Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

E-resources for Japanese Studies

Guide for databases and online resources for Japan studies accessible at Princeton University

Databases for books, articles, and dissertations

CiNii  The academic database service founded and maintained by Nii (National Institute of Informatics)

     CiNii Artiles Index and abstract database for Japanese articles mainly focus on academic journals

     CiNii Books Bibliographic information and Union Catalog of Japanese books

     CiNii Dissertations Bibliographic information on dissertations

NDL Online (National Diet Library Japan Online Catalog) 国立国会図書館オンラインサーチ

NDL Search 国立国会図書館サーチ Integrated search of materials and digital contents provided by the NDL, public libraries, university libraries, special libraries, academic research institutions, etc. 

MagazinePlus Database for journal articles includes both academic and commercial publication

Zasshi kiji sakuin shusei dētabēsu = 雑誌記事索引集成データベース

Web Oya-Bunko Index to journal articles

Major university libraries' Online catalogs

The University of Tokyo Library 東京大学OPAC UTokyo OPAC

Waseda University Library 早稲田大学図書館統合検索 WINE

Keio University Libraries 慶応大学図書館総合目録 KOSMOS

The Kyoto University Library Network OPAC 京都大学図書館蔵書検索 KLINE

Tenri University Tenry Central Library 天理図書館蔵書検索 TCL OPAC

Comprehensive database

Image databases

JAPAN SEARCH  ジャパンサーチ Database for digital archives in Japan

Cultural Japan Digital resources on Japanese culture.