-
American Books on Food and Drink : a bibliographical catalog of the cookbook collection housed in the Lilly Library at the University of Indiana, by William R. Cagle & Lisa Killion Stafford. New Castle, Del. : Oak Knoll Press, 1998 794 pages, illustrated. (F) Z5776.G2 C177 1998
- Cookbook Library : four centuries of the cooks, writers, and recipes that made the modern cookbook. by Anne Willan ; with Mark Cherniavsky and Kyri Claflin. (F) TX645 .W53 2012
- Culinary Americana : cookbooks published in the cities and towns of the United States from 1860 through 1960, by Eleanor and Bob Brown ; foreword by Clifton Fadiman. (F) Z5776.G2 B7 1996
-
The Delectable Past, the joys of the table, from Rome to the Renaissance, from Queen Elizabeth I to Mrs. Beeton: the menus, the manners, and the most delectable recipes of the past, masterfully re-created for cooking and enjoying today, by Esther B. Aresty. New York: Simon and Schuster, 1964. 254 p. illus., facsims., ports IN STACKS (F) TX645 .A7 1964
- Food and Drink in American History : a "full course" encyclopedia, [edited by] Andrew F. Smith. v3 volumes. Santa Barbara, California : ABC-CLIO, [2013]. (F) TX349 .F5716 2013
- Food and Drink Through the Ages, 2500 B.C. to 1937 A.D. A catalogue of antiquities, manuscripts, books, and engraving treating of cookery, eating and drinking; including books from the library and with the bookplate of Robert Viel, the famous Paris restaurant. Maggs Bros. London, Maggs Bros. [1937]. 191 p., illustrations including facsims. (F) TX353 .M28 1937
- Food History : critical and primary sources, edited by Jeffrey M. Pilcher.4 vols: London : Bloomsbury Academic, 2014. Illustrations. (F) TX353 .F635 2014
- Food Words : essays in culinary culture, by Peter Jackson and the CONANX group ; foreword by Warren J. Belasco. London ; New York : Bloomsbury Academic, An imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing, 2013. 293 pages, illustrations.(F) TX349 .J327 2013
- From Betty Crocker to Feminist Food Studies: critical perspectives on women and food, edited by Arlene Voski Avakian, Barbara Haber. Amherst : University of Massachusetts Press, c2005. 299 pages, illustrated. (F) HQ1111 .F76 2005
- Gastronomical and Culinary Literature a survey and analysis of historically oriented collections in the U.S.A., by Barbara L. Feret. Metuchen, NJ : Scarecrow Press, 1979. 124 pages. (F) Z5776.G2 F47.
- History of American Cooking, by Merril D. Smith. : Santa Barbara, California : ABC-CLIO, [2013] 188pages, illustrations. (F) TX715 .S6655 2013
- Modern Art Cookbook, by Mary Ann Caws London : Reaktion Books, 2013. 284 pages, illustrations (some color.). (F) TX652 .C387 2013
- 101 Classic Cookbooks; 501 Classic Recipes, The Fales Library, New York University, edited by Marvin J. Taylor and Clark Wolf. New York: Rizzoli, 2012. 688 pages, illustrations (some color). (F) TX714 .A15x 2012
- "Like a hall of fame for cookbooks, this is a food lover’s dream collection, featuring 501 recipes from favorite authors. e." Publisher's Description.
- A Square Meal: a culinary history of the Great Depression, by Jane Ziegelman and Andrew Coe.. New York: Harper, 2016. 25 black-and-white photographs. (F) Ordered April 2016
"The decade-long Great Depression, a period of shifts in the country’s political and social landscape, forever changed the way America eats." Publisher's abstract.
-
Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America, 2d ed. New York: Oxford University Press, c2013.. 3 vol. (ReCAP) TX349 .E45 2013. Also electronic ed.
"The Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America covers the significant events, inventions, and social movements that have shaped the way Americans view, prepare, and consume food and drink" Catalog record..
- Story Behind the Dish : Classic American Foods, by Mark McWilliams.Santa Barbara, California : Greenwood, [2012]. 255 pages, illustrations. (F) TX645 .M39 2012.
The historic and cultural context for many dishes goes far toward explaining why certain foods continue to appeal to many people.
