Research Guides: Executive Compensation: Home

Catalog Subject Headings

In the catalog, use the following subject headings:

Compensation (Law)

Executives--Salaries, etc

Executives--Salaries, etc--United States

Executives--Salaries, pensions, etc--United States

Salaries AND executive

Wages AND executive

Organizations

AFL-CIO: Executive Paywatch

Information and resources including average Russell 3000 and S&P 500 CEO pay to other pay ratios by state and industry.

International

ILOSTAT This link opens in a new window
International Labour Office data for over 230 economies regarding labor and consumer prices. 1950+

Find Data --> Browse by Subject --> Earnings and employment-related income --> Mean nominal monthly earnings of employees by sex and occupation selected ISCO level 2 (Local currency)

United States

Bureau of Labor Statistics: Pay and Benefits resources

includes data retrieval tools for:

National Compensation Survey
Occupational Employment Statistics: Employment and Wages
Current Population Survey

Databases (Princeton only)

Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Leading weekly newspaper in higher education. Full-text plus a database of academic jobs (those published in print in the past month) and the Almanac of Higher Education, (basic statistical information on higher education (e.g., enrollment information or executive compensation)) that is updated annually. January 6, 1995+
ExecuComp: The Executive Compensation Database This link opens in a new window
Use to identify trends within a company or among peers within an industry. Includes more than 80 different compensation, executive, director, and company-related items. 1992+
Also available via WRDS. Registration is required.

MSCI GMI Ratings This link opens in a new window
Annual historical data for each proxy year including corporate board structure and independence , director positions and committee assignments, executive and director compensation, audit fees, corporate ownership, and takeover defenses. 2001+

Public Company Filings

Several types of Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) filings include information about the company's executive compensation policies and practices. You can locate information about executive pay in:

Schedule 14A (annual proxy statement)
Form 10-K (audited annual report)
Registration statements filed by the issuer
Form 8-K (current company information)

The SEC adopted changes to the executive compensation disclosure provisions in 2006.

The SEC provides guidance for accessing annual proxy statements via its EDGAR database.

Public company filings can also be accessed via library databases including Capital IQ, Thomson One Banker, and (often) company websites.

Non-Profit Filings

Use the following resources to access IRS Form 990, 990-EZ, and 990-PF documents, which include executive-level compensation information:

Public use:

Charity Navigator (free registration required to access Form 990)
- CEO Compensation Study
- Metro Market Study- use the Interactive Chart to display median CEO compensation for 30 major metropolitan markets
- Registered users: use "Compare These Charities" link to Compare CEO salaries of specific charities
Foundation Center (now called Candid)
nonprofit organization websites

Princeton only:

Foundation Directory Online Professional This link opens in a new window
Current directory of grants and foundations.
Guidestar Pro This link opens in a new window
Non-profit organizations information. For more detailed information, see NCCS Data Archive.
Registration is free but required to access information beyond basic directory information.
NCCS Data Archive This link opens in a new window
The National Center for Charitable Statistics builds compatible national, state, and regional databases and develops uniform standards for reporting on charitable organizations. Includes data on the finances and activities of nonprofit organizations going back as far as 1989.