Research Guides: Poster Design and Printing: Home

Book and article resources from the catalog

Designing Science Presentations by Matt Carter
ISBN: 0128153776
Publication Date: 2020-12-04
Guides scientists of any discipline in the design of compelling science communication.
Communicate Science Papers, Presentations, and Posters Effectively by Gregory S. Patience; Daria C. Boffito; Paul Patience
ISBN: 9780128017098
Publication Date: 2015-09-03
Guidebook on science writing and communication that professors, students, and professionals in the STEM fields can use in a practical way.
Academic & scientific poster presentation : a modern comprehensive guide by Nicholas Rowe
ISBN: 9783319612805
Publication Date: 2017
A comprehensive guide to poster presentation at academic, scientific and professional conferences.

Better Poster

Twitter Posters

How to create a Twitter Poster [Video] https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fQDL8r3r_d4
Twitter Poster Templates - https://osf.io/csxad/

Google Slides - https://sites.google.com/colgate.edu/academic-posters/google-slides-instructions
- Easy to Moderate learning curve
- Online collaboration
Powerpoint
- Easy to Moderate learning curve
Canva - https://www.canva.com/
- Easy to Moderate learning curve
- More design features
- Online collaboration
- Free with account
Adobe InDesign
- Advanced learning curve
- License or account required
- Training videos on LinkedIn Learning https://linkedinlearning.princeton.edu/
[NEW!] BioRender Poster Builder
- Log in with Princeton email to get the benefits of our institutional membership
- Easy learning curve
- Click and drag interface
- Huge library of scientifically accurate images

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Digital library of more than one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
AP Newsroom (includes AP Images Collection) This link opens in a new window
Contains breaking news, feature stories, photographs, graphics and audio clips produced by the AP network of journalists, who operate in more than 250 locations worldwide.
BioRender This link opens in a new window
BioRender is a web application that can be used to create scientific figures, diagrams, and illustrations from a scientifically accurate image library. Account (free) required.

*Cite all BioRender figures or templates with "Created with BioRender.com"

Bridgeman Education Database This link opens in a new window
From the producers of the Bridgeman Art Library for the commercial market, this image database contains more than 300,000 objects and covers all media, including photography, fine art, engravings, sculpture, architecture, archaeology, ethnography, history, science & medicine, decorative arts and artifacts.
To request larger versions of images, contact tjacoby@princeton.edu.

Brittanica ImageQuest
Over two million images of objects, events, places, works of art, sports, and scientific pursuits, from dozens of collections such as Getty Images and the National Geographic Society. Each image includes full citation and copyright information. Rights have been cleared for education use.
Digital Public Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America's libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world.
Europeana
Europeana works with thousands of European archives, libraries and museums to share cultural heritage for enjoyment, education and research. This website gives you access to millions of books, music, artworks and more – with sophisticated search and filter tools to help you find what you’re looking for.
Flickr
Photo sharing website that can be useful for photographic illustrations. RIghts vary by image.
Internet Archive
Free and open access to historical collections in digital format including text, audio, film, software, archived webpages, and more.