Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Architecture Research Basecamp: Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

This chart is a quick look at what time periods are covered by a particular resource.

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Online or Print?

Date of Publication

Time Periods Covered

Additional Information

General Resources

 

 

 

 

Oxford Art Online - Gateway to several art & architecture related resources.

Online

varies w/resources included

All Periods

Includes Grove Art Online (1996-), Oxford Companion to Western Art (ed. Brigstocke, 2001), Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (1998), and numerous images.

Oxford Reference Online - Gateway to a suite of general reference resources.

Online

varies w/resources included

All Periods

A jack-of-all-trades reference resource covering all major discplines and reference resources, e.g. atlases, biographies, quotations, etc

Architecture-Related

 

 

 

 

Architectural Record Building Types Study Online 2000 2000 - Present Indexes Building Types Studies from 2000 to present, earlier Building Types Studies can be found in the Avery Index to Architecture Periodicals

Dictionary of Architecture and Building Construction

Print 2008

All Periods

Spans terms encountered in architecture from Classical to Green, from traditional materials to the latest products, from precise definitions of style to particulars of specifications writings.

Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture

 Online 2006 - 2nd ed.
All Periods
Covers architects, terms, periods, and styles, from all periods of Western architectural history. New entries include definitions of landscape terms, and biographies of modern architects. Each entry is followed by a mini-bibliography, with suggestions for further reading.
Print 2004 1900-2000 Focusing on all regions of the world, this work chronicles architectural achievements, both within and well beyond the theoretical confines of modernism. Unlike existing works, this encyclopedia examines the complexities of rapidly changing global conditions that have dispersed modern architectural types, movements, styles, and building practices across traditional geographic and cultural boundaries.
Print 2007
All Periods
Covers world vernacular building traditions from a multi-disciplinary, cross-cultural and comparative approach, using over sixty world and regional maps. Mapping such diverse aspects as materials and resources, technologies, structural systems, symbolism, forms and service systems on a cross-cultural and comparative basis, the atlas shows the distribution, diversity and relationships of the world's vernacular building traditions.
SAH Archipedia Online Ongoing American, All periods

Authoritative online encyclopedia of the built world published by the Society of Architectural Historians and the University of Virginia Press.  It contains histories, photographs, and maps for 8,500+ structures and places within the United States. Though consisting of mostly buildings, one can find landscapes, infrastructure, monuments, artwork, and more. The content is drawn from the award-winning book series, Buildings of the United States, and includes histories and thematic essays from 12 of the published BUS volumes. The resource is still growing and is slated to include approximately 100 building entries from all BUS volumes.