Biodiversity, Conservation, Extinction: Biodiversity, Conservation, Extinction

Biodiversity/Conservation/Extinction

Global Biodiversity Information Facility International open data infrastructure, funded by governments.  Provides access to data about all types of life on Earth.  One can search by species, country, or dataset.
World Development Indicators Annual economic, social, educational, environmental and health data from many of the World Bank's major statistical publications. Includes numbers by country for threatened species of birds, fish, mammals, and plants; as well as marine  and terrestial protected areas.  1960+.
Environmental Data Explorer United Nations Environment Programme Data portal to international and regional data on many aspects of the environment including agriculture, air quality, biodiversity, coral reefs, ecosystems, endangered and threatened species, emissions, erosion, forests, human settlements, land use, ozone, pesticides, and weather.
Biodiversity Heritage Library Digital library providing open access to over 45,000 titles of digitized biodiversity, natural history, and taxonomic literature worldwide.
Census of Marine Life Used to assess the diversity (how many different kinds), distribution (where they live), and abundance (how many) of marine life.
Biological Indicators of Watershed Health Includes vernal/seasonal pool and coral reef bioindicators and information on aquatic biodiversity.
Vital Signs Worldwatch Institute publication in cooperation with the United Nations Environment Programme. GE150.W675 (Current Volume in Trustee Reading Room Reference (DR): Firestone) Includes data and essays on the environment.
World Resources Institute Mission is "to move human society to live in ways that protect Earth's environment and its capacity to provide for the needs and aspirations of current and future generations". Flagship publication is World Resources Report which provides an overview of environmental trends. Includes many data tables. Current edition in (SSRC) S900.W67. Older editions in Firestone. Also includes datasets.
Worldwatch Global Trends Worldwatch Institute CD-ROM with historical data (sometimes going back to the 1600s) on ecosystems, diversity, agriculture, food, water, energy, climate, and pollution. DSS Study Number 5108.
International Union for Conservation of Nature Mission is to influence, encourage and assist societies throughout the world to conserve the integrity and diversity of nature and to ensure that any use of natural resources is equitable and ecologically sustainable.

World Database on Protected Areas
Most comprehensive global spatial dataset on marine and terrestrial protected areas available.
Eurostat. Environment Provides statistics on land use, greenhouse gases, air pollution, waste, water, environmental accounts, pesiticides, fertilizer use, and biodiversity for European Union member nations.

Contacts

To find who might be able to help think of the specific discipline within environmental studies and consult the list of specialists.