Skip to main content

Sports Resource Guide

A guide to sources for sports research at Princeton University.

Biographies

  Friedman, Ian C.
  Latino Athletes.
  New York, NY: Facts on File, 2007.
  Location: Firestone Library: Non Circulating (Fnc)
  Call Number: GV697 .A1.F696 2007
   
  King, C. Richard, editor
  Native Americans in Sports
  Armonk, NY: Sharpe Reference, 2004. 
   
  Markoe, Arnold, ed.
  The Scribner Encyclopedia of American Lives: Sports Figures.
  New York: C. Scribner's Sons, 2002.
  Location: RECAP
  Call Number: GV697.A1 S42 2002
  This illustrated two-volume set includes 640 signed biographical entries of important figures in American sport history, including information on the family background, influences, and achievements of each athlete.  Although the majority of entries profile professional athletes, the encyclopedia also includes amateur athletes.
   
  McGovern, Mike.
  Encyclopedia of 20th Century Athletes.
  New York: Facts on File, 2001.
  Location: Firestone Library: Non Circulating (Fnc)
  Call Number: GV697.A1 .M355 2001
 

Biographies of major figures in baseball, basketball, boxing, football, golf, hockey, tennis, motorsports, and select other sports. Includes major Olympians, listings of sports halls of fame, and a chronology of major sporting events.

   
  Porter, David L., ed.
  Biographical Dictionary of American Sports: 1989-1992 Supplement for Baseball, Football, Basketball and Other Sports.
  New York: Greenwood Press, 1992.
  Location: Firestone Library: Non Circulating (Fnc)
  Call Number: GV697.A1 B494 1992
  This supplement includes over 600 biographies of notable men and women American sport figures in baseball, basketball, football, golf, horse racing, ice hockey, tennis, track and field, and miscellaneous sports such as auto racing and volleyball.
   
  Porter, David L., comp.
  A Cumulative Index to the Biographical Dictionary of American Sports.
  Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1993.
  Location: Firestone Library: Non Circulating (Fnc)
  Call Number: GV697.A1 P576 1993
   
  Porter, David L., ed.
  Biographical Dictionary of American Sports: 1992-1995 Supplement for Baseball, Football, Basketball, and Other Sports.
  Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1995.
  Location: Firestone Library: Non Circulating (Fnc)
  Call Number: GV697.A1 B494 1995
  This supplement includes over 600 biographies of notable men and women American sport figures in baseball, basketball, football, golf, horse racing, ice hockey, tennis, track and field, and miscellaneous sports such as auto racing and volleyball.
   
  Wiggins, David K., editor
  African Americans in Sports
  Armonk, N.Y.: Sharpe Reference, 2004.

In addition to these general works, also see the biographies section of each specific sport from the main sports page as well as general biographic indexes from the Main Library's Databases page.