AAS 300 Junior Paper Seminar

The authoritative source for information on the people, places, and events of the African Diaspora, spanning five continents and five centuries. * More than 500 A-Z entries * Contributions from hundreds of leading scholars * Maps showing key locations in the African Diaspora

African American heritage is rich with stories of family, community, faith, love, adaptation and adjustment, grief, and suffering, all captured in a variety of media by artists intimately familiar with them. From traditional media of painting and artists such as Horace Pippin and Faith Ringgold, to photography of Gordon Parks, and new media of Sam Gilliam and Martin Puryear (installation art), the African American experience is reflected across generations and works. Eight pages of color plates and black and white images throughout the book introduce both favorite and new artists to students and adult readers alike. African American heritage is rich with stories of family, community, faith, love, adaptation and adjustment, grief, and suffering, all captured in a variety of media by artists intimately familiar with them. From traditional media of painting and artists such as Horace Pippin and Faith Ringgold, to photography of Gordon Parks, and new media of Sam Gilliam and Martin Puryear (installation art), the African American experience is reflected across generations and works. Eight pages of color plates and black and white images throughout the book introduce both favorite and new artists to students and adult readers alike. A sampling of the artists included: Romare Bearden, Elizabeth Catlett, Achamyele Debela, and Melvin Edwards.

African Americans historically have played a role in shaping the economic development of their race and of the country, though only recently have they received attention in this regard. Current representation of African Americans in some of corporate America's top positions and as owners of technology companies reflect current trends in society and is a step toward closing the racial gap. This two-volume reference work provides students and general readers easy access to information on African American business leaders, companies, associations, and other business subjects. Written by more than 50 contributors, entries discuss both historical and contemporary figures and topics that help illustrate the occupations and businesses of blacks throughout history. Spanning the early 18th century to the present day, over 200 alphabetically arranged entries describe people and topics related to the history of African American business development, including: Berry O'Kelly, Advertising Agencies, Franklin Delano Raines, National Association of Black Women Entrepreneurs, Oprah Winfrey, Retail Industry, National Alliance of Market Developers, Kenneth Chenault, Spike Lee, Legal Defense and Education Fund, Myrtle Potter, Quincy Jones, Faith-Based Entrepreneurship, Credit Unions, Sylvia Woods, Eddie Murphy, Minority Enterprise Development Week, and more. Primary documents and statistical tables are also included to help display the numerous contributions of blacks in business.

Does justice exist for Blacks in America? This comprehensive compilation of essays documents the historical and contemporary impact of the law and criminal justice system on people of African ancestry in the United States. * 120 A-Z entries on race and criminal justice and famous or infamous African American crime perpetrators or victims * Contributions from more than 50 distinguished scholars from many criminal justice/criminology academic programs across the country * An index of key persons, events, and legislation

The Encyclopedia of African American Education covers educational institutions at every level, from preschool through graduate and professional training, with special attention to historically black and predominantly black colleges and universities. Other entries cover individuals, organizations, associations, and publications that have had a significant impact on African American education. The Encyclopedia also presents information on public policy affecting the education of African Americans, including both court decisions and legislation. It includes a discussion of curriculum, concepts, theories, and alternative models of education, and addresses the topics of gender and sexual orientation, religion, and the media. The Encyclopedia also includes a Reader's Guide, provided to help readers find entries on related topics. It classifies entries in sixteen categories: " Alternative Educational Models " Associations and Organizations " Biographies " Collegiate Education " Curriculum " Economics " Gender " Graduate and Professional Education " Historically Black Colleges and Universities " Legal Cases " Pre-Collegiate Education " Psychology and Human Development " Public Policy " Publications " Religious Institutions " Segregation/Desegregation. Some entries appear in more than one category. This two-volume reference work will be an invaluable resource not only for educators and students but for all readers who seek an understanding of African American education both historically and in the 21st century.

