Relevant Library (and auxiliary) Services
- Data Statistical ServicesData and Statistical Services (DSS) provides data and statistical consulting. Gateway to the data collections at Princeton University, including crime, elections, public opinion, population, social, and economic data.
- Digital Map and GIS CenterThe Center provides access to geospatial data, digital map services and geographic information systems (GIS).
- Princeton Research Data ServiceOffers expert services and infrastructure needed to store, manage, retain, and curate digital research data, and to make research data available to the broader research community and to the public.
- Stokes - VizHubThe Stokes Visualization Hub is a space and service that supports the interdisciplinary digital research and information visualization needs of the Princeton University community.
- Princeton Research ComputingServices including system administration, programming, research software engineering, cloud computing and secure research infrastructure. Systems including clusters and large memory servers and data storage systems for data ranging from working data sets on our computational resources to persistent published data..
- General Library Resources for Graduate StudentsGuidelines for graduate students on library material access.
Literature Review
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowInternational coverage of journal articles, selected web sites, and patents in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities; provides citation tracking for 1996+ (select coverage for earlier periods) and cited reference searches back to 1970. 1996+
- Web of Science (ISI) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary index to journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Offers the option to find cited references, which are the authors lists of articles used in their research. Journal coverage in the social sciences, arts, and humanities is not comprehensive. Includes conference proceedings in the sciences and social sciences.
- EconLit This link opens in a new windowIndexes international economic literature. Includes major journals, articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, full-text book reviews, dissertations, and working papers. 1886+
- World Economic Outlook This link opens in a new window
Presents the IMF staff's analysis and projections of economic developments at the global level, in major country groups (classified by region, stage of development, etc.), and in many individual countries. Focuses on major economic policy issues as well as on the analysis of economic developments and prospects.
- ICPSR Bibliography of Data-Related Literature This link opens in a new windowCitations of known published and unpublished works resulting from analyses of data held in the ICPSR archive.
Data Resources
- BNA Labor Plus This link opens in a new window
This resource requires you to obtain a username and password prior to accessing the materials. Union data for elections, contracts, work stoppages, settlement summaries, and unfair labor practice charges. Primarily 1990s+. Includes the Daily Labor Report (December 2009+).
You can request a username and password for this resource from Charissa Jefferson: charissaj@princeton.edu.
- CEIC This link opens in a new windowProvides macroeconomic and financial time series data for many countries. Contains a wide range of data on topics including national accounts, government and public finance, demographic and labor markets, inflation, foreign trade, foreign direct investment, financial markets, and data on a variety of industry sectors. Includes subnational data for Brazil, China, India, Indonesia, and Russia. Please logoff the database. We have 5 concurrent users. Additional help information can be found on their site.
- Sage Data (formerly Data-Planet Statistical Datasets) This link opens in a new windowProvides easy access to a wide variety of economic, social, and political indicators. Includes IMF's International Financial Statistics, Direction of Trade (1980+), Balance of Payments, and Government Finance Statistics. Data is also accessible through Data-Planet Statistical Ready Reference.
- Data and Statistical Services (DSS) Data CatalogDSS maintains a catalog of microdata sources organized by topic and region.
- ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research) This link opens in a new windowWorld's largest archive of digital social science data.
- ILOSTAT This link opens in a new windowInternational Labour Office data for over 230 economies regarding labor and consumer prices. 1950+
- Roper iPoll Survey Database This link opens in a new windowLargest collection of public opinion poll data, 1935-present. Contains more than 825,000 searchable questions and over 25,000 datasets from both U.S. and international polling organizations. Topics include social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, science, the environment, and much more. When available, results charts, demographic crosstabs, time-series trends, and full datasets are provided for immediate download. Registration is required but free using your Princeton email. Many of iPoll's international surveys are not searchable at the question level, but downloadable as full datasets. See also Roper's Featured Projects, including their Health Poll Database and Researching Black American opinion.
- IPUMS InternationalProject dedicated to collecting and distributing census data from around the world.
- POLITICO Pro This link opens in a new windowPOLITICO Pro provides real-time policy reporting in agriculture, budget & appropriations, campaigns, cybersecurity, defense, education, eHealth, energy, financial services, health care, labor & employment, sustainability, tax, technology, trade, and transportation.
- GrayHair New Mover FileIncludes all historical consumer new mover records dating back to 2009. 2009 and 2010 data is quarterly. Afterwards, data is monthly. Includes consumer new mover records and those deemed undeliverable at the new address records. Includes all USA states, Puerto Rico and US territories.
