HIS 400 - Law and Everyday Life in the Nineteenth-Century United States

The course of daily life in the United States has been a product of tradition, environment, and circumstance. How did the Civil War alter the lives of women, both white and black, left alone on southern farms? How did the Great Depression change the lives of working class families in eastern cities? How did the discovery of gold in California transform the lives of native American, Hispanic, and white communities in western territories? Organized by time period as spelled out in the National Standards for U.S. History, these four volumes effectively analyze the diverse whole of American experience, examining the domestic, economic, intellectual, material, political, recreational, and religious life of the American people between 1763 and 2005. Working under the editorial direction of general editor Randall M. Miller, professor of history at St. Joseph's University, a group of expert volume editors carefully integrate material drawn from volumes in Greenwood's highly successful Daily Life Through History series with new material researched and written by themselves and other scholars. The four volumes cover the following periods: The War of Independence and Antebellum Expansion and Reform, 1763-1861, The Civil War, Reconstruction, and the Industrialization of America, 1861-1900, The Emergence of Modern America, World War I, and the Great Depression, 1900-1940 and Wartime, Postwar, and Contemporary America, 1940-Present. Each volume includes a selection of primary documents, a timeline of important events during the period, images illustrating the text, and extensive bibliography of further information resources both print and electronic and a detailed subject index."

There's an old saying: Ignorance of the law is no excuse for breaking it. Yet for most people, the law is often an inaccessible doorway through which many fear to enter. Filling the need for an accessible reference that combs the entire American legal system, the Encyclopedia of American Law assembles in one comprehensive volume a collection of issues, terms, concepts, court cases, history, and people to provide all citizens with a clear overview of the major points of American law. The only general reference volume available on the subject, the Encyclopedia of American Law demystifies our judicial system, making the law comprehensible to all laypeople. This broad reference work is of interest to specialists seeking a richer appreciation for their craft as well as people of all ages and races wanting to acquire a thorough understanding of their constitutional rights.

The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Political and Legal History brings together, in one authoritative reference work, an unparalleled wealth of information about the laws, institutions, and actors that have governed America throughout its history. Embracing the interconnectedness of politics and law, The Encyclopedia addresses all aspects of both spheres, from presidents and Supreme Court justices to specifics of policy history, critical legislation, and party formation. Entries capture the unique nature of the nation's founding principles embodied in the Constitution, the expansive nature of American democracy, political conflict, and compromise, and the emergence of the modern welfare and regulatory state, all of which evince the tensions, contradictions, and possibilities manifest throughout America's history. Clearly demonstrating how US politics and law have evolved since the colonial era, The Encyclopedia encourages readers to anticipate further changes. With over 450 articles by expert scholars, each signed entry features numerous cross references and discussion of political and legal history as well as additional sources for further study. This two-volume A-to-Z compendium is a reference work of unparalleled depth and scope and will introduce a new generation of readers to the complexities of this dynamic field of study. It also features extensive cross-referencing, a topical outline, and a subject index.

Indispensable for the student or researcher studying women's history, this book draws upon a wide array of cultural settings and time periods in which women displayed agency by carrying out their daily economic, familial, artistic, and religious obligations. Since record keeping began, history has been written by a relatively few elite men. Insights into women's history are left to be gleaned by scholars who undertake careful readings of ancient literature, examine archaeological artifacts, and study popular culture, such as folktales, musical traditions, and art. For some historical periods and geographic regions, this is the only way to develop some sense of what daily life might have been like for women in a particular time and place. This reference explores the daily life of women across civilizations. The work is organized in sections on different civilizations from around the world, arranged chronologically. Within each society, the encyclopedia highlights the roles of women within five broad thematic categories: the arts, economics and work, family and community life, recreation and social customs, and religious life. Included are numerous sidebars containing additional information, document excerpts, images, and suggestions for further reading.

A comprehensive, contextual presentation of all aspects_social, political, and economic_of slavery in the United States, from the first colonization through Reconstruction. For 250 years, slavery was part of the fabric of American life. The institution had an enormous economic impact and was central to the wealth of the agrarian South. It had as great an impact on American culture, cementing racism and other attitudes that echo into the present. This encyclopedia is an ambitious examination of all the issues surrounding slavery: the origins, the justifications, the controversies, and the human drama. These volumes represent the work of 75 distinguished scholars from around the world. Ten thematic essays present a thorough examination of slavery and slave culture, including a rare treatment of slavery from the slave's point of view. Three hundred A_Z entries provide instant access to specific people, issues, and events. Today, slavery's immorality seems obvious. This encyclopedia provides the student or general reader with an in-depth explanation of how the practice evolved and was normalized, then anathematized and abolished. Ten major essays and 300 A_Z entries cover all aspects of slavery Over 100 contributors represent the finest scholarship worldwide on the topic An impressive collection of 150 original documents illustrate both popular and official attitudes toward slavery The massive bibliography is the most complete and up-to-date available

This three-volume work traces the history of revolts and rebellions from the colonial era to the 20th century. America has a long history of rebellions extending back before 1776. Revolts have taken place because of economic hard times, the denial of civil rights, racism, sexism, and classism. Studying the reasons for and results of these uprisings provides a window into the life of the American body politic--and what moves the American people to action. Revolts, Protests, Demonstrations, and Rebellions in American History: An Encyclopedia details the history of popular actions from the colonial era to the 20th century. Each event in the three-volume encyclopedia is covered by an overview entry that details who was involved, why the revolt took place, what happened, and what the aftereffects were. Shorter subentries provide further detail on the important people, places, events, and ideas that were a part of the action. By presenting both the broad themes and the specifics, the encyclopedia enables readers to gain a general knowledge of the event or drill down to acquire a greater understanding. 71 chronologically arranged entries detail the revolts and uprisings that have shaped the history of the United States, with 2-5 subentries that drill down into those histories Each entry includes an overview essay, followed by entries on related people, groups, organizations, ideas, and places, along with select primary sources Contributions come from a distinguished group of American historians from across the nation and across historical disciplines One volume is comprised entirely of primary source documents Illustrations and photographs show events discussed

