Skip to main content

Guide to the American Civil Liberties Union Records

Guide to the ACLU Records and related collections located at the Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library, Princeton University

Related Public Policy Collections

The following collections from the Mudd Library's Public Policy Papers are related to individuals who worked for the ACLU throughout its history, and also includes the records of the ACLU's Washington, D.C. office:

Roger Nash Baldwin Papers, 1885-1981 (mostly 1911-1981)

This collection documents the life and career of Roger Baldwin (1884-1981), a prominent and active American civil libertarian for almost all of his prodigiously long life. Baldwin is remembered first and foremost as a founder of the American Civil Liberties Union. 

Peggy Lamson Collection on Roger Baldwin, 1917-1976 (mostly 1973-1976)

This collection contains interview transcripts, cassette tapes, and background material collected by Peggy Lamson for her authorized biography, Roger Baldwin, Founder of the American Civil Liberties Union: A Portrait. Much of the background material was provided, and in some cases annotated, by Baldwin and documents both his professional and personal life.

Osmond K. Fraenkel Diaries, 1933-1968

This collection contains excerpts from the diaries of Osmond K. Fraenkel, a New York City lawyer who served on the ACLU's Board of Directors and as one of its general counsel. These excerpts discuss the cases in which Fraenkel was involved.

Jeffrey E. Fuller Papers, 1941-1970

Jeffrey Fuller (1917-1970) worked for the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) from 1948 to 1966 and also served in the U.S. Army during World War II. Fuller's papers document his service in the U.S. military and his work for the ACLU and include his personal and professional correspondence, memoranda, and diaries.

Carol Pitchersky Papers, 1963-2008

Carol Pitchersky (1947-2004) was a fundraiser and consultant who helped bring financial stability to dozens of public interest groups, notably the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU). She served as Associate Director in charge of development and strategic planning at the ACLU and as a consultant to other prominent nonprofit organizations. The papers document Pitchersky's work as a fundraiser at the ACLU during the 1980s and for public interest groups in the 1970s and 1990s.

Arthur Garfield Hays Papers, 1915-1955

Arthur Garfield Hays (1881-1954) was a lawyer and one of the co-founders of the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU). His collection consists of correspondence, case files, speeches, articles, books, news clippings, and photographs which document his career as a New York City lawyer and general counsel for the ACLU beginning in 1920.

Nadine Strossen Papers, 1979-2010

Nadine Strossen, former national board president of the American Civil Liberties Union, is a well-known civil libertarian, law professor and author. This collection consists of records generated by Nadine Strossen in her leadership roles with the American Civil Liberties Union and as professor of law at the New York Law School.

American Civil Liberties Union Washington, D.C. Office Records, 1948-1970

This collection consists of the papers received and generated by the staff of the Washington, D.C. Office of the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) during the 1950s and 1960s. The Washington Office's primary responsibility is to monitor legislative issues. In the 1950s the office worked against abuses caused by McCarthyism, including loyalty oath requirements, powers of legislative investigating committees, and censorship of free speech and expression. In the late 1950s and early 1960s, the office focused on civil rights issues and the defense of alternative means of self expression. The Washington Office was also deeply involved with defending the civil liberties of those associated with the federal government and its agencies.

Related University Archives Collection

The following collection from the Mudd Library's University Archives is related to the ACLU's involvement in legal disputes at Princeton University:

Nadine Taub Collection of Sally Frank Court Documents, 1879-1992 (mostly 1979-1992)

The Nadine Taub Collection of Sally Frank Court Documents chronicle Nadine Taub's role as co-counsel for Sally Frank, Princeton Class of 1980, in her thirteen-year legal battle after filing a sex discrimination complaint with the New Jersey Division on Civil Rights against Ivy Club, Tiger Inn, University Cottage Club and Princeton University, alleging that the clubs discriminated against her because of her gender. A significant part of the collection contains legal documents from Sally Frank's co-counsel as well as from defending counsel; research material including minutes, reports, newspaper clippings, campus publications, correspondence, and deeds; correspondence to and from Nadine Taub and Sally Frank; and from various counsel and judicial members.