Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Important Library Information for Transfer Students
Welcome to Princeton!
We are so excited that you are here, even if you're not really "here." We have a page of information specifically for undergraduates that answers many of the questions you might have, particularly about how the library can help you when you cannot be on campus.
Please feel free to email me with any questions about the Library, not just for your writing sem.
Finding Books and Articles
The main search box on the library homepage will allow you to search for books or articles (plus more). It's a great place to start when you have a few keywords in mind and are just getting started with your research.
Search the catalog for books, manuscripts, journal titles, musical scores, etc.
Search Articles+ by keyword when you are looking for articles on a particular topic, or by article title when you are doing known-item searching.
Primary Sources: News & Archives
For a comprehensive listing of contemporary and historical news sources, please see the Newspapers Research Guide.
You also have access to the New York Times for free through the Library's academic license program.
Consider searching archive databases for various kind of primary sources.
Offers reports and analysis on a variety of current policy issues. Includes background information, pro/con debates, and a chronology, plus resources for additional research.
CQ Voting and Elections Collection
Integrates authoritative analyses, concise explanations, and historical material to provide a powerful research and reference tool on the American voter, major and minor political parties, campaigns and elections, and historical and modern races for Congress, the presidency, and governorships.
Constructing Your Bibliography
Bibliographic management tools enable you to store library sources in your own personal database and then incorporate the citations seamlessly into your research paper in whatever format your writing seminar requires. Within these tools you can take also notes on the books and articles you find and search those notes by keyword.
Go to the bibliographic management guide to learn more.