In the early years of the American Republic the political ideals of the Revolution took definite form, and pervaded the daily lives of Americans in multifarious ways, affirming and transforming the country and its people in the process. In this informative and eminently readable resource, award-winning authors David and Jeanne Heidler discuss the people who lived during this critical time, and uncover the essential and unexpected realities of ordinary life in the early American republic. Rapid developments in agriculture, encouraged by a strong sense of dignity in work and a bold new spirit of ingenuity sharply reduced the percentage of people who made their living in the fields; the tone of religious tolerance taken up by the founders manifested itself in a fervent yet incredibly diverse spiritual community; workingmen and educated citizens alike attended intellectual lectures together in an effort to become responsible and informed citizens; and the family dynamic underwent a profound transformation, especially as it involved children, at the hands of a new democratic idealism. In this informative and eminently readable resource, award-winning authors David and Jeanne Heidler discuss the people who lived during this critical time, and uncover the essential and unexpected realities of ordinary life in the early American republic. Included are sections on agriculture; rituals of life, love, and death; employment and the economy; leisure; religion; life beyond the mainstream; and life in the military. This volume is ideal for high school and college students, as well as anyone interested in examining the prosaic realities underpinning the lives of the people of the time. A chronology of the time period, maps, illustrations, a bibliography and an index are also included.

The Mississippi River has influenced the economy, domestic life, culture, politics, and rhythms of American daily life. The Louisiana Purchase of 1803 and the victory at the Battle of New Orleans in 1813 gave the river a central part in the evolution of the United States. Events such as the birth of jazz and technological advances such as the steamboat solidified its place in American lore. Pabis's rich thematic chapters detail the daily lives of those living along the Mississippi and the culture that surrounded it, from the Native Americans at Cahokia to the rise of major port cities such as New Orleans, St. Louis, and St. Paul. Readers will learn how the river's transportation economy fed America's agricultural heartland, how ethnic ties and technological advances affected home and family life, and how the region's current residents still cope with living in a flood culture. An ideal resource for students of American history. Pabis's rich thematic chapters explore many aspects of daily life, including the influence of the Trans-Atlantic fur trade on the lives of Native tribes; how the river's transportation economy fed America's agricultural heartland; the effects of ethnic ties and Jim Crow laws on the river communities, the development of food production and cuisine; and how present-day residents cope with life in a flood culture, including the effects of Hurricane Katrina. Mark Twain once called the Mississippi the Body of the Nation. Readers will learn how this influential region lived and breathed from day to day, from pre-Columbian times to the present. An ideal reference source for any student of American history and culture.

The United States Civil War touched the lives of every American North and South at that time. This informative book makes extensive use of journals, newspapers, and diaries to bring together the experience of the soldier, civilian, and slave in one volume. The experiences of Billy Yank and Johnny Reb are contrasted with activities on the homefront to bring this turbulent era alive for students, teachers and Civil War buffs. This engaging history also provides interesting details such as: what the slaves' and the freed black men and women's lives were like; how the soldiers obtained their food; how recipes were changed to accommodate food shortages; the popular books and magazines of the time; and how clothing and fashion were affected by the war. The ideas and ideals which brought about the crisis are discussed and period writings are included to provide great insight into the mindset of the time. This volume is enhanced by period photographs, lithographs and original art work, much of which has never before appeared in print.

This book takes an in-depth look at every aspect of American Indian life--food, dress, customs, and more--during the almost 300 years of conflict with Anglo-Americans. From the colonial period to the end of the 19th century, from King Phillip's war to the Wounded Knee Massacre, fighting between the American Indians and the U.S. government created upheaval in the everyday lives of American Indians, affecting everything from trade and food to marriage, housing, and family life. The continuous power struggle between distinct cultures created the backdrop for the creation of the United States we know today, as well as the infancy of American foreign policy. Daily Life during the Indian Wars will immerse readers in the true stories of a wide range of American Indian peoples as they fought to preserve everything they had and held dear--their traditions, their lands, and their identities.

Daily life in the Industrial age was ever-changing, unsettling, outright dangerous, and often thrilling. Electric power turned night into day, cities swelled with immigrants from the countryside and from Europe, and great factories belched smoke and beat unnatural rhythms while turning out consumer goods at an astonishing pace. Distance and time condensed as rail travel and telegraph lines tied the vast United States together as never before. First-hand accounts from workers, housewives, and children help illuminate the significant achievements of the era and their impact on the everyday lives of ordinary people. Readers will learn of a broad range of personal experiences, while comprehending the importance of the economic and social developments of the period. A chronology, a glossary, more than 40 photographs, and further reading sources complete the work.

The second wave of US immigration--from 1870 to 1920--brought over twenty-six million men, women, and children onto American shores. This in-depth study of the period underscores the diversity of peoples who came to the U.S. and highlights the significant shifts in geographic origins--from northern and western Europe to southern and eastern Europe--that occurred in the late nineteenth century and led to distinguishing between old and new immigrants. Thematic chapters provide an overview of the daily lives of these migrants, including distribution and settlement patterns, individual and family migrations, and permanent and temporary residency. Also discussed are demographics and characteristics of each ethnic group, as well as pressures to Americanize and other facets of adjusting to a new country and culture. An ideal source for students of American history and culture, this comprehensive work features over 40 engaging photos, a glossary of key terms, a chronology of events, and an extensive print and nonprint bibliography.