: MC036

Abstract: Chandler & Company was a New York investment banking house with offices in New York and Philadelphia. The Company issued bonds for many companies and countries, including Bolivia, China, Costa Rica, and Germany. Chandler & Company’s records document the company’s investment decisions in Germany, as well as Bolivia and Costa Rica, during the early 1920s and include correspondence and meeting minutes.


Eberstadt, Ferdinand

Title: Ferdinand Eberstadt Papers, 1868-1970 (bulk 1935-1965): Finding Aid

Extent: 113.52 linear feet (277 boxes)

Call Number: MC021

Abstract: Ferdinand Eberstadt (1890-1969) was a prominent Wall Street investment banker who also served in several government posts throughout his career. During World War II, he organized the production and distribution of supplies to the United States military through his work with the Army-Navy Munitions Board and the War Production Board, and he was subsequently involved in plans for the reorganization of the armed services and in the development of post-war economic policies. The Eberstadt papers primarily document his extensive career in public service to the United States related to defense and the economy, as well as his career as an investment banker and his personal life, and include correspondence, reports, his writings, and his personal papers.


Economists’ National Committee on Monetary Policy (U.S.)

Title: Economists’ National Committee on Monetary Policy Records, 1925-1971 (bulk 1940-1970)

Extent: 85.90 linear feet (206 boxes)

Call Number: MC022

Abstract: The Economists’ National Committee on Monetary Policy, active from November 1933 to 1970, was composed of economists and other financial experts who sought to educate the public and United States government on sound monetary policy. The Committee advocated for a return to the gold standard and sought to combat what they saw as dangerous inflationist sentiment and aggressive monetary policies of the time through public addresses, publishing articles and pamphlets, and testifying before Congress. The records document the Committee’s work, as well as its organization and administration, and include correspondence, meeting minutes, and publications.


Fisk, Harvey E. (Harvey Edward), b. 1856

Title: Harvey E. Fisk Papers, 1889-1944 (bulk 1910-1930)

Extent: 23.21 linear feet (56 boxes)

Call Number: MC050

Abstract: Harvey E. Fisk (1856-1944) was a New York City banker who also wrote numerous pamphlets and books on public finance for Bankers Trust Company of New York. He specialized in railroad securities and public finance. Fisk’s papers document his work as an author and include his research files, notes, and drafts of articles and books.


Greenbaum, Edward S. (Edward Samuel), 1890-1970

Title: Edward S. Greenbaum Papers, 1888-1969 (bulk 1930-1960)

Extent: 20.3 linear feet (48 boxes)

Call Number: MC069

Abstract: Edward S. Greenbaum (1890-1970) was a lawyer in New York City in the legal firm of Greenbaum, Wolff & Ernst who was involved in court reform efforts throughout his career. He also served in the War Department during World War II as executive officer to Under Secretary of War Robert P. Patterson, negotiating contracts with the private sector for munitions and supplies. Greenbaum’s papers document his career as a lawyer, as well as his government service, and include correspondence, legal documents, reports, and publications.


Hall, Melvin Adams, 1889-

Title: Melvin A. Hall Papers, 1895-1972

Extent: 8.1 linear feet (17 boxes)

Call Number: MC159

Abstract: Melvin A. Hall’s renaissance career as adventurer, aviator, soldier, agent, financial administrator and author spanned four and a half decades, and is well represented in this collection. The materials include: diaries; personal and business correspondence; official documents, reports and correspondence from his tenure with the American Financial Mission in Persia; copies of his published writings, including drafts of his books Journey to the End of an Era and Bird of Time; articles, reviews, speeches and military intelligence reports; copies of unpublished writings; subject files containing background and research notes; information on his medals, awards and commendations; diaries and correspondence from Hall’s father, William Augustus Hall, Hall’s wife Josephine Johnson Hall, a World War I field nurse; and photographs and scrapbooks.


Kemmerer, Edwin Walter, 1875-1945

Title: Edwin W. Kemmerer Papers, 1875-1945 (bulk 1920-1945)

Extent: 149.17 linear feet (377 boxes)

Call Number: MC146

Abstract: Edwin W. Kemmerer (1875-1945), internationally known as “The Money Doctor,” was an economist and government advisor with expertise in finance and currency. Kemmerer served as a financial advisor to many governments, mostly in Latin America, and spent the majority of his academic career at Princeton University. Kemmerer’s papers document his advisory and scholarly career and include his professional correspondence, writings, and files from his financial advisory work.


Kent, Fred I., 1869-1954

Title: Fred I. Kent Papers, 1901-1954 (bulk 1920-1950)

Extent: 17.41 linear feet (42 boxes)

Call Number: MC077

Abstract: Fred I. Kent (1869-1954) was a banker who spent the majority of his career at Bankers Trust Company in New York. He was an expert on foreign exchange, and during World War I and its aftermath was involved with establishing foreign exchange policies, reparations, and war debt. Kent was also active in numerous organizations, including the American Bankers Association and the International Chamber of Commerce. Kent’s papers include his correspondence with businessmen and politicians about financial and economic issues, articles and speeches written by Kent, and papers documenting his involvement with several banking and economic organizations.


