Research Guides: HIS 436/SAS 436: Working Class Lives on the Indian Subcontinent: Resources on the Web

Challenges in access due to COVID-19

The COVID-19 pandemic has made access to materials from and about South Asia a challenge, particularly because many of us are conducting research at a distance from the library. Aside from the commercial e-resources available at Princeton, please refer to the open-access resources listed below for research support during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Sources on the Web

47 Roots
47 Roots is a digital magazine, providing a platform to discuss South Asian politics, culture and social theory.
more...less...
Notice the articles and videos on working class lives during the coronavirus outbreak.
Bhopal: Law, Accidents, and Disasters in India
The Bhopal Digital Archive was initiated by professor Marc Galanter. His collection of court documents, newspaper clippings and other secondary sources form the foundation for this collection.
Karwan e Mohabbat
India Under #Lockdown Youtube playlist by Karwan e Mohabbat (Caravan of Love), a people’s campaign devoted to the universal values of the constitution, of solidarity, equality, freedom, justice and compassion. The videos document the impact of the lockdown on working class lives.
Library of Congress: Prints & Photographs Online Catalog
Allows you to search LoC's collection of prints and images. Some are digitized and some are not.
more...less...
Browse their collection of 60 color photochroms produced by Zurich’s Photoglob Co. during the period of British India. These photochroms depict a number of religious sites, monuments, street scenes, and historic places. Free to use and reuse.Browse their collection of 60 color photochroms produced by Zurich’s Photoglob Co. during the period of British India. These photochroms depict a number of religious sites, monuments, street scenes, and historic places. Free to use and reuse.
The Long Emergency: Media and Democracy in India
An Omeka-based digital collection of oral history interviews, films, cartoons, news clippings, government documents, and court judgments related to the time of the Indian Emergency (1975-1977) by Prof. Srirupa Roy of the Centre for Modern Indian Studies (CeMIS) at the University of Gottingen.
more...less...
*Check out the videos and cartoons on the theme of labor.
Memories of Delhi
A repository of all the data collected by the Centre for Community Knowledge during its multiple projects and documentation exercises in the mega city of Delhi.
more...less...
*Under Exhibits, check out "Art and Craft" and "Street Trades".
Mojo Story: Covid-19 Coverage
Ground reports of the impact of the pandemic on working classes, including migrant and day laborers. Mojo Story is led by journalist Barkha Dutt.
Paper Jewels: Postcards from the Raj
Digital postcard collection from Omar Khan. Check out the postcards depicting street scenes and the working class.
People's Archive of Rural India (PARI)
A crowd-sourced archive and journal documenting lived experiences in rural India. Contains stories, reports, videos, images, and audio.
Priya Paul Collection of Popular Art
4,000 images digitized by Tasveer Ghar.
South Asia Open Archives
The South Asia Open Archives (SAOA), a subset of the South Asia Materials Project (SAMP), creates and maintains a collection of open access materials for the study of South Asia. This major collaborative initiative is aimed at addressing the current scarcity of digital resources pertinent to South Asia studies and at making collections more widely accessible both to North American scholars and to researchers worldwide.
Tasveer Ghar
A House of Pictures. Picture essays, periodically updated, on South Asia's popular visual sphere including posters, calendar art, pilgrimage maps and paraphernalia, cinema hoardings, advertisements, and other forms of street and bazaar art.
more...less...
*Keyword search to find relevant content, e.g. labor.

Princeton University Library

HIS 436/SAS 436: Working Class Lives on the Indian Subcontinent

Multidisciplinary Repositories

Challenges in access due to COVID-19

Sources on the Web