Skip to main content

U.S. Government Documents: The Federal Judiciary

Websites and Databases of Interest

The Constitution of the United States

Comprises the primary law of the U.S. Federal Government. It also describes the three chief branches of the Federal Government and their jurisdictions. In addition, it lays out the basic rights of citizens of the United States.

Federal Judicial Center

The Federal Judicial Center is the education and research agency of the Federal Courts.

LexisNexis Academic (Princeton faculty, students and staff only)

Provides online access to the following case law:

The United States Supreme Court from 1790
The United States Courts of Appeal from 1789
The United States District Courts from 1789
The United States Bankruptcy Courts from October 1979

U. S. Sentencing Commission

Provides information about the history and work of the Commission. Additionally, some statistics and sentencing guidelines manual are found here.

U. S. Supreme Court

Information about the Supreme Court and current slip opinions as well as current orders can be found on this website.

 

 

U.S. Courts: the Federal Judiciary

U. S. Courts

This website has basic and descriptive information about the U. S. Supreme Court, the U. S. Courts of Appeals, the U. S. District Courts, and the U. S. Bankruptcy Courts

FDsys U.S. Court Opinions

United States Courts Opinions (USCOURTS) collection is a pilot project between the U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO) and the Administrative Office of the United States Courts (AOUSC) to provide public access to opinions from selected United States appellate, district, and bankruptcy courts. The content of this collection dates back to April 2004, though searchable electronic holdings for some courts may be incomplete for this earlier time period. Once an opinion is located, all associated opinions within the same case can be accessed from the opinion

U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-current

1832-1978

The Making of Modern Law

This collection represents records and briefs brought before the Supreme Court from 1832-1978. These are also available in microfiche format located in Recap. Consult Microforms Service for the index.

1979-current

Records and Briefs are available only in microformat located in Microforms Service on A floor in Firestone Library. Consult staff in Microforms Service for assistance.

 

U. S. Reports

Only the printed bound volumes of the United States Reports contain the final, official opinions of the Supreme Court of the United States. The Official publication is available in print and shelved at KF101 .U578 in Firestone Library (non-circulating).

Current unbound preliminary prints - Official reports of the Supreme Court - are shelved at JU 6.8/A: in the Documents Collection on A floor in Firestone Library.

U. S. Reports is also available in a digital format for downloading from the Supreme Court's website with the caveat that the printed volumes are the only  official opinions and will control if a discrepancy is found between the printed and online versions.

Vol. 502-current

 

Depository Info

The general public is welcome to use depository materials free of charge. For access information and hours, please consult the the online hours (choose "Firestone Library - Depository Access" from the drop down menu), Access Information Page, and the Firestone Access Office

PLEASE NOTE:  While the general public is welcome to use depository materials free of charge, many of our U.S. Government resources, including many of the resources listed in this research guide, are not depository materials and may only be used by Princeton University students, faculty, and staff.  This includes most of the electronic resources such as Proquest Congressional and Hein Online.

Princeton University Library adheres to the following policies set by the Goverment Printing Office: FDLP Internet Use Policy Guidelines and Depository Library Public Service Guidelines for Government Information in Electronic Formats.