African American culture draws upon a rich body of traditions from Africa, Latin America, and the South, and folklore is fundamental to the African American heritage. The first work of its kind, this definitive encyclopedia comprehensively overviews African American folklore. Included are roughly 700 alphabetically arranged entries by more than 100 expert contributors on such topics as folktales, music, art, foodways, spiritual beliefs, proverbs, and many other subjects. Entries cite works for further reading, and the encyclopedia concludes with a bibliography of major works. African American folklore has played a dominant role in shaping the spirit and soul of the Americas. African American folk traditions are a vital part of contemporary society and continue to shape art, music, film, literature, and religion. Because folklore is more than just a body of tales and instead encompasses all of traditional culture, it is central to African American daily life. The first work of its kind, this authoritative encyclopedia comprehensively overviews African American folklore. While the encyclopedia gives special attention to music, art, folktales, spiritual beliefs, foodways, proverbs, and other topics central to African American folklore, it also discusses the Caribbean and African roots of traditional African American culture. Features; Draws upon the work of more than 100 expert contributors.; Includes roughly 700 alphabetically arranged entries.; Covers music, art, folktales, spiritual beliefs, foodways, proverbs, customs, traditions, and other topics.; Entries cite works for further reading.; Includes an alphabetical list of entries.; Provides a list of entries grouped in topical categories.; Lists archives and research centers.; Offers convenient access through an extensive index.; Entries are fully cross-referenced.; Presents a selected, general bibliography of major works on African American folklore.; Includes entries on the Caribbean and African roots of African American folklore.; Overviews the presence of African American folklore in contemporary popular culture.; Contains a generous selection of illustrations of all types of African American folklore. Benefits; Helps students understand the heart of African American culture.; Provides an essential context for African American history, literature, music, and art.; Promotes respect for cultural diversity.; Celebrates our nation's African American heritage.; Relates African American culture to its Caribbean and African influences.; Serves as a model for student writing.; Develops research skills by directing students to additional resources.; Helps students learn about African American history through popular culture. Students researching any aspect of the African American experience will find this encyclopedia to be a valuable resource, as will their teachers. And because African American life is central to American society, anyone interested in American Studies will treasure this reference work.

This important new reference covers African and African-American religion in sub-Saharan Africa, North America, South America, and the Caribbean, and provides vital insights into its growing worldwide influence in Europe, Asia and the South Pacific. Entries encompass individuals, concepts, specific religions, religious movements and churches, and include: Akan, Aladura, Azusa Street Mission, Black theology, candomble, Dominican vodun, the Harrist movement, Jamaa, Macumba, Mission des Noirs, Mt. Sinai Holy Church, Nuer, Pentecostalism, Pocomania, Santería, Southern Christian Leadership Conference, Unification Church, Yoruba, and many more. Photos, illustrations, and source material round out the package.

The Encyclopedia of African American Society is the first comprehensive and accessible reference set in this field to give voice to the turbulent trends, past and present, that are often ignored in favor of mere facts. Although numerous biographical, chronological and bibliographical reference works exist, none seeks to capture, in a single set, the ways in which the tenets and foundations of African American culture have given rise to today's society. This two-volume encyclopedia fills the gap and has become a staple in collections in school, public and academic libraries. The encyclopedia is anchored by alphabetically arranged essays on such topics as abolitionism, affirmative action, and the civil rights movement, and contains hundreds of shorter articles on notable African Americans, groundbreaking events, sports and culture, labor and significant heritage sites. Key Features Over 700 signed articles, organized A-Z More than 50 photographs Reader's guide facilitates easy browsing for relevant articles Comprehensive index and bibliography Topics Covered Concepts and Theories Fine Arts, Theater, and Entertainment Health and Education History and Heritage Literature Media Movements and Events Music and Dance Organizations and Institutions Places Politics and Policy Popular Culture Religion and Beliefs The Road to Freedom Science, Technology, and Business Social Issues Special Populations Sports Advisory Board

This singular reference provides an authoritative account of the daily lives of enslaved women in the United States, from colonial times to emancipation following the Civil War. Through essays, photos, and primary source documents, the female experience is explored, and women are depicted as central, rather than marginal, figures in history. * Dozens of photos of former enslaved women * Detailed historical timeline * Numerous rare primary documents, including runaway slave advertisements and even a plantation recipe for turtle soup * Profiles of noted female slaves and their works

