This new four-volume encyclopedia is the most comprehensive and up-to-date resource available on the history of Native Americans, providing a lively, authoritative survey ranging from human origins to present-day controversies. From the origins of Native American cultures through the years of colonialism and non-Native expansion to the present, Encyclopedia of American Indian History brings the story of Native Americans to life like no other previous reference on the subject. Featuring the work of many of the field's foremost scholars, it explores this fundamental and foundational aspect of the American experience with extraordinary depth, breadth, and currency, carefully balancing the perspectives of both Native and non-Native Americans. Encyclopedia of American Indian History spans the centuries with three thematically organized volumes (covering the period from precontact through European colonization; the years of non-Native expansion (including Indian removal); and the modern era of reservations, reforms, and reclamation of semi-sovereignty). Each volume includes entries on key events, places, people, and issues. The fourth volume is an alphabetically organized resource providing histories of Native American nations, as well as an extensive chronology, topic finder, bibliography, and glossary. For students, historians, or anyone interested in the Native American experience, Encyclopedia of American Indian History brings that experience to life in an unprecedented way. Approximately 450 entries within four separate volumes Approximately 110 contributors from among the foremost scholars in the fields, including Troy Johnson on self-determination movements, Richard King on sports mascots, and Jon Rehyner on recovery of Native languages Hundreds of images, including illustrations, photographs, and maps A series of helpful research tools rounding out the fourth volume, including an extensive chronology, topical bibliography, and a comprehensive index
Ethnic Groups of the Americas by James B. Minahan
Call Number: Firestone E49 .M56 2013
Publication Date: 2013-03-14
Intended to help students explore ethnic identity--one of the most important issues of the 21st century--this concise, one-stop reference presents rigorously researched content on the national groups and ethnicities of North America, Central America, South America, and the Caribbean. Combining up-to-date information with extensive historical and cultural background, the encyclopedia covers approximately 150 groups arranged alphabetically. Each engaging entry offers a short introduction detailing names, population estimates, language, and religion. This is followed by a history of the group through the turn of the 19th century, with background on societal organization and culture and expanded information on language and religious beliefs. The last section of each entry discusses the group in the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries, including information on its present situation. Readers will also learn about demographic trends and major population centers, parallels with other groups, typical ways of life, and relations with neighbors. Major events and notable challenges are documented, as are key figures who played a significant political or cultural role in the group's history. Each entry also provides a list for further reading and research.
Economic themes underlie many aspects of Native American history from the fur trade, the devastating impact of European diseases, and the taking of Native American land to the current issues of uranium mining on Navajo land and casino gambling. Yet this is the first encyclopedia to analyze Native American history against an economic background. Describing the impact of Euro-American settlement from a Native American perspective, the book profiles the economies of roughly forty Native American tribes and nations from pre-Columbian times to the present. Other entries focus on demographics, such historical issues as the Allotment Act of 1887, and modern efforts at economic development. The book provides a valuable guide to an important area in Native American Studies and American economic history. Basing entries on Native nations, the work includes peoples living in present-day Canada, Mexico, Guatemala, and the United States. Along with nation profiles, the book includes historical information on demographics, economic conditions on reservations, and the economic basis for present-day attempts to increase Native American sovereignty. It is a concise, readable account of Native American history in a format suitable for undergraduates.
An essential reference on the reciprocal role that U.S. and Native policy and law have played in American political development Created by a culturally diverse editorial board of major scholars and containing invaluable bibliographic material not found in other publications, this definitive two-volume set examines the history and impact of U.S. relations with Native Americans. Extensive essays trace policies from the Continental Congress to the present day--including the role that managing the "Indian question" has played in American political development--while A to Z entries cover everything critical to a full understanding of the context to U.S./Native American relations, from history, politics, and sociology to civil rights and culture. The set is also the first reference of its kind to incorporate the expanding scholarship reflecting both the Native American viewpoint on and response to federal policies and initiatives over time.
Individual demands for equality and civil rights are central themes in U.S. history and American Indian people are no exception. They have had to deal with white racism and its expression in local and national political institutions while trying to define the rights of individual Indians vis-á-vis their own tribal governments. The struggle has made their civil rights movement unique. This encyclopedia, designed to meet the curriculum needs of high school and college students, provides the most comprehensive, up-to-date coverage of American Indian civil rights issues. More than 600 entries cover a variety of perspectives, issues, individuals, incidents, and court cases central to an understanding of the history of civil rights among American Indian peoples. The issue is a complicated one, expanding over a period of more than a century. The history of American Indian civil rights can be traced not only in the courts and the federal legislation, but on the battlefield where a number of civil rights protests have been fought. This encyclopedia clarifies the complicated history of individual rights, water rights, land rights, and other issues in American Indian civil rights. It is thoroughly cross-referenced for ease of use in tracing any particular issue or incident. Each entry is followed by a list of works for further reading on the topic. An appendix of entries on landmark court cases is organized by issue. A selection of photos complements the text. This work is a one-stop source for up-to-date information on all aspects of American Indian civil rights and is essential for high school, public, and university libraries.
