Academic version of the Encyclopaedia Britannica, which is no longer published in print format. For a list of all editions of the Britannica held by Princeton, see the History Resource Guide. Includes the Merriam Webster Dictionary. Antiquity+
Considered the most authoritative and comprehensive English language dictionary in the world. Includes information on the English language, its history, and the social, cultural, and political influences that have shaped the language through the centuries.
In a unique collaboration, Nature Publishing Group and Institute of Physics Publishing have published the most extensive and comprehensive reference work in astronomy and astrophysics. This unique resource covers the entire field of astronomy and astrophysics and this online version includes the full text of over 2,750 articles, plus sophisticated search and retrieval functionality and links to the primary literature. The Encyclopaedia's authority is assured by editorial and advisory boards drawn from the world's foremost astronomers and astrophysicists. This first class resource is an essential source of information for undergraduates, graduate students, researchers and seasoned professionals, as well as for committed amateurs, librarians and lay people wishing to consult the definitive astronomy and astrophysics reference work.
This volume is a complete revision of the 1996 third edition, shares the ever-changing breadth of photographic topics with a special emphasis on digital imaging and contemporary issues. Produced by an international team of photographic and imaging experts with collaboration from the George Eastman House (the world's oldest photography museum), this fourth edition contains essays and photographic reproductions sharing information where photography and imaging serve a primary role, ranging from the atomic to the cosmic.
This unique visual reference presents more than 750 brilliant, four-color images of bacterial isolates commonly encountered in diagnostic microbiology and the methods used to identify them, including microscopic and phenotypic characteristics, colony morphology, and biochemical properties. Chapters cover the most important bacterial pathogens and related organisms, including updated taxonomy, epidemiology, pathogenicity, laboratory and antibiotic susceptibility testing, and molecular biology methodology Tables summarize and compare key biochemical reactions and other significant characteristics New to this edition is a separate chapter covering the latest developments in total laboratory automation The comprehensive chapter on stains, media, and reagents is now augmented with histopathology images A new Fast Facts chapter presents tables that summarize and illustrate the most significant details for some of the more commonly encountered organisms For the first time, this easy-to-use atlas is available digitally for enhanced searching. Color Atlas of Medical Bacteriology remains the most valuable illustrative supplement for lectures and laboratory presentations, as well as for laboratorians, clinicians, students, and anyone interested in diagnostic medical bacteriology.
The Encyclopedia of Image Processing presents a vast collection of well-written articles covering image processing fundamentals (e.g. color theory, fuzzy sets, cryptography) and applications (e.g. geographic information systems, traffic analysis, forgery detection). Image processing advances have enabled many applications in healthcare, avionics, robotics, natural resource discovery, and defense, which makes this text a key asset for both academic and industrial libraries and applied scientists and engineers working in any field that utilizes image processing. Written by experts from both academia and industry, it is structured using the ACM Computing Classification System (CCS) first published in 1988, but most recently updated in 2012.
The Encyclopedia of Big Data Technologies provides researchers, educators, students and industry professionals with a comprehensive authority over the most relevant Big Data Technology concepts. With over 300 articles written by worldwide subject matter experts from both industry and academia, the encyclopedia covers topics such as big data storage systems, NoSQL database, cloud computing, distributed systems, data processing, data management, machine learning and social technologies, data science. Each peer-reviewed, highly structured entry provides the reader with basic terminology, subject overviews, key research results, application examples, future directions, cross references and a bibliography. The entries are expository and tutorial, making this reference a practical resource for students, academics, or professionals. In addition, the distinguished, international editorial board of the encyclopedia consists of well-respected scholars, each developing topics based upon their expertise.
An illuminating and entertaining collection of dinosaur facts, from A to Z Dinopedia is an illustrated, pocket-friendly encyclopedia of all things dinosaurian. Featuring dozens of entries on topics ranging from hadrosaur nesting colonies to modern fossil hunters and paleontologists such as Halszka Osmólska and Paul Sereno, this amazing A-Z compendium is brimming with facts about these thrilling, complex, and sophisticated animals. Almost everything we know about dinosaurs has changed in recent decades. A scientific revolution, kick-started in the late 1960s by astounding new discoveries and a succession of new ideas, has shown that these magnificent creatures were marvels of evolution that surpassed modern reptiles and mammals in size, athletic abilities, and more. Darren Naish sheds invaluable light on our current, fast-changing understanding of dinosaur diversity and evolutionary history, and discusses the cultural impacts of dinosaurs through books, magazines, and movies. Naish also shows how our emerging view of these animals is very much a human story about ambition and competing egos, revealing that controversy and disagreement are commonplace in the vigorous field of dinosaur studies. With a wealth of original illustrations by the author, Dinopedia is an informative and entertaining collection of lore for the dinosaur lover in all of us. Features a cloth cover with an elaborate foil-stamped design