This is the "Home" page of the "African American Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
A.M. Journal - Augusta UnionBaltimore Afro-American - BystanderCalifornia Eagle - CrusaderDaily American Citizen - Evening CallFlorida Evangelist - Huntsville StarIllinois Record - Knoxville Negro WorldLangston City Herald - L'UnionMacon Sentinel - Muslim JournalNational Anti-Slavery Standard - Northwest RecorderOakland Sunshine - Oil City Afro-AmericanPacific Appeal - ProgressRace Standard - Rock Hill MessengerSan Francisco Vindicator - StatesmanTennessee Star - Voice of MissionsWashington Bee - World Muslim News
Abolition and ColonizationCivil Rights and Black PowerEducationFBI FilesFree African Americans in the 19th CenturyHistory 1700 to the presentOrganizationsPersonal PapersPlantation LifeSelected Web SitesSlavery and the Slave TradeThe ConfederacyWomen
19th Century Newspapers20th Century NewspapersNewspaper Web Sites
Books about Newspapers and PublishersNewspaper Indexes
Graphic ArtsManuscriptsSlavery Part 1Slavery Part 2
African Americans and PrincetonArchival CollectionsPublic Policy PapersSlavery at Princeton
A.M.E.A.M.E. Indiana - A.M.E. VirginiaA.M.E. Virginia - ChestnutCheyney - IndustrialInformat - North-westernPhiladelphia - Young
Encyclopedias

Admin Sign In 

African American Studies  Tags: primary_sources newspapers african_american history civil_rights race women religion  

Primary and selected secondary sources for research in African American Studies at Princeton University.
Last update: Feb 01st, 2010 URL: http://libguides.princeton.edu/aas  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

Need More Help?

If you need further assistance, please contact Emily M. Belcher, African American Studies Selector, by phone, (609) 258-2964 or by e-mail, belcher@princeton.edu

 

 

CAAS

For information about current course offerings, please visit the Center for African American Studies web site.

 
 

Overview

The collections in Princeton University Library are rich and varied for the study of African American life and history, civil rights, and beyond.  Selected secondary sources are organized by subject, while primary sources are categorized by the main subject of the collection, and in some cases may appear under one or more tabs at the top of the page.

This guide is intended to increase awareness of primary sources housed in Microform Services on C-floor of Firestone Library, and related print collections in the Department of Rare Books and Special Collections, and the Seeley G. Mudd Manuscripts Library by providing subject category, title, call number to collection and guide, and when available, link to finding aids.   Many of the microfilm collections include current and historical newspapers, personal papers of prominent individuals, slavery and abolition, the work of civil rights organizations, and Black nationalists groups, while many other collections represent significant events of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.  

Guides to microfilm, which are shelved in close proximity to microfilm collections, help contextualize the collection by providing provenance, scope and content, reel, and frame numbers.  Collections listed under Newspapers and Primary Sources for Historical Research are housed in Microform Services on C-floor.

 Finding aids prepared by the Department of Rare Books and Special Collections provide detailed scope and content descriptions, and complete folder listings for each collection represented in this guide under the tabs labeled Rare Books and Special Collections, and Seeley G. Mudd Library.

 

 

General & Humanities Reference Librarian

Profile ImageEmily M. Belcher
Contact Info:
Firestone Library, B-12-P
609-258-2964
Send Email

Subjects:
African American Studies, Anthropology, Asian American Studies, Women's Studies

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait