Research Guides: Unions and Collective Bargaining: Home

Catalog Subject Headings

In the catalog, use the following subject headings:

Guilds

Labor union

Labor unions

Labor Unions

Syndicalism

Unions

If searching for a particular occupational group, perform a subject search for that occupational group and the word "union."

Example: automobile Search in: Subject AND union Search in: Subject

Print Resources

Directory of U.S. labor organizations, Bureau of National Affairs
Firestone Library (F) HD6504 .D57
1982/1983 ed.-current
Current volume in Trustee Reading Room Reference (DR) Ready Reference HD6504 .D57
[View Catalog Record]

Union membership and earnings data book: compilations from the Current Population Survey, Bureau of National Affairs
Firestone Library (F) HD6508.U546
1993-current (lacks 1995)
Current volume in Trustee Reading Room Reference (DR) Ready Reference HD6508.U546
[View Catalog Record]

Public Opinion

To learn more about public opinion regarding unions, try these polling/survey databases [Princeton only]:

Roper iPoll Survey Database This link opens in a new window
Largest collection of public opinion poll data, 1935-present. Contains more than 825,000 searchable questions and over 25,000 datasets from both U.S. and international polling organizations. Topics include social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, science, the environment, and much more. When available, results charts, demographic crosstabs, time-series trends, and full datasets are provided for immediate download. Registration is required but free using your Princeton email. Many of iPoll's international surveys are not searchable at the question level, but downloadable as full datasets. See also Roper's Featured Projects, including their Health Poll Database and Researching Black American opinion.
Polling the Nations This link opens in a new window
Compilation of public opinion surveys conducted in the United States and more than 80 other countries. Each record includes the question asked and the responses given, the polling organization responsible for the work, the date the information was released, the sample size, and the groups or areas included in the interview. 1986+

Free, publicly available resource:

The Pew Research Center's "Business and Labor" topic features reports and datasets that capture public opinion regarding unions.

General Information: outside U.S.

European and International Trade Unions, Eurofound (European Union member states)

Industrial Relations Data, International Labour Organization (ILO)

"...includes data on trade union membership, trade union density and collective bargaining coverage."

National Industrial Relations, European Trade Union Institute (ETUI) - (European Union member states)

Explore and compare labor union information within and between countries.

Registered Trade Unions in South Africa, The South African Labour Guide

Representativeness Studies, Eurofound (European Union member states)

General Information: U.S.

BNA Labor Plus This link opens in a new window
This resource requires you to obtain a username and password prior to accessing the materials. Union data for elections, contracts, work stoppages, settlement summaries, and unfair labor practice charges. Primarily 1990s+. Includes the Daily Labor Report (December 2009+).
You can request a username and password for this resource from Charissa Jefferson: charissaj@princeton.edu.

Center for Union Facts database

"...the single most comprehensive database of information about labor unions in the United States. The database contains more than 100 million facts, ranging from basic union finances and leader salaries, to political operations, to strikes and unfair labor practices, and much more. The data comes from various local, state, and federal government agencies that track labor union operations."

National Labor Relations Board Data

National Conference of State Legislatures Right to Work Resources

Under right-to-work laws, states are authorized to determine whether workers are required to join a labor union to obtain or keep a job.

U.S. Dept. of Labor, Office of Labor-Management Standards (OLMS) Online Public Disclosure Room

Union reports, constitutions, bylaws, and other reports
From this site:

search the union annual financial reports for the year 2000 and after.
view and print reports filed by unions, union officers and employees, employers, and labor relations consultants for the year 2000 and after, and
order copies of reports for the year 1999 and prior.

Also,"display and print facsimiles of labor organization financial reports, and retrieve other union and financial data. Select results you wish to save and generate a number of reports comparing data saved from multiple searches."

U.S. Department of Labor: Resources for Labor Unions

"...shortcut to information and services the Department of Labor (DOL) offers labor unions."

Online Directories

AFL-CIO is the " umbrella federation for U.S. unions, with 55 unions representing 12.5 million working men and women." Useful site links include:
- linked directory of AFL-CIO unions
- search tool for locating a state or local AFL-CIO
- linked directory of Allied Organizations
- linked directory of Global Unions

The Labor Site
Comprehensive, alphabetical listing of unions and their websites and/or e-mail addresses. (U.S. and Canada)