Research Guides: Task Force-specific Guides Spring 2022: Marquis 402D Worker-driven Social Responsibility

A well-researched paper probably involves all of these

EconLit This link opens in a new window
Indexes international economic literature. Includes major journals, articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, full-text book reviews, dissertations, and working papers.

1886+
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Look specifically at: "Unions and Labor-Management Relations" for possible paper topics.
Proquest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Indexes publications of the U.S. Congress such as hearings 1824+ (including previously unpublished hearings: Senate 1824-1992 and House 1833-1982), committee reports, documents and prints. Material is available in microfiche and/or electronic. Essential tool for doing legislative history research. Includes Congressional Research Reports from 1916+, Bills & Laws 1789+, U.S. Serial Set from 1789+, Annals of Congress from 1789-1824, Register of Debates from 1824-1837, Congressional Globe from 1833-1873, and Congressional Record from 1873+. Also includes Executive Branch Documents 1789-1948 and Executive Orders and Presidential Proclamations 1789+.
Labordoc This link opens in a new window
References to a wide range of international print and electronic publications on all aspects of work and sustainable livelihoods, and the work-related aspects of economic and social development and human rights.
Web of Science (ISI) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary index to journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Offers the option to find cited references, which are the authors lists of articles used in their research. Journal coverage in the social sciences, arts, and humanities is not comprehensive. Includes conference proceedings in the sciences and social sciences.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
International coverage of journal articles, selected web sites, and patents in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities; provides citation tracking for 1996+ (select coverage for earlier periods) and cited reference searches back to 1970.

1996+

Princeton's Institutional ID (needed for Papers software): 51401.
Hein Online Library This link opens in a new window
Contains several libraries containing government information including Congressional Documents, Attorney General Decisions, Presidential Documents, and others.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text archive of core journals in select disciplines. Journal issues from the most recent 3-5 years are usually NOT available electronically through JSTOR. Also includes full text of many Princeton University Press books as well as books in Classics from many university presses.
EBSCO Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database providing abstract & indexing with select full text for many core scholarly journals as well as popular press periodicals
BNA Labor Plus This link opens in a new window
This resource requires you to obtain a username and password prior to accessing the materials.

Union data for elections, contracts, work stoppages, settlement summaries, and unfair labor practice charges. Primarily 1990s+. Includes the Daily Labor Report (December 2009+).

You can request a username and password for this resource from Bobray Bordelon.

Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Listings of major newspaper aggregators, newspapers, and other news sources.

Library Catalog Subject Headings for Books

Relevant book titles

Power, Participation, and Private Regulatory Initiatives by Daniel Brinks (Editor); Julia Dehm (Editor); Karen Engle (Editor); Kate Taylor (Editor)
ISBN: 9780812299694
Publication Date: 2021-07-30
This volume brings together academics and practitioners from around the world to engage in theoretical analysis, case study exploration, and reflection on a variety of private regulatory initiatives (PRIs) that may certify that actors along the global supply chain conform to certain codes of conduct.
Dictionary of Corporate Social Responsibility by Samuel O. Idowu (Editor); Nicholás Capaldi (Editor); Matthias Fifka (Editor); Liangrong Zu (Editor); René Schmidpeter (Editor)
ISBN: 9783319105352
Publication Date: 2015-03-09
This book is a concise and authoritative reference work and dictionary in the field of corporate social responsibility, sustainability, business ethics and corporate governance. It provides reliable definitions to more than 600 terms and concepts for researchers and professionals alike. By its definitions the dictionary helps users to understand the meanings of commonly used terms in CSR, and the roles and functions of CSR-related international organizations. Furthermore, it helps to identify keynotes on international guidelines, codes and principles relevant to CSR. The role of CSR in the business world has developed from a fig leaf marketing front into an important and indispensable aspect of corporate behavior over the past years. Sustainable strategies are valued, desired and deployed more and more by relevant players in business, politics, and societies all over the world. Both research and corporate practice therefore see CSR as a guiding principle for business success.
Corporate Reputation and Social Activism by Jose Muguel Abito; David Besanko; Daniel Diermeier
ISBN: 9780199386154
Publication Date: 2019-09-04
A firm's reputation is an asset that can be built or harmed over time and most companies invest in their good standing. This can be challenged or threatened by activists seeking to change the firm's behavior, especially to reduce negative externalities and other social harms that a company may be creating. The strategic interaction takes place in the realm of private politics and corporate social responsibility-perceptions and actions of the company, activists, and the public audience-rather than that of public policy, including regulation. In Corporate Reptutation and Social Activism Jose Miguel Abito, David Besanko, and Daniel Diermeier argue that harm to a firm's reputation is one of the strongest and most practical tools of contemporary corporate activism and explains the numerous campaigns as well as the response of companies. Through a straightforward dynamic model focusing on the interaction of the firm and activists, the authors show how both the firm's existing reputation and various activist tactics influence actions and outcomes of both the firm and the activists. Among their insights are that as a firm's reputation grows, it tends to coast on its reputation by reducing its private regulation, or voluntary adoption of internal rules that constrain certain company behavior. Activists can keep the firm from coasting in two ways: the firm acts more responsibly to protect its reputation in anticipation of activist campaigns, and a firm whose reputation is harmed by a campaign engages more responsibly to repair its reputation. The book explores how activists choose among potential targets and the different tactics activists can use to harm firms' reputations, including criticism, which has a potentially mild impact on the firm's reputation, confrontation, which can cause a reputational crisis in which the firm's reputation can be dramatically impaired, and rewards, which increase a firm's reputation. These can have different effects on firm behavior. The authors also examine whether campaigns by activists advance or harm social welfare. The result is a sweeping overview of an evolving and increasingly important phenomenon that combines rigorous modeling and that generates a rich set of empirical implications that will interest researchers in economics, business and management, sociology, and political science.