Liberty Loan Committee

Title: Liberty Loan Committee Records, 1917-1919

Extent: 23.35 cubic feet (70 boxes)

Call Number: MC089

Abstract: Consists of records pertaining to the Liberty Loan Committee of the Federal Reserve Bank during World War I.


Loeb, Howard A. (Howard Albert), 1873-1955

Title: Howard A. Loeb Papers, 1928-1951

Extent: 0.84 linear feet (2 boxes)

Call Number: MC188

Abstract: Howard A. Loeb served as chairman of the board of the Tradesmens Bank and Trust Company of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania and as representative of the Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia on the Federal Advisory Council. This collection consists of Loeb’s correspondence and printed matter related to these positions.


Lutz, Harley L. (Harley Leist), b. 1882

Title: Harley L. Lutz Papers, 1907-1973 (bulk 1930-1950)

Extent: 7.09 linear feet (17 boxes)

Call Number: MC088

Abstract: Harley L. Lutz (1882-1975) was an economist with expertise in taxation and public finance who spent his academic career at Oberlin College, Stanford University, and Princeton University. Lutz also served as an advisor on public finance, especially taxation, to the federal and state governments and was an outspoken opponent of increases in government spending. Lutz’s papers document his career as an economist, as well as his work as a consultant on taxation and public finance, and include writings, reports, and correspondence.


Sloan, Eugene Williams, 1893-

Title: Eugene W. Sloan Papers, 1941-1945

Extent: 26.33 linear feet (12 scrapbooks)

Call Number: MC183

Abstract: Eugene W. Sloan served as Assistant Secretary to the Treasury (beginning in 1935) and was the creator and first administrator of the United States Savings Bond program. Consists of fourteen scrapbooks compiled by Sloan, two of which Sloan compiled while Executive Director of the War Savings Staff.


Strong, Benjamin, 1872-1928

Title: Benjamin Strong Collection, 1917-1950 (bulk 1925-1940)

Extent: 7.65 cubic feet (17 boxes)

Call Number: MC128

Abstract: Benjamin Strong was a prominent New York banker who was instrumental in the foundation and success of the Federal Reserve Bank. This collection contains records pertaining to the former Benjamin Strong Collection of Foreign Public Finance in Princeton University Library, which was funded by Strong with the objective of acquiring books and original source material chronicling the development of foreign public finance, central banking, and international trade.


Viner, Jacob, 1892-1970

Title: Jacob Viner Papers, 1909-1979 (bulk 1930-1960)

Extent: 59.63 linear feet (142 boxes)

Call Number: MC138

Abstract: Jacob Viner (1892-1970) is considered one of the greatest economists of the twentieth century. His career was spent at the University of Chicago and Princeton University, and he also frequently served as an advisor to the United States government. His primary academic interests included international economics, international economic relations and the history of economic thought, but his investigations ranged across many disciplines. Viner’s papers document his scholarship, as well as his government service, and include correspondence, manuscripts, reports, and research materials.


White, Harry Dexter, 1892-1948

Title: Harry Dexter White Papers, 1920-1955 (bulk 1935-1945)

Extent: 4.8 linear feet (12 boxes)

Call Number: MC140

Abstract: Harry Dexter White (1892-1948) was an economist with expertise in international finance and monetary issues. White served in the United States Department of the Treasury from 1934 to 1946, rising to the position of Assistant Secretary of the Treasury, and was one of the principal architects of the Bretton Woods agreements in 1944 that established the International Monetary Fund and the World Bank. White’s papers document his service in the Department of the Treasury and include correspondence and memoranda, notes, and writings.


Widenmann, Hans A.

Title: Hans A. Widenmann Papers, 1915-1977 (bulk 1950-1977)

Extent: 24.71 linear feet (60 boxes)

Call Number: MC141

Abstract: Hans A. Widenmann (1897-1976) was a stockbroker and economist with expertise in national and international monetary affairs. His successful business career was largely spent at Loeb, Rhoades & Company, and he was also frequently called upon to speak about international finance subjects. Widenmann’s papers document his career at Loeb, Rhoades & Company and include his correspondence and writings, topical files, and biographical files.


Women’s World Banking

Title: Women’s World Banking Records, 1964-1996 (bulk 1980-1990)

Extent: 57.96 linear feet (141 boxes)

Call Number: MC198

Abstract: Women’s World Banking (WWB), one of the world’s leaders in microenterprise financing, is a not-for-profit international financial institution founded in 1979 to facilitate the participation of poor women entrepreneurs in the modern economy at the local level, especially those who are generally without access to established financial institutions. The organization consists of an international network of affiliates (independent local institutions that provide a variety of financial and training services to meet the needs of local women) with a central coordinating office in New York City. WWB’s records document the administration of the organization during the tenure of its first president, Michaela Walsh, and include founding documents, financial records, correspondence, records related to affiliates and other organizations, and the files of Michaela Walsh.

The Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library

65 Olden Street
Princeton, NJ 08544
T: 609.258.6345
F: 609.258.3385

Mon. to Fri., 9 AM to 4:45 PM

Summer: Mon. to Fri., 8:45 AM to 4:15 PM