Skip to main content

U.S. Government Documents: Hearings

Online resources

FDsys

Includes bills (full-text 1993 forward), history of bills, calendars, documents & reports (full-text 1995 forward), Congressional Record and its Index, public laws (full-text 1994 forward), the U.S. Code, Congressional Directory, and a history of line item veto notices.

Legislative Sourcebook (Law Librarians' Society of Washington, D.C.)

Includes a weekly list of newly released hearings, newly enacted public laws, a table of Congressional publication volumes and Presidential issuances, and a guide to the U.S. Serial Set.

Proquest Congressional (Princeton faculty, students and staff only)

Includes the Congressional Record, bills and bill tracking (full-text 1989 forward), legislative histories, public laws (full-text 1988 forward), hearings (full-text 1824 forward), documents (full-text 1789 forward), reports (full-text 1789 forward), committee prints (selective full-text 1824 forward), biographical, financial and voting information for members of Congress.


Congressional Hearings

Committees provide intensive consideration to a proposed measure as well as the forum where the public is given their opportunity to be heard. When a public hearing is set in a committee or subcommittee, an official reporter is present to record the testimony on the bill or relevant subject matter.

Full text of Congressional hearings (1824-present) is availabe from Proquest Congressional.

Paper holdings

  • 1st to 95th Congress (1789-1978):  located primarily in Firestone stacks, arranged by Library of Congress call numbers (these call numbers can be found by searching the Main and Supplementary catalogs)
  • 96th-112th Congress. (1979-2012):  located either in Documents Off-site Storage (request retrieval through email: docstor@princeton.edu) OR in Recap (request retrieval through the Main Catalog).

Microfiche available from Congressional Information Service Microfiche Collection. Search for CIS number using Proquest Congressional and then retrieve microfiche through the Main Catalog - (search Main Catalog for title: CIS Microfiche Library.) 

  • 89th-112th Congress (1965-2012):  located in Recap and arranged by year and CIS number.

Selected hearings from the 105th Congress to date are available from FDsys

Unpublished Hearings (search for the CIS number using Proquest Congressional or the CIS Index to Unpublished House and Senate Hearings  (KF40.C55 located in Recap and use the fiche collection at Rutgers University)

  • 18th-91st Congress (1824-1971) Senate Hearings:  CIS microfiche collection, Alexander Library at Rutgers University
  • 23rd-74th Congress (1834-1936) House hearings: CIS microfiche collection, Alexander Library at Rutgers University

Depository Info

The general public is welcome to use depository materials free of charge. For access information and hours, please consult the the online hours (choose "Firestone Library - Depository Access" from the drop down menu), Access Information Page, and the Firestone Access Office

PLEASE NOTE:  While the general public is welcome to use depository materials free of charge, many of our U.S. Government resources, including many of the resources listed in this research guide, are not depository materials and may only be used by Princeton University students, faculty, and staff.  This includes most of the electronic resources such as Proquest Congressional and Hein Online.

Princeton University Library adheres to the following policies set by the Goverment Printing Office: FDLP Internet Use Policy Guidelines and Depository Library Public Service Guidelines for Government Information in Electronic Formats.