Covering everything from sports to art, religion, music, and entrepreneurship, this book documents the vast array of African American cultural expressions and discusses their impact on the culture of the United States. According to the latest census data, less than 13 percent of the U.S. population identifies as African American; African Americans are still very much a minority group. Yet African American cultural expression and strong influences from African American culture are common across mainstream American culture--in music, the arts, and entertainment; in education and religion; in sports; and in politics and business. African American Culture: An Encyclopedia of People, Traditions, and Customs covers virtually every aspect of African American cultural expression, addressing subject matter that ranges from how African culture was preserved during slavery hundreds of years ago to the richness and complexity of African American culture in the post-Obama era. The most comprehensive reference work on African American culture to date, the book covers topics such as black contributions to literature and the arts, music and entertainment, religion, and professional sports. It also provides coverage of less-commonly addressed subjects, such as African American fashion practices and beauty culture, the development of jazz music across different eras, and African American business. * Identifies influential aspects of African American culture through entries on topics such as African Americans in sports, in musical genres such as blues, gospel, hip hop, and jazz, and in religions such as Christianity, Islam, and Yoruba * Makes clear the numerous ways African Americans have produced, maintained, and evolved their culture in the United States * Enables readers to truly comprehend what "diversity" is by gaining substantive knowledge of how a particular group of persecuted people has learned to thrive artistically and culturally in the United States

The Harlem Renaissance is considered one of the most significant periods of creative and intellectual expression for African Americans. Beginning as early as 1914 and lasting into the 1940s, this era saw individuals reject the stereotypes of African Americans and confront the racist, social, political, and economic ideas that denied them citizenship and access to the American Dream. While the majority of recognized literary and artistic contributors to this period were black males, African American women were also key contributors. Black Women of the Harlem Renaissance Era profiles the most important figures of this cultural and intellectual movement. Highlighting the accomplishments of black women who sought to create positive change after the end of WWI, this reference work includes representatives not only from the literary scene but also: ActivistsActressesArtistsEducatorsEntrepreneursMusiciansPolitical leaders Scholars By acknowledging the women who played vital--if not always recognized--roles in this movement, this book shows how their participation helped set the stage for the continued transformation of the black community well into the 1960s. To fully realize the breadth of these contributions, editors Lean'tin L. Bracks and Jessie Carney Smith have assembled profiles written by a number of accomplished academics and historians from across the country. As such, Black Women of the Harlem Renaissance Era will be of interest to scholars of women's studies, African American studies, and cultural history, as well as students and anyone wishing to learn more about the women of this important era.

African American women writers published extensively during the Harlem Renaissance and have been extraordinarily prolific since the 1970s. This book surveys the world of African American women writers. Included are alphabetically arranged entries on more than 150 novelists, poets, playwrights, short fiction writers, autobiographers, essayists, and influential scholars. The Encyclopedia covers established contemporary authors such as Toni Morrison and Gloria Naylor, along with a range of neglected and emerging figures. Each entry is written by an expert contributor and provides a brief biography, a discussion of major works, a survey of the author's critical reception, and primary and secondary bibliographies. Literature students will value this book for its exploration of African American literature, while social studies students will appreciate its examination of social issues through literature. African American women writers have made an enormous contribution to our culture. Many of these authors wrote during the Harlem Renaissance, a particularly vital time in African American arts and letters, while others have been especially active since the 1970s, an era in which works by African American women are adapted into films and are widely read in book clubs. Literature by African American women is important for its aesthetic qualities, and it also illuminates the social issues which these authors have confronted. This book conveniently surveys the lives and works of African American women writers. Included are alphabetically arranged entries on more than 150 African American women novelists, poets, playwrights, short fiction writers, autobiographers, essayists, and influential scholars. Some of these figures, such as Toni Morrison and Gloria Naylor, are among the most popular authors writing today, while others have been largely neglected or are recently emerging. Each entry provides a biography, a discussion of major works, a survey of the writer's critical reception, and primary and secondary bibliographies. The Encyclopedia closes with a selected, general bibliography. Students and general readers will welcome this guide to the rich achievement of African American women. Literature students will value its exploration of the works of these writers, while social studies students will appreciate its examination of the social issues these women confront in their works.