Labor policy-related topics

Topics with live links represent pages with content.

Disputes/Strikes/Lockouts
Groups
- Children
  - Child Labor
  - Youth Employment
- Ethnic/Racial Groups
  - African Americans
  - Hispanics/Latinos
- Women
  - Domestic Workers
  - Glass Ceiling

Hours/Working Time
Human Resources
- Catherwood Library (Cornell U. ILR)
  Human Resource Management Guide
Labor Economics
Labor History
- Catherwood Library (Cornell U. ILR)
  Labor History Guide
Labor and Employment Law

Occupational Health and Safety
Social Security/Pensions
Training
- Career
- Vocational Education
Unions
Wages/Compensation/Benefits
Work/Life Balance

Major Guides to Statistics and Data

In addition to the statistical yearbooks, consult the topical guides available from the Pliny Fisk Library of Economics and Finance

ProQuest Statistical Insight: Index to statistical publications issued by the U.S. Government, international inter-governmental organizations, and non-U.S. governmental sources including governments, associations, commercial publishers, universities, and independent research organizations.
Data-Planet Statistical Datasets : Wide variety of economic, social, environmental, and political indicators from many US government agencies as well as international bodies.
international macroeconomic statistics
USA macroeconomic statistics
microlevel data
- ICPSR: Inter-university Consortium for Social and Political Research
  - ICPSR’s Bibliography of Data Related Literature
  - ICPSR's Variables Search (SSVD) (ICPSR note: "The SSVD does not include our entire collection. For a comprehensive search of all datasets, use our main data search, which indexes all of the documentation available for our studies, including the variable descriptions.")
- iPOLL databank (Roper)
- Sociometrics Social Science Electronic Data Library (primarily health data)
- IPUMS: Integrated Public Use Microdata Series
labor and education data and statistics
environmental and energy statistics
financial data
health, crime and other socioeconomic data
political data and sources
trade data

US Labor Law

Daily Labor Report [Princeton only]

News coverage of key employment-related developments plus labor legislation, court decisions, regulatory actions, and administrative rulings. Available online from 1996; for 1941-1959, see MICROFILM S00427. For 1960+, see the print (Firestone) HD4802 .D3 and most recent issues in Current Periodicals.

Department of Labor: State Labor Laws

Includes links to state labor offices, state labor associations, state minimum wage laws, state child labor laws, and other state labor laws. Also includes links to state legislation on 34 labor-related topics enacted in 2013 and 2014. For 1980-2012, this information was published on an annual basis in the Bureau of Labor Statistics’ Monthly Labor Review and articles have are archived under the subject category of “State Government” in the Monthly Labor Review Archive.

Employment and Labor Law: A Beginner’s Guide

Barbara Bavis and Robert Brammer, Legal Reference Librarians at the Library of Congress, have compiled a list of basic treatises/handbooks/dictionaries, statutes/regulations, and other online sources.

Forced Labor: Reports and Publications

1. A global alliance against forced labour: global report under the follow-up to the ILO Declaration on Fundamental Principles and Rights at Work, 2005. Geneva : International Labour Office, 2005. 87 p. (ISBN: 9221153606) Report (International Labour Conference) ; 93rd session, 1 (B)

2. Data and research on human trafficking : a global survey, edited by Frank Laczko and Elzbieta Gozdziak ; International Organization for Migration. Published/Created: Geneva : International Organization for Migration, c2005. 342 p. Notes: Offprint of the special issue of International Migration, v. 43 no. 1/2, 2005 (Geneva, International Organization for Migration). [Princeton only]

3. Federal Strategic Action Plan on Services for Victims of Human Trafficking in the United States 2013-2017. Office for Victims of Crime, Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice, 2014.

4. Forced labor: coercion and exploitation in the private economy, edited by Beate Andrees, Patrick Belser. Boulder, Colo. : Lynne Rienner Publishers, 2009. 229 p. (ISBN:9781588266644) (ILO Third Global Report)

5. Profits and poverty: the economics of forced labour. International Labour Office, 2014. 57 p.

Provides figures showing that the US$ 150 billion in profits from commercial sexual exploitation and forced economic exploitation, including domestic work, agriculture and other economic activities, is three times the amount previously estimated.

6. Stopping forced labour: global report under the follow-up to the ILO Declaration on fundamental principles and rights at work. International Labour Conference, 89th session 2001, Report I(B). Geneva: International Labour Office. 128 p. (ISBN: 9221119483)

7. Trafficking in Persons Report. U.S. Department of State, 2001+

Sample paper in APA style

Sample paper in APA format with footnotes
From Purdue Univ Online Writing Lab (OWL)

Princeton University Library

Task Force-specific Guides Spring 2022

Meet with your Librarian