Dictionaries
- The Century Dictionary Online "the largest freely available online dictionary."
- Columbia Gazetteer of the World (Princeton only) Dictionary of place names which includes geographic coordinates and a glossary of geographic terms.
-
Dictionary of Slang by Ted Duckworth; from a British perspective; also includes words and phrases that originate from outside the UK and indicates the country of origin, if known.
-
Glossarist: a searchable directory of glossaries and topical dictionaries.
-
Hypertext Webster Gateway access various dictionary services.
-
Linguist's List dictionaries and more from Eastern Michigan University.
- ODLIS (Online Dictionary for Library and Information Science) common terms used in libraries, the book trade, computer science, etc.
-
Oxford English Dictionary updated quarterly; from Oxford UP. (Princeton only) comprehensive directory of foreign language and English dictionaries.
- Oxford Language Dictionaries Online bilingual dictionaries for English paired with the following: French, German, Spanish, Italian, Russian and Chinese. (Princeton only)
-
Webster's Revised Unabridged 1913 Ed. ARTFL Project.
-
WordNet online lexical system developed by the Cognitive Science Laboratory at Princeton University.
-
Your Dictionary.com word lists, dictionaries and thesauri for over 130 languages (R. Beard, Bucknell University; formerly Web of Online Dictionaries).
Foreign Language Dictionaries
- French: ARTFL Project French-English dictionary, ARTFL-FRANTEXT (formerly TFL Dictionary Form), and Dictionnaire de l'Académie française.
- German: English-German Dictionary by Wolfram Schneider, and German-English/English German Dictionary.
- Italian: Reverso Italian-English dictionary.
- Russian: Rustran.com Russian-English dictionary.
- Spanish: SpanishDict Spanish-English dictionary and translator.
- Multiple Languages: WordReference.com translates from English to Spanish, French, Italian, German, or Russian and Princeton University Library: Recommended Language Dictionaries recommended by librarians.
Thesauri
- Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names find English names for places named in foreign languages.
- Internet Thesaurus thesaurus and other reference tools online.
- Roget's Thesaurus 1911 edition; "supplemented: July, 1991."
Acronyms & Abbreviations
- Acronym Finder searchable database containing common acronyms, with a focus on computers, technology, telecommunications, and the military.
- Oxford Dictionary of Abbreviations (Princeton only).
- The Internet Acronym Server search for acronyms collected from internet resources.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait