Research Guides: WRI 104/105: American Expertise (spring 2023): Multidisciplinary Library Databases

General Databases: Start Here

Articles+ "metasearch" (this means it searches across many of Princeton's databases)

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text archive of core journals in select disciplines. Journal issues from the most recent 3-5 years are usually NOT available electronically through JSTOR. Also includes full text of many Princeton University Press books as well as books in Classics from many university presses.
EBSCO Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database providing abstract & indexing with select full text for many core scholarly journals as well as popular press periodicals
Scopus This link opens in a new window
International coverage of journal articles, selected web sites, and patents in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities; provides citation tracking for 1996+ (select coverage for earlier periods) and cited reference searches back to 1970. 1996+
Princeton's Institutional ID (needed for Papers software): 51401.
Nexis UNI (former Lexis-Nexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of legal materials, including cases, statutes, and regulations of the U.S. government and the various state governments; case law from 1789 to present; current and historical statutes and regulations from 1980 forward. Provides full text of many major global, national, and regional newspapers.
Proquest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Indexes publications of the U.S. Congress such as hearings 1824+ (including previously unpublished hearings: Senate 1824-1992 and House 1833-1982), committee reports, documents and prints. Material is available in microfiche and/or electronic. Essential tool for doing legislative history research. Includes Congressional Research Reports from 1916+, Bills & Laws 1789+, U.S. Serial Set from 1789+, Annals of Congress from 1789-1824, Register of Debates from 1824-1837, Congressional Globe from 1833-1873, and Congressional Record from 1873+. Also includes Executive Branch Documents 1789-1948 and Executive Orders and Presidential Proclamations 1789+.
Washington Post This link opens in a new window
Digital edition of The Washington Post. Not available via mobile app. 2001+
Wall Street Journal Digital Edition This link opens in a new window
Last 4 years of the digital edition of the Wall Street Journal. For older issues, see Wall Street Journal (ProQuest) (1982+) or Wall Street Journal (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) (1889-2013).
New York Times Digital Edition - Academic Site License This link opens in a new window

Subject-Specific Scholarly Databases: For a Deeper Dive...

Databases by Subject
Use the "Choose Subject" drop down menu to see a curated selection of relevant scholarly databases for every concentration at Princeton.

In-class exercise:

Use boolean searching to locate an article relevant to this writing seminar on expertise. Then, find a second article that has some connection to the first. In scholarly works, these connections are often formed via citation (e.g. forward or backward citation).

Consider the following questions for class discussion:

What was your search strategy (e.g. boolean search operators and terms used)?
Which database did you use?
What is the relationship between these two articles?
How are they similar or different?