Call Number: Firestone Library - History Reference E162 .C68 2006
Publication Date: 2006-05-15
No era in American history has been more fascinating to Americans, or more critical to the ultimate destiny of the United States, than the colonial era. Between the time that the first European settlers established a colony at Jamestown in 1607 through the signing of the Declaration of Independence, the outlines of America's distinctive political culture, economic system, social life, and cultural patterns had begun to emerge. Designed to complement the high school American history curriculum as well as undergraduate survey courses, "Colonial America: An Encyclopedia of Social, Political, Cultural, and Economic History" captures it all: the people, institutions, ideas, and events of the first three hundred years of American history. While it focuses on the thirteen British colonies stretching along the Atlantic, Colonial America sets this history in its larger contexts. Entries also cover Canada, the American Southwest and Mexico, and the Caribbean and Atlantic world directly impacting the history of the thirteen colonies. This encyclopedia explores the complete early history of what would become the United States, including portraits of Native American life in the immediate pre-contact period, early Spanish exploration, and the first settlements by Spanish, French, Dutch, Swedish, and English colonists. This monumental five-volume set brings America's colonial heritage vibrantly to life for today's readers. It includes: thematic essays on major issues and topics; detailed A-Z entries on hundreds of people, institutions, events, and ideas; thematic and regional chronologies; hundreds of illustrations; primary documents; and a glossary and multiple indexes.
Call Number: Firestone Library - History Reference E45 .E53 1993
Publication Date: 1993-12-01
This groundbreaking compendium covers the colonial experience from the 11th-century Norse settlers in Newfoundland to the Spanish in New Mexico and the Russians in 1850s Alaska. Articles speak to the daily circumstances, historical events and prevailing climates of thought that gave shape and purpose to people's lives during the centuries of imperial expansion and settlement.
Traces the development of the ideas, customs, and institutions that constitute the American cultural identity through 670 articles by specialists in history, law, religion, literature, art, music, African American studies, women's studies, and science and technology.
SAGE Reference is proud to announce the Encyclopedia of War and American Society, Three-Volume Set. The impact of war on American society has been extensive throughout its nation′s history. War has transformed economic patterns, government policy, public sentiments, social trends and cultural expression. The Encyclopedia is a comprehensive, highly-credentialed multidisciplinary historical work that examines the numerous ways wars affect societies. The Three-Volume Set cover a wide range of general thematic categories, issues and topics that address not only the geopolitical effects of war, but also show how the United States engagement in national and international conflicts has affected the social and cultural arena. Key features include: - a discussion of the three types of effects of war - direct effects, interactive relationships and indirect effects - to illustrate the range of connections between war and American society; - an exploration of the correlations between wartime expeditions and the experiences of the greater American society, not limited to just the war years but also demonstrating how wartime event impacted society after the conflicts ended; - a host of documents including passages from letters, diaries, autobiographies, official documents, novels, poems, songs and cartoons, as well as images, graphs and a number of tables of relevant data, surveys and public opinion polls to extend the research capabilities of this reference work; - a focus on the last 100 years to give more coverage to this, often neglected, wartime era. Key Themes: Arts and Culture Civil-Military Relations Economy and Labor Education (both military and civilian) Environment and Health Journalism and Media Law and Justice Planning, Command and Control Race, Gender, and Ethnicity Religion Science and Technology Veterans′ Issues and Experiences The Wars themselves and their civilian and military leaders The Encyclopedia of War and American Society is a `must-have′ reference for all academic libraries as well as a welcome addition to any social science reference collection.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Military and Diplomatic History, a two-volume set, will offer both assessment and analysis of the key episodes, issues and actors in the military and diplomatic history of the United States. At a time of war, in which ongoing efforts to recalibrate Americandiplomacy are as imperative as they are perilous, the Oxford Encyclopedia will present itself as the first recourse for scholars wishing to deepen their understanding of the crucial features of the historical and contemporary foreign policy landscape and its perennially martial components.Entries will be written by the top diplomatic and military historians and key scholars of international relations from within the American academy, supplemented, as is appropriate for an encyclopedia of diplomacy, with entries from foreign-based academics, in the United Kingdom and elsewhere.The crucial importance of the subject is reflected in the popularity of university courses dedicated to diplomatic and military history and the enduring appeal of international relations (IR) as a political science discipline drawing on both. The Oxford Encyclopedia will be a basic reference toolacross both disciplines - a potentially very significant market.