🥳 Fun Stuff
These are not necessarily directly related to your writing seminar, but they are great, fun resources to know about.
Games
- Board Games at Engineering LibraryThe Engineering Library offers a collection of nearly 70 board games and playing cards that are available to borrow for up to 7 days. Reserve online ahead of time.
- New York Times Games This link opens in a new windowThe New York Times Games includes the Crossword, Crossword Mini, Letter Boxed, Spelling Bee, Sudoku, Tiles, Vertex, Wordle, and chess puzzles.
Leisure Reading
Dixon Print Collection
Located on the first floor of Firestone Library in the Thomas Graham Reading Room, the Dixon collection houses print copies of contemporary, popular fiction and non-fiction similar to what you might find in a public library. Books from this collection can be checked out for four weeks at a time.
- Dixon ebook & audiobook collectionThousands of contemporary, popular fiction and non-fiction titles to read or listen to. Many titles available as Kindle books. Download the Libby app for use on smartphones and tablets.
Music & Performing Arts
You have free access to many streaming audio and video resources for music, dance, and theater. Top resources are listed below, or browse all of them here.
- Dance Online. Dance in Video This link opens in a new windowPerformances and coaching sessions by influential performers of ballet, jazz, contemporary, and other dance forms.
- Digital Concert Hall (Berlin Philharmonic) This link opens in a new windowStream live and archived concerts of the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra, plus interviews with musicians. Create a free account the first time you visit.
- Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new windowStreaming videos of plays and musicals. Includes documentaries, interviews with practitioners, and text resources.
- Met Opera on Demand This link opens in a new windowOver 500 productions from New York’s Metropolitan Opera, including recent videos from the Met’s Live in HD series, plus telecasts and radio broadcasts dating back to 1936.
- Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new windowThe world's largest online classical music library, with streaming access to more than 120,000 albums. Create a free account to make playlists and access the NML app.
News
- New York TimesPrinceton faculty, students, and staff have access to The New York Times (NYT) Digital Edition provided by Princeton University Library. Also available through Apple and Android apps after account creation.
- Washington Post This link opens in a new window
Digital edition of The Washington Post. Not available via mobile app. 2001+
- Wall Street JournalArchival coverage includes last 4 years (very limited additional coverage back to February 10, 2010). 90-day archive to a digital version of the daily print edition of The Wall Street Journal. Available editions include: US, Asia, Europe, and India. Available through Apple and Android apps after account creation.
- The EconomistIP based authentication for The Economist.
- The Financial TimesRegister for free access to the web experience of ft.com. Your account will also work to access the FT app for Apple and Android.
Travel & Language Learning
Travel Guides Collection
Located on the first floor of Firestone Library in the Thomas Graham Reading Room, the travel guides collection covers destinations in the US and around the world and is available to check out for four weeks at a time.
- Rosetta Stone This link opens in a new window
Rosetta Stone offers a wide range of courses and proficiency levels for dozens of languages.
NOTICE
On December 23, 2024, the Rosetta Stone platform offered through the library will be upgraded. With the change in platform, user profiles will be reset. Please record your last activity prior to the last few weeks of the semester. You will be able to navigate back to your last activity once you have re-registered for a new license.
You will find your current Unit and Lesson number on the top of the screen. When you login to the new platform after December 23, 2024, find Explore All Content to navigate back to your progress point.
Popular Magazines
- The Atlantic MonthlyAccess to articles from The Atlantic, including the most current issue. This link will not provide access to the web experience of theatlantic.com or give access to the mobile app.
- The New YorkerFree access to the web experience of newyorker.com as well as the archive from 1925 to the latest issue.
- BillboardColor pdfs of complete issues from 1963 to the present.