List of all databases by subject
List of all databases by subject
Quick Overview on Subject Databases:
Polling/Public Opinion Databases
- Roper iPoll Survey Database This link opens in a new windowLargest collection of public opinion poll data, 1935-present. Contains more than 825,000 searchable questions and over 25,000 datasets from both U.S. and international polling organizations. Topics include social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, science, the environment, and much more. When available, results charts, demographic crosstabs, time-series trends, and full datasets are provided for immediate download. Registration is required but free using your Princeton email. Many of iPoll's international surveys are not searchable at the question level, but downloadable as full datasets. See also Roper's Featured Projects, including their Health Poll Database and Researching Black American opinion.
- Gallup Analytics This link opens in a new windowAnalyze, visualize, and export data from Gallup's U.S. Daily tracking and World Poll surveys. U.S. tracks economic, wellbeing, and political data collected daily since 2008. It can be analyzed daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly, and annually as well as by state and Metropolitan Statistical Area (MSA). World Poll data covers more than 80 metrics from 160+ countries collected since 2005. Does not include access to microdata.
Selected Science/Technology databases
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowInternational coverage of journal articles, selected web sites, and patents in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities; provides citation tracking for 1996+ (select coverage for earlier periods) and cited reference searches back to 1970. 1996+
- Web of Science (ISI) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary index to journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Offers the option to find cited references, which are the authors lists of articles used in their research. Journal coverage in the social sciences, arts, and humanities is not comprehensive. Includes conference proceedings in the sciences and social sciences.
- INSPEC This link opens in a new windowMajor bibliographic database concentrating on physics, electrical and electronic engineering, information technology, computer and control systems, and manufacturing, production engineering, and information technology. 1896+
Legal and Criminal Justice Databases
- Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new windowComprehensive coverage of the major journals, books, and reports from government and nongovernmental agencies in criminology and related disciplines. Topics include crime trends, prevention projects, corrections, juvenile delinquency, police, courts, offenders, victims, and sentencing.
- Legaltrac This link opens in a new window
Index of articles from approximately 800 law journals (and selected non-law journals) with some full-text 1980+
General Interest Databases
- Proquest Research LibraryAbstracting, indexing, and select full text of many core scholarly journals, magazines and major newspapers for information on a broad range of subjects.
- EBSCO Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary database providing abstract & indexing with select full text for many core scholarly journals as well as popular press periodicals
- Wilson OmniFile This link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary database providing select full text articles, abstracts, and indexing. Consists of databases for scholarly sources in agriculture, applied science and technology, art, biology, business, education, general science, humanities, law, library and information science, social sciences, as well as popular appeal titles.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull text archive of core journals in select disciplines. Journal issues from the most recent 3-5 years are usually NOT available electronically through JSTOR. Also includes full text of many Princeton University Press books as well as books in Classics from many university presses.
Selected Religion databases
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials Plus This link opens in a new windowCitations and many full-text articles from religion and theology journals. 1949+
- Encyclopedia of Religion This link opens in a new windowProvides articles with bibliographies on every aspect of religion. The second edition of the classic Encyclopedia of Religion.
Selected Performing Arts databases
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCovers all aspects of music, including historical musicology, ethnomusicology, instruments and voice, dance, and music therapy. If related to music, works in other fields, such as literature, dramatic arts, visual arts, anthropology, sociology, philosophy and physics are included. 1967+
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus This link opens in a new windowIndexes articles and provides selective full text from over 300 of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals. Also incorporates the International Index to TV Periodicals (1979-1998), Treasures from the Film Archives (identifying silent film holdings in archives worldwide), the International Federation of Film Archives Affiliates' Publications, and the International Directory of Film/TV Documentation Collections. 1972+
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowComprehensive coverage of the performing arts, including dance, film, television, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, broadcast arts, comedy, opera, and more. IIPA indexes more than 210 periodicals. Full text is available from 1998 to the present; citations to articles are indexed back to 1864. Formerly known as International Index to the Performing Arts Full Text.
Area and Ethnic Studies
Linguistics Databases
Selected Sociology/ Psychology/Economics/Anthropology databases
More Sociology, Psychology and Anthrolopology Databases
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndexing and abstracting of the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines, both theoretical and applied. Covers 2,500 journals, conference papers, dissertations, and book reviews. Includes materials in 30 languages.
- PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowProduced by the American Psychological Association, it is the most comprehensive database of psychology. Provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health.
- International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences (2nd ed.) This link opens in a new windowCovering 26 volumes in print, this major encyclopedia aims to capture the "state of the art" of the social and behavioral sciences, expanding its focus to include related biological fields, such as evolutionary science, genetics, cognitive neuroscience, psychiatry, and health. Topics include anthropology, archaeology, demography, economics, education, geography, history, law, linguistics, philosophy, political science, psychiatry, psychology, and sociology.
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new windowWorldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Anthropology Plus combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and the Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. 1800+
- EconLit This link opens in a new windowIndexes international economic literature. Includes major journals, articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, full-text book reviews, dissertations, and working papers. 1886+
Selected History databases
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndexes books and journal articles on the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Index 1954+
- America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndexes books and journal articles on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. 1954+
Selected Politics databases
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new windowProvides citations and abstracts of the international literature in political science, including journal articles, books and book chapters, dissertations, and reviews. It also covers such areas as international relations, law, sociology, economics, and public policy. Provides references to reliable websites.
- International Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new windowAbstracts in English or French to articles selected from over 1,000 international journals. Topics covered include political science method and theory, political thinkers and ideas, governmental and administrative institutions, political process, international relations, and national and area studies
Selected Literature databases
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of modern literature, language, and linguistics.
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of biographies, bibliographies, literary criticism, and other resources on authors of all categories and eras.
- Literary Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Broad spectrum of reference information. Full-text database that combines information from over 1,000 books and monographs, major literary encyclopedias and reference works, hundreds of literary journals, and unique sources not available anywhere else. Contains detailed information on the most studied authors and their works.
Education
Selected Philosophy databases
- Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new windowScholarly index to journal articles and books in philosophy. Includes anthologies and book reviews. 1940+
- Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text articles with current bibliographies on virtually every aspect of philosophy. Updated quarterly
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text articles with current bibliographies on many topics of philosophy.
Sports
- Sport Discus This link opens in a new windowInternational sport and fitness literature covering periodical articles, books, conference proceedings, and research papers.