Research Guides: Writing Program: Outlawed and Infamous: Databases for Case Law

Case Law

The following database provide electronic access to American case law, statutes, and regulations:

WestlawNext Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of legal materials, including cases, statutes, and regulations of the U.S. government and the various state governments; includes the legal encyclopedia American Jurisprudence 2nd and American Law Reports; case law from 1789 to present; current statutes and regulations. Documents can also be accessed through broad subject categories such as Civil Rights, International Law and Environmental Law.
If Westlaw Campus asks for a password, please click the refresh button on your browser. This should allow access to the database without putting in a password.
Nexis UNI (former Lexis-Nexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of legal materials, including cases, statutes, and regulations of the U.S. government and the various state governments; case law from 1789 to present; current and historical statutes and regulations from 1980 forward. Provides full text of many major global, national, and regional newspapers.

In certain limited circumstances, you may need access to the commercial versions of these databases. To inquire about this, please contact the law librarian.

Fastcase This link opens in a new window
Searchable database providing access to cases, statutes, regulations, court rules, and constitutions, both federal and state.
ProQuest Supreme Court Insight This link opens in a new window
Collection of full opinions from Supreme Court argued cases, including per decision, dockets, oral arguments, joint appendices and amicus briefs.
U.S. Supreme Court Library (Hein Online) This link opens in a new window
Full text of the U.S. Reports and several classic treaties on Supreme Court jurisprudence.

Harvard Caselaw Access Project
Includes all official, book-published United States case law — every volume designated as an official report of decisions by a court within the United States. Scope includes all state courts and federal courts. Research scholars can qualify for bulk data access by agreeing to certain use and redistribution restrictions. You can request a bulk access agreement by creating an account and then visiting your account page.