Gender & Sexuality Studies

We are pleased to offer a new resource to the Princeton University community. As a survivor-centered, trauma-informed confidential resource on campus, SHARE has created a Lending Library in an effort to make books on a variety on impactful topics more accessible to our community, including books centered on interpersonal violence, abuse, trauma and recovery.

For a list of available titles, please click this link for more information- SHARE LENDING LIBRARY CATALOG

The Lending Library is located in the SHARE office (McCosh Health Center G14). To learn more or to borrow a book, please contact us at SHARE@princeton.edu.

Click this link to read Share Lending Library Policy.

Interpersonal Violence and Survivors' Experiences: Suggested Reading List

1. Understanding Interpersonal Violence Generally 

1. "The Body Keeps the Score: Brain, Mind, and Body in the Healing of Trauma" by Bessel van der Kolk
   • Annotation: This seminal work by psychiatrist Bessel van der Kolk explores how trauma affects the brain and body, detailing the latest neuroscience research and therapeutic approaches for healing. Van der Kolk provides a comprehensive look at how trauma impacts individuals and offers practical methods for recovery.
   • Citation: van der Kolk, B. (2015). The Body Keeps the Score: Brain, Mind, and Body in the Healing of Trauma. Penguin Books.
2. "Arrested Justice: Black Women, Violence, and America’s Prison Nation" by Beth E. Richie
   • Annotation: Beth E. Richie examines the unique vulnerabilities and systemic injustices faced by Black women who experience interpersonal violence. The book critiques the criminal justice system and its impact on Black women, highlighting the intersections of race, gender, and violence.
   • Citation: Richie, B. E. (2012). Arrested Justice: Black Women, Violence, and America’s Prison Nation. NYU Press.
3. "The Globalization of Sexual Violence: Criminalizing Rape in the International Criminal Court" by Janie L. Leatherman
   • Annotation: Leatherman's book explores the internationalization of sexual violence laws, focusing on the role of the International Criminal Court (ICC) in addressing rape and other forms of sexual violence as war crimes. It provides a critical analysis of international legal frameworks and their impact on global justice.
   • Citation: Leatherman, J. L. (2011). The Globalization of Sexual Violence: Criminalizing Rape in the International Criminal Court. Routledge.
4. "Trauma and Recovery: The Aftermath of Violence—From Domestic Abuse to Political Terror" by Judith Herman
   • Annotation: Judith Herman's book is a foundational text in the field of trauma studies. It examines the psychological impact of interpersonal violence, from domestic abuse to political terror, and provides a framework for understanding trauma and its long-term effects.
   • Citation: Herman, J. (1997). Trauma and Recovery: The Aftermath of Violence—From Domestic Abuse to Political Terror. Basic Books.
5. "Sexual Violence and American Manhood" by Crystal Feimster
   • Annotation: This book examines the historical and contemporary issues of sexual violence against LGBTQ+ individuals, focusing on how constructions of American manhood have contributed to these forms of violence. It provides a critical analysis of gender norms and their impact on sexuality.
   • Citation: Feimster, C. (2009). Sexual Violence and American Manhood. Harvard University Press.
6. "Violence Against Women: Global Perspectives" edited by Holly Johnson, Natalia Ollus, and Sami Nevala
   • Annotation: This edited volume offers a comprehensive overview of violence against women worldwide. It includes contributions from scholars and activists that examine the prevalence, causes, and consequences of such violence, as well as policy responses and interventions across different cultures and contexts.
   • Citation: Johnson, H., Ollus, N., & Nevala, S. (Eds.). (2007). Violence Against Women: Global Perspectives. Springer.
7. "Understanding Violence" by Elizabeth Kandel Englander
   • Annotation: Elizabeth Kandel Englander offers a thorough analysis of the causes and consequences of violence, including interpersonal violence. The book discusses various types of violence, risk factors, and prevention strategies.
   • Citation: Englander, E. K. (2003). Understanding Violence. Lawrence Erlbaum Associates.
8. "Violence Against Queer People: Race, Class, Gender, and the Persistence of Anti-LGBT Discrimination" by Doug Meyer
   • Annotation: Doug Meyer's book addresses the experiences of violence faced by queer people, particularly focusing on how intersecting identities of race, class, and gender non-conformity influence these experiences. It includes narratives and data that reveal the complex realities of anti-LGBT violence.
   • Citation: Meyer, D. (2015). Violence Against Queer People: Race, Class, Gender, and the Persistence of Anti-LGBT Discrimination. Rutgers University Press.
9. "The Political Economy of Violence Against Women" by Jacqui True
   • Annotation: This book analyzes the structural and economic factors contributing to violence against women globally. True provides a feminist political economy perspective, examining how globalization, neoliberalism, and economic policies impact women's vulnerability to violence.
   • Citation: True, J. (2012). The Political Economy of Violence Against Women. Oxford University Press.
10. "Violence Against Women: The Bloody Footprints" edited by Pauline B. Bart and Eileen Geil Moran
    • Annotation: This edited volume presents a collection of essays that address the complex issue of violence against women. The contributors explore various forms of violence, including intimate partner violence, and discuss the sociocultural factors that perpetuate it.
    • Citation: Bart, P. B., & Moran, E. G. (Eds.). (1993). Violence Against Women: The Bloody Footprints. SAGE Publications.
11. "Transgender History: The Roots of Today’s Revolution" by Susan Stryker
    • Annotation: While primarily a historical overview of transgender rights and activism, Susan Stryker’s book includes important discussions on the violence faced by gender non-conforming individuals. It highlights the resilience and activism within the trans community against systemic violence.
    • Citation: Stryker, S. (2017). Transgender History: The Roots of Today’s Revolution. Seal Press,
12. "Gender-Based Violence in the Middle East and North Africa: A Ubiquitous Phenomenon" edited by Moha Ennaji and Fatima Sadiqi
    • Annotation: This collection of essays explores gender-based violence in the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) region. It includes diverse perspectives on cultural, social, and legal aspects, as well as the efforts of activists and organizations to combat this violence.
    • Citation: Ennaji, M., & Sadiqi, F. (Eds.). (2011). Gender-Based Violence in the Middle East and North Africa: A Ubiquitous Phenomenon. Routledge.
13. "Disability and Domestic Violence: Responses in Policy and Practice" by Ravi K. Thiara and Gill Hague
    • Annotation: This book addresses the unique challenges faced by disabled individuals experiencing domestic violence. It offers insights into effective policy and practice responses, advocating for greater awareness and tailored support services.
    • Citation: Thiara, R. K., & Hague, G. (2011). Disability and Domestic Violence: Responses in Policy and Practice. Jessica Kingsley Publishers.

