Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases for Finding Plays
A digital library of playscripts, filmed live performances, audio plays, and scholarly works on theory, criticism, and practice from Bloomsbury, Methuen, Faber & Faber, and other partners. Especially useful are the play finder and monologue search tools.
Indexes plays written from Antiquity to the present that have been published individually or reprinted in collections and anthologies since 1949. Covers over 30,000 plays written in or translated into English, including one-act plays, pageants, plays in verse, radio and television plays, and classic drama.
Contains 711 plays by American dramatists that chronicle the history and culture of America through its dramatic writing. It includes plays by dramatists such as Thomas Paine, Edward Hitchcock, and James Lawson.
Asian American Drama
Full text of plays written by over forty playwrights, and detailed information about productions, theaters, production companies, and other emphemera related to the plays.
Black Drama Third Edition
Full text of plays written by dramatists from Africa, the Caribbean, and North America, and detailed information about productions, theaters, production companies, and other ephemera related to the plays.
North American Indian Drama
Contains the full-text of 256 plays by 49 playwrights, together with information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. Also includes the Native Playwrights' Newsletter.
North American Women's Drama
Full text database of over 1,500 plays from the 19th and 20th centuries to the present.
Twentieth Century Drama
Collection of important works from the 20th century from the English-speaking world. Features plays from noted playwrights as well as lesser known dramatists.
Contemporary Plays by Publisher
We are working on the mechanics for large-scale catalog search links that will as comprehensively as possible retrieve contemporary drama published since 2000 found in the Princeton University Library. Meanwhile, the links below produce more restricted but substantivel ists of contemporary drama based on the publishers combined with other key phrases or limits. The catalog offers options to sort these lists by title, latest publication date, or author/playwright.
Applause Theatre, 2000- (sorted by title)
Catalog search retrieves Applause editions of playscripts, books of musicals, monologues, and other related publications published since 2000.
Modern Plays, 2000- (sorted by playwright)
Catalog search retrieves plays issued since 2000 in "Modern Plays" series published by Bloomsburgy, Methuen, and Oberon (all based in London), and a few others, held by Princeton.
Theatre Communications Group (TCG), 2000- (sorted by playwright)
Catalog search retrieves all the TCG plays owned by the library published since 2000, plus some other publications.