Skip to main content

U.S. Government Documents: Serial Set

Online resources

FDsys

Includes bills (full-text 1993 forward), history of bills, calendars, documents & reports (full-text 1995 forward), Congressional Record and its Index, public laws (full-text 1994 forward), the U.S. Code, Congressional Directory, and a history of line item veto notices.

Hein Online U. S. Congressional Documents (Princeton faculty, students and staff only)

Provides online access to the Annals of Congress (1789-1824), Register of Debates (1824-1837) and Congressional Globe (1833-1873), and the Congressional Record (1973-current). In addition, the American State Papers and the Journals of the Continental Congress are available.

Legislative Sourcebook (Law Librarians' Society of Washington, D.C.)

Includes a weekly list of newly released hearings, newly enacted public laws, a table of Congressional publication volumes and Presidential issuances, and a guide to the U.S. Serial Set.

Proquest Congressional (Princeton faculty, students and staff only)

Includes the Congressional Record, bills and bill tracking (full-text 1989 forward), legislative histories, public laws (full-text 1988 forward), hearings (full-text 1824 forward), documents (full-text 1789 forward), reports (full-text 1789 forward), committee prints (selective full-text 1824 forward), biographical, financial and voting information for members of Congress.

Serial Set

The Serial Set is a composite of nearly all House and Senate reports and documents published since 1817. It includes committee reports related to bills and other matters, presidential communications to Congress, treaty materials, certain executive department publications, and certain non-governmental publications. The precursor to the Serial Set is a privately published collection called the American State Papers.

Full text of House and Senate Reports and Documents from the 1st Congress-current (1789- ) can be searched and obtained via Proquest Congressional.  Full text of House and Senate Reports and Documents from the 104th Congress to date (1995- ) via THOMAS.

Paper holdings

  • American State Papers 1st-14th Congress (1789-1817):  located in Documents Off-site Storage. Request retrieval through email: docstor@princeton.edu.
  • Serial Set 15th-103rd Congress (1817-1994):  located in Documents Off-site Storage. Request retrieval through email: docstor@princeton.edu.
  • Serial Set 104th-105th Congress (1995-1998): located in Recap. Request retrieval through the Main Catalog.
  • Serial Set 106th-108th Congress (1999-2004):  located in Documents Off-site Storage. Request retrieval through email: docstor@princeton.edu.
  • Serial Set 109th-111th, 1st session (2005-2009): located in Recap. Request retrieval through the Main Catalog.
  • Serial Set 111th, 2nd session- 112th Congress (2010-2012) located in the U.S. Documents Collection on A floor, arranged by Congress and document number.

Microfiche holdings:

  • Serial Set and American State Papers (1789-1969):  located in Recap. Request retrieval through the Main Catalog.
  • Serial Set 91st Congress to date (1970- ):  located in Recap, arranged by year and CIS number. Request retrieval through the Main Catalog.

Note: Senate Executive Documents and Reports were not included in the Serial Set until the 96th Congress (1979). They are indexed in the CIS Index to U.S. Senate Executive Documents and Reports (Z1223.Z7 C574 1987, located in Recap) and in Proquest Congressional.

  • 15th-90th Congress (1817- 1969):  microfiche 2069, located in Microforms Service (C Floor, Firestone Library), arranged by Congress, session, and CIS number
  • 91st-95th Congress (1970-1978):  on microfiche and part of the CIS Microfiche Collection, located in Recap, arranged by year and CIS number. Request retrieval through the Main Catalog.

Depository Info

The general public is welcome to use depository materials free of charge. For access information and hours, please consult the the online hours (choose "Firestone Library - Depository Access" from the drop down menu), Access Information Page, and the Firestone Access Office

PLEASE NOTE:  While the general public is welcome to use depository materials free of charge, many of our U.S. Government resources, including many of the resources listed in this research guide, are not depository materials and may only be used by Princeton University students, faculty, and staff.  This includes most of the electronic resources such as Proquest Congressional and Hein Online.

Princeton University Library adheres to the following policies set by the Goverment Printing Office: FDLP Internet Use Policy Guidelines and Depository Library Public Service Guidelines for Government Information in Electronic Formats.