From the U.S. Government Printing Office; provides information from the Federal government, including Congressional bills, U.S. Code, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, Congressional Record, GAO reports, Supreme Court decisions, and more.
(1972+) Online compilation of excerpts from key historic documents. Documents selected range from presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme Court decisions to U.S. governmental reports, and scientific findings.
Access to a wealth of significant primary documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. Divided into various core collections; each contains a diverse range of policy documents including presidential directives, memos, diplomatic dispatches, meeting notes, independent reports, briefing papers, White House communications, email, confidential letters, and other secret material.
(Post World War II+)
Indexing and full text access to a rich collection of declassified documents from various government agencies, including the White House, the CIA, the FBI, the State Department, and others covering events following Word War II. Some specialized collection are contained in Archives Unbound.
For items declassified prior to this index, see The Declassified Documents Reference System - Retrospective Collection (Firestone) Z1223.Z7D36.
Since 1945, CQ Almanac has been the definitive reference for studying the U.S. Congress. Arranged thematically, each annual volume of the CQ Almanac organizes, distills, and cross-indexes the full year in Congress and in national politics. The Online Edition allows users to navigate through more than 60 years of Congressional coverage; access tables, graphs, and charts; and browse by subject, decade, or by a particular year's table of contents.
Find Congressional roll call votes by topic, session, or CQ key vote; view and compare members of Congress by biographical and demographic characteristics; compare members’ voting records; view interest group and state and member voting alignment and party unity scores; and see Supreme Court case summaries relating to the structure and powers of Congress. Data can be exported to Excel. 79th Congress (1945)-present.
Collection of online encyclopedias and guides, periodicals, directories, and databases covering American politics and Congress. Notable entries include CQ Researcher, CQ Magazine (formerly CQ Weekly), CQ Almanac, Guide to Congress, Vital Statistics on American Politics, and databases of Congressional votes and US elections.
Shows how legislation, both past and pending, affect existing U.S. laws. Links the text of a bill to the section of the code or public law it did/would modify, making it easier to track changes in the law. You can browse by U.S. Code section, by Public Law number, or Act name to view a list of modifying legislation with links to the exact changes made/proposed.
Issued biennially, the Almanac provides in-depth analysis and comprehensive profiles of every congressional district, state, governor and member of Congress. Previous years are in print at JK1012 .A44 (Firestone) back to 1972.