Skip to main content

Sports Resource Guide

A guide to sources for sports research at Princeton University.

Games

British Chess Magazine
London : Trubner & co., 1881-
Location: Firestone
Call Number: GV1313 .B7582
Current issues in Periodicals Reading Room (PR).

Chess Life
New Windsor, N.Y. : United States Chess Federation, 1980-
Location: Firestone
Call Number: GV1313 .C487
Current issues in Periodicals Reading Room (PR), 1946-1969 available at call number: Oversize 4284.2516q and 1946-1960 available in: MICROFILM S00022.

Craven, Robert R., comp.
Billiards, Bowling, Table Tennis, Pinball, and Video Games: A Bibliographic Guide.
Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1983.
Location: Firestone Library
Call Number: Z7514.I53 C73 1983

Divinsky, Nathan.
The Chess Encyclopedia.
New York: Facts on File, 1991.
Location: Firestone Library: Non Circulating (Fnc)
Call Number: GV1314.5 D58 1991

Golombek, Harry, ed.
Golombek's Encyclopedia of Chess.
New York: Crown Publishers, 1977.
Location: RECAP
Call Number: GV1314.5 .G64 1977

Hooper, David and Kenneth Whyld.
The Oxford Companion to Chess.
2nd ed. Oxford and New York: Oxford University Press, 1992.
Location: RECAP
Call Number: GV1445 .H616 1992

Morehead, Albert H.
New complete Hoyle : the authoritative guide to the official rules of all popular games of skill and chance.
New York : Doubleday, 1991.
Location: Firestone (F)
Call Number: GV1243 .H88 1991

Parlett, David.
A-Z of card games.
Oxford and New York: Oxford University Press, 2004.
Location: Firestone (F)
Call Number: GV1243 .P315 2004

Digital Gaming Communities Web ArchivePreserves content, across varying web formats, generated by and related to digital games, in order to foster research within the discipline. Themes collected include critical gaming, game ethics, accessibility in gaming and game design, and user reviews and playthroughs. Content can be created by an individual, group of individuals, organizations, or corporations. While other sites are collecting digital games and criticism of digital games, no other archive is collecting the responses of the gamers themselves. This Archive will give current and future researchers a means of studying digital games and gamers in distinct and different ways than secondary sources represent.

Pastimes 'n Paradigms. This website is primarily a gallery of games, with information about historical games and their purposes.

ELLIOTT AVEDON MUSEUM AND ARCHIVE OF GAMES. This resource includes a game name index, an ethnography and geopolitical index, and a virtual exhibit format of most games. Pictures, history of the game and links to sites with more information are included in each game page.

Another resource for chess is the Eugene B. Cook Chess Collection which includes books on the game and history of chess and has some rare editions and one incunable. The Cook Collection is located in the Department of Special Collections.The books can be found by searching in the Catalog using the Subject Heading: Chess.