2. Survivors' Experiences

1. "Black and Blue: Black Women, Intimate Partner Violence, and the Black Church" by Carlyle Van Thompson
   • Annotation: This book explores the intersection of race, gender, and intimate partner violence within the Black community. It examines the role of the Black church in addressing or perpetuating the issue, providing a critical analysis of cultural and religious dynamics.
   • Citation: Thompson, C. V. (2009). Black and Blue: Black Women, Intimate Partner Violence, and the Black Church. University of Illinois Press.
2. "Aftermath: Violence and the Remaking of a Self" by Susan J. Brison
   • Annotation: Philosopher Susan J. Brison provides a deeply personal account of her recovery from a brutal rape and attempted murder. The book combines memoir with philosophical reflection on trauma, identity, and resilience.
   • Citation: Brison, S. J. (2002). Aftermath: Violence and the Remaking of a Self. Princeton University Press.
3. "War's Offensive on Women: The Humanitarian Challenge in Bosnia, Kosovo, and Afghanistan" by Dubravka Žarkov
   • Annotation: Žarkov's book examines the gendered dimensions of war, focusing on the experiences of women in Bosnia, Kosovo, and Afghanistan. It highlights the challenges of providing humanitarian aid and protection to women who face sexual violence in conflict zones.
   • Citation: Žarkov, D. (2007). War's Offensive on Women: The Humanitarian Challenge in Bosnia, Kosovo, and Afghanistan. Cambridge University Press.
4. "Queering Sexual Violence: Radical Voices from Within the Anti-Violence Movement" edited by Jennifer Patterson
   • Annotation: This anthology features essays from queer survivors and activists who challenge the mainstream anti-violence movement. It provides a platform for marginalized voices and offers new perspectives on addressing and understanding sexual violence.
   • Citation: Patterson, J. (Ed.). (2016). Queering Sexual Violence: Radical Voices from Within the Anti-Violence Movement. Riverdale Avenue Books.
5. "I Am Not Your Victim: Anatomy of Domestic Violence" by Beth Sipe and Evelyn J. Hall
   • Annotation: This book offers a powerful narrative of one woman's experience with domestic violence, interspersed with commentary from a clinical social worker. It provides an in-depth look at the dynamics of abusive relationships and the challenges of leaving them.
   • Citation: Sipe, B., & Hall, E. J. (1996). I Am Not Your Victim: Anatomy of Domestic Violence. SAGE Publications.
6. "Living with Poverty: A Study of Family and Child Well-Being in a Low-Income Neighborhood" by Mary Clare Lennon and Thomas Corbett
   • Annotation: This book examines how poverty intersects with interpersonal violence, focusing on the experiences of low-income families. It provides an in-depth look at the structural factors that contribute to both poverty and violence.
   • Citation: Lennon, M. C., & Corbett, T. (2003). Living with Poverty: A Study of Family and Child Well-Being in a Low-Income Neighborhood. Urban Institute Press.
7. "The Courage to Heal: A Guide for Women Survivors of Child Sexual Abuse" by Ellen Bass and Laura Davis
   • Annotation: This groundbreaking book has been a crucial resource for survivors of child sexual abuse. It offers guidance, support, and healing strategies for women coping with the aftermath of abuse.
   • Citation: Bass, E., & Davis, L. (2008). The Courage to Heal: A Guide for Women Survivors of Child Sexual Abuse. HarperCollins.
8. "Lucky" by Alice Sebold
   • Annotation: Alice Sebold’s memoir recounts her experience of being raped as a college freshman and the subsequent emotional and legal aftermath. The book highlights the challenges survivors face in seeking justice and rebuilding their lives.
   • Citation: Sebold, A. (1999). Lucky. Scribner.
9. "No Visible Bruises: What We Don’t Know About Domestic Violence Can Kill Us" by Rachel Louise Snyder
   • Annotation: Rachel Louise Snyder’s investigative work delves into the epidemic of domestic violence in the United States. Through case studies and expert interviews, the book reveals the hidden dynamics of abuse and the systemic failures that allow it to persist.
   • Citation: Snyder, R. L. (2019). No Visible Bruises: What We Don’t Know About Domestic Violence Can Kill Us. Bloomsbury Publishing.