Research Guides: Libguide for "This Course is Out To Get You": 5)News Sources

Historical News

ProQuest Historical Newspapers provides retrospective coverage of several U.S. newspapers going back to the first issue in full text, including:

New York Times (1851-2005)
Wall Street Journal (1889-1991)
Washington Post (1877-1992)
Chicago Tribune (1849-1986)
Christian Science Monitor (1908-1995)
Atlanta Journal Constitution (1868-1939)
Los Angeles Times (1881-1996)

Reader's Guide (1890-1982)

Provides comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the U.S.

Provides full text of more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers from all 50 states.

Provides full text of many major national and regional newspapers from the United States and around the world.
Use the clickable map to select a country or state to search.

Database from Dow Jones & Reuters that provides full text access to various newspapers and news wire services.

Provides full text of the New York Times (1995+), Wall Street Journal (1982+), Los Angeles Times (1985+), and the Chicago Tribune (1985+).

Alt-Press Watch (1970-present)

Full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals from alternative and independent presses.

Ethnic Newswatch (1960-present)

Full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
Bilingual (English and Spanish).

Pulls together related headlines and photos from Internet news sources worldwide.
Stories are updated continuously throughout the day- useful for breaking news.
Enables you to see how different news organizations around the world report the same events.

Internationally acclaimed producer and distributor of noncommercial news, talk, and entertainment programming.
Provides a searchable, full-audio archive of programs back to 1996.

Site highlights PBS news-related programs, including Frontline, POV, NOW, NewsHour and NOVA.
Transcripts, audio, and video files of previous broadcasts are available.
Podcasts and RSS are available on this site.

The most extensive archive of television news dating back to 1968.
Evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks.
Access to TV-NewsSearch is free, but requires registration.
You may request video segments (on loan only) for your research for a fee.
The fees (up to a limit) are covered by our Interlibrary Loan Services, so contact a librarian before placing an order.

Portal to online news sources from around the world.
Links to newspaper sites, broadcast stations, Internet services, magazines and press agencies.
Be aware the news sources are often not in English.

Provides full text of the Daily Reports mentioned above for the years 1974-1996.
At present, reports for Africa, Asia, Australia/Oceania and the Middle East/Near East are available.
Other regions will be added later. For regions not covered, see the microfiche reports mentioned above.

Continues coverage of the FBIS reports mentioned above from 1994 to present with full text.

Access to The New Yorker via OpinionArchives: https://getit.princeton.edu/link_router/index/46935559
Duo authenticate.
When you land on The New Yorker’s website, click “browse all issues” located below the “Archive” heading in the middle of the page, and you will be re-directed to a platform with full-text access and color PDFs of the issues.
You can now browse any issues, including the most current, and you can conduct searches of the Archive.