Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Architecture Research Basecamp: Indexes & Databases

Selected Architecture Indexes & Databases

  Core Architecture Database ~ Secondary Architectural Related Databases ~ Urban Studies Databases

Online or Print? Perdiods Covered Dates of Scholarship Covered Additional Information

Avery Index to Periodical Literature 

Online All Periods 19th c - Present The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals database offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. ***Cross Searchable with DAAI + ARTbibs + IBA

ARTBibiolographies Modern 

Online 19th c - Present 1960s - Present Full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with approximately 12-13,000 new entries being added each year. ***cross-searchable with DAAI + Avery + IBA
Art Index Online All Periods 1929 - Present Two cross-searchable databases offering indexinf to primary material and later, full text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications—now with expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism.  Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included. 
Applied Science and Technology Abstracts Full Text Online Late 19th c - Present 1913 - Present Features a range of applied science and technology articles from trade and industrial publications, journals issued by professional and technical societies, and specialized subject periodicals, as well as special issues such as buyers' guides, directories, and conference proceedings. All abstracts are in English and majority of titles are published in the U.S.
Bibliography of the History of Art Online All periods 1975 - 2007 Indexes and abstracts articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and art exhibition and dealer's catalogs, covering European and American art from late antiquity to the present. Includes coverage for 1990-2007, as well as its predecessor index, RILA (International Repertory of the Literature of the Art), 1975-89. See also History of Art Bibliography.
HIstory of Art Bibliography Online All Periods 1972 - 2007 Offered through the Getty, BHA indexes and abstracts articles, art-related books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and art exhibition and dealer's catalogs, covering European and American art from late antiquity to the present. RILA covers the years 1975–1989. In 1982, Getty began to support RILA, and in 1990 the Getty began to collaborate with INIST-CNRS to produce the BHA, which was a merger of RILA and the Répertoire d'art et d'archéologie.
Design & Applied Arts Index & DAAI Retro Online 19th c- Present 1903 - Present Indexes articles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts periodicals from 1973 onwards. Covers both new designers and the development of design and the applied arts, surveying disciplines including ceramics, glass, jewellery, wood, metalsmithing, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, Web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design, garden design, and landscape architecture. *Cross Searchable with ARTBibs + Avery + DAAI
International Bibliography of Art Online All Periods 1973 - Present Currently includes 2008-09 indexing created by the Getty Research Institute (formerly known as Bibliography of the History of Art, and the definitive scholarly resource--books and journals--for western art history). Indexing will continue in the coming months and may expand to include art from Asia, Latin America and Africa. 
RIBA British Architectural Library Catalogue Online  Online All Periods Early 19th c - Present Searches articles in over 300 of the world's most respected architectural periodicals details of books and audio visual materials acquired by the RIBA Library, including information on books available for loan to RIBA members
Urban Abstracts Print 1950s - Present 1974 - Present Compiled in the Research Library of the Greater London Council, covering such topics as city planning, urban transportation, urban development, and urban design.
Urban Studies Abstracts Online 1960s w/selected historical coverage - Present 1973 - Present Covers essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains 51,600+ records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline.

top


Secondary Architectural Related Databases

Online or Print? Perdiods Covered Dates of Scholarship Covered Additional Information
Burnham Index to Architectural Periodical Literature Print All Periods 1916 - 1965 Indexes books and 200+ periodicals 1919-1965 from the Burnham Library of Architecture, Art Institute of Chicago. Better coverage of Midwest architecture than the Avery Index for the early part of the 20th century. Much but not everything is incorporated into Avery. 

Buidling Green Suite
Online Mostly 20th Century - Present 1990s - Present Features a rich array of media and information resources, including full-text access to Environmental Building News, the BuildingGreen Suite of online tools, GreenSpec directory of products, and the LEEDuser web tool. Also included is the High Performance Buildings Database (HPB) which provides case studies of projects ranging from homes and commercial interiors to large buildings and even whole campuses and neighborhoods. These may be certified green projects, or simply projects that have one or more notable environmental features. Each published case study is reviewed to focus on useful lessons and consistent energy and environmental data.
CAA Reviews Online All Periods 1998 - PResent Resource for scholarly and critical reviews of studies and projects in all areas and periods of art history, visual studies, and the fine arts, providing peer review for the disciplines served by the College Art Association. Publications and projects reviewed include books, articles, exhibitions, conferences, and other works as appropriate. It also publishes essays on these subjects, as well as on art education and policy and related topics.
Compendex Online 19th c - Present 1884 - Present Comprehensive database of scientific and technical engineering research, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings. When combined with the Engineering Index Backfile (1884-1969), Compendex covers well over 120 years of core engineering literature.environmental data.
CUMINICAD: CumulativeIndex of Computer-Aided Architectural Design Online 1980s - Present 1980s - Present A cumulative index of publications about computer aided architectural design. It includes bibliographic information about 7,500 records from journals and conferences such as ACADIA, CAADRIA, eCAADe, SiGraDi, CAAD futures and others. All papers include full abstracts. Full texts, in PDF, of some 4,800 papers are also available. A separate index of some 900 papers in Spanish language are maintained. To access full texts one needs to be a member of a CAAD association. Reigster online for enhanced access.
InformeDesign Online 1980s - Present 1980s - Present A clearinghouse for design and human behavior research, a collaboration between the American Society of Interior Designers and the University of Minnesota. A searchable database of research summaries in "practitioner-friendly" language, browseable by categories like "issues," "space," and "occupants." Research-based design criteria is part of their interpretation of original research articles and reports with the aim of bringing research to practice and positively influencing the design of the built environment. The database "indexes" 100 refereed journals from about 2000 to the present. Acess is free, but registration is recommended.
PAIS International & PAIS Archive Online 1910s - Present 1910s - Present Citations to articles, books, reports, and select government documents on U.S. and international public policy issue. Generally considered to be a comprehensive index to policy literature.

top