Princeton Composers
Past Faculty
- Milton Babbitt, 1916-2011Official Web page at Wise Music Classical.
- Earl KimSite maintained by the Theodore Presser Company.
Composer Bibliographies, Research Guides & Companions
Oxford Online Bibliographies compile authoritatively selected and annotated citations for key reference works, collected correspondence, biographies, monographs, and articles relating to prominent composers.
Research guides provide detailed listings for a composer's known musical and literary works followed by annotated bibliographies of the secondary literature on the composer's œuvre arranged by genre and important topics in the composer's life, career, and reception history—plus other features such as a genealogies, chronologies, and indexes.
Companions collate major essays by established experts that address key aspects of the composer's career, creative work, style, and critical reception.
Composers A-G
Samuel Barber: a research and information guide by Call Number: Reference (SV) ML 134 .B175 W46 2010Publication Date: 2010An annotated reference guide to Barber's life, works and achievements.
Béla Bartók: a research and information guide by Call Number: Reference (SV) ML 134 .B18 A7 2011Publication Date: 2011Annotated bibliography of primary and secondary sources and catalogue of Bartók's compositions. The third edition of this research guide provides an update in this field and represents the multidisciplinary research areas in the growing Bartók literature.
Alban Berg: A Research and Information Guide by Call Number: Reference (SV) ML 134 .B46 S56 2018Publication Date: 2018"The Third Edition is an annotated bibliography highlighting both the nature of primary sources related to the composer and the scope and significance of the secondary sources that deal with Berg, his compositions, and his influence as a composer."
Leonard Bernstein: a research and information guide by Call Number: Reference (SV) ML 134. B512 L35 2015Publication Date: 2015Includes annotations on Bernstein's writings, performances, educational work, and major secondary sources. Updated to include research since the 1st edition was published in 2001, as well as online resources.
John Cage: A Research and Information Guide by Call Number: Reference (SV) ML 134 .C147 H34 2018Publication Date: 2017Focuses on documentary studies, archival resources, scholarly research, and autobiographical materials, and places the composer and his work in a larger context of postmodern philosophy, art and theater movements, and contemporary politics.
Elliott Carter: A Guide to Research (Online) by Call Number: Reference (SV) ML 134 .C19 L56 2000 (print version)Publication Date: 2000Contains a chronology, complete list of works, detailed discography, and fully annotated bibliography of over 1,000 books, articles, interviews, video recordings, and Carter's own writings.
Alberto Ginastera: A Research and Information Guide by Call Number: Reference (SV) ML 134 .G43S48 2010Publication Date: 2010Includes a detailed biographical sketch of the composer that quotes extensively from his letters, summary of his style (including in late works), comprehensive catalogue of Ginastera's music, annotated list of his published writings, archival holdings and internet resources, and more.
Composers H-R
Paul Hindemith: A Research and Information Guide (Online) by Call Number: Reference (SV) ML 134 .H5 L87 2009 (print version)Publication Date: 2009Expanded second edition includes electronic resources.
Gustav Holst: A Research and Information Guide (Online) by Call Number: Reference (SV) ML 134 .H75H85 2011 (print version)Publication Date: 2011Includes: bibliography, list of works, discography, index, chronology
Charles Ives: A Research and Information Guide by Call Number: Reference (SV) ML 134 .I9 M34 2010Publication Date: 2010With informative annotations and nearly two hundred new entries, this greatly expanded, updated, and revised guide offers a key survey of the field.
Bohuslav Martinů: A Research and Information Guide by Call Number: Reference (SV) ML 134 .M44 S56 2014Publication Date: 2014Includes all secondary sources on Martinu and his music, as well as chronology of his life and a complete list of works.
Olivier Messiaen: A Research and Information Guide by Call Number: Reference (SV) ML 134 .M54 B46 2018Publication Date: 2017Second edition has been fully revised and updated.
Maurice Ravel: A Guide to Research (Online) by Call Number: Reference (SV) ML 134 .R19 Z36 2005 (print version)Publication Date: 2004Includes: bibliography, list of works, index, chronology
Composers S-Z
The Cambridge Companion to Schoenberg (Online) by Call Number: Reference (SV) ML410.S283 C36 2010 (print version)Publication Date: 2010Presents engaging essays by leading scholars on Schoenberg's central works, writings, and ideas over his long life in Vienna, Berlin, and Los Angeles.
The Cambridge Companion to Shostakovich (Online) by Call Number: Reference (SV) ML410.S53 C36 2008 (print version)Publication Date: 2008Offers a starting point and a guide for readers who seek a fuller understanding of Shostakovich's place in the history of music.
The Cambridge Companion to Michael Tippett (Online) by Call Number: Reference (SV) ML410.T467 C36 2013 (print version)Publication Date: 2013Discusses the contexts and concepts of modernism, tradition, politics, sexuality and creativity that shaped Tippett's music and ideas, engaging with archive materials, relevant literature and models of interpretation.
Ralph Vaughan Williams: A Research and Information Guide by Call Number: Reference (SV) ML 134 .V3 R67 2016Publication Date: 2016Offers comprehensive coverage of the English composer's prose works and accounts for over 1,000 secondary sources from all critical and scholarly eras.
The Cambridge Companion to Vaughan Williams (Online) by Call Number: Reference (SV) ML410.V3 C36 2013 (print version)Publication Date: 2013Surveys of major genres are complemented by chapters exploring such topics as the composer's relationship with the BBC and his studies with Ravel; uniquely, the book also includes specially commissioned interviews with major living composers Peter Maxwell Davies, Piers Hellawell, Nicola Lefanu and Anthony Payne.
Composer Web Sites
- Kurt Weill Foundation"Administers, promotes, and perpetuates the legacies of German-born American composer Kurt Weill (1900-1950) and his wife, Austrian-born American singing actress Lotte Lenya (1898-1981)"