The Faculty category contains books and other printed materials which in some way relate to the faculty of Princeton University. Many of these titles contain listings of faculty members and their titles at any given time (several can be found in the Official Register). The Faculty Facebook also contains photographs of each faculty member.
A searchable index to faculty and staff can be found in the Faculty and Professional Staff Index, 1764-2006
Faculty and staff are also searchable by name in the following finding aids, organized alphabetically by name of academic departments: A list of the finding aids can be found in the Faculty and Professional Staff Files: Find More section.
Office of the Dean of the Faculty Files
Historical Photograph Collection: Faculty Photographs Series, circa 1870-1999 (AC067)
Alumni and Faculty Offprint Collection
Additional collections relating to Faculty
Call no. P11.73
The Official Register is a compiled volume which, in most years, contains the Catalogue, the Undergraduate Announcement, the Graduate Announcement, Annual Reports of the President and Treasurer, separate announcements for each department and school, a general descriptive booklet, and Freshman Entrance Examination papers. Several of these sections, such as the Catalogue and the Undergraduate Announcement and Graduate Announcement are available separately.
Catalogus Collegii Neo-Cæsariensis
Call no. P12.73
The Catalogus is a volume that was printed roughly every three to four years throughout the late eighteenth and early nineteenth centuries. The information found in Catalogus Collegii Neo-Cæsariensis duplicates the information found in the Catalogue, with the notable difference that it is printed entirely in Latin. This translation applies to titles and departments as well as to proper names, with the faculty roster including such aliases as "Jacobus McCosh" and "Henricus Nevius Van Dyke."
Call no. P13.73
The Catalogue is an annual volume which contains chapters describing the University administration, departments and courses, terms of admission, rules and regulations, and other information relevant to student life. It also contains a directory listing of officers and students of the University. With the exception of the directory most of this information is replicated in the Undergraduate Announcement, however in general the Catalogue is more expansive and contains several sections which the Announcement does not.
Graduate School Announcement
Call no. P13.73.2
The Graduate School Announcement is a yearly publication which is analogous to the Undergraduate Announcement in its contents, however pertaining to the academic requirements, facilities, and regulations of the graduate college.
The Register is a yearly volume which contains a directory of trustees, officers, and faculty and professional staffs of the University. The Register also lists endowed professorships and preceptorships, faculty and trustee committees, advisory councils, and academic and administrative offices.
Telephone Directories, Guide Books, etc.
P14.73.5 to P15.738
Several different titles/types of telephone directories and guidebooks exist. The Centrex Telephone Directory (P14.73.2) starts in August 1964 and continues to present, switching in title to the “Campus Telephone Directory” in 1982-83. Centrex is preceded by several other issuances which sometimes overlap, such as the Princeton University Directory (P14.75), the Bureau of Student Aid Student Telephone Directory (P14.76), and the List of the Members of Princeton University (P14.922)
This section also contains various Guide Books (P15.735.5 to P15.85) ranging in date from the 1900s to the 1940s. Some are more utilitarian in nature and serve a function similar to the directories, while others such as Princeton Handbook are formatted like mini Bric-A-Bracs/Catalogues and contain pictures. Copies of the Freshman Handbook can be found in boxes and are very small in size.
Call Nos. P40.214 to P437.901
This section contains an assortment of books and pamphlets which document faculty and academic matters at the University. Notable here are the Faculty Facebook (P41.734) which contains portraits of the Faculty from 1959-1978. Also included are several reports such as the report of the Committee on Foreign and International Affairs (P40.737) and the Committee on the Course of Study (P40.738) and other materials which serve to document the preceptorial system and methods of undergraduate instruction at Princeton in general.
The Nassau Rake
The Nassau Rake was an annual publication of the sophomore class which was equal parts yearbook and literary magazine. It is something of a predecessor to Tiger in that the contents are generally lighthearted and often poke fun at classmates, faculty (the June 1860 issue is dedicated to Professor Henry C. Cameron, a dedication which is accompanied by a sketch of an ass), and affirm class pride at the expense of “bootlick” freshmen and “loathsome” juniors.
The Daily Princetonian
Post-1885 issues of the Daily Princetonian on microfilm.
These are the early bound issues of the Daily Princetonian, generally encompassing the period when the paper was only issued once every two weeks. Bound and in fragile condition, the paper is digest sized and bound, as opposed to the larger newsprint edition with which modern students are familiar. Notably, these early issues also include the contributions of Woodrow Wilson 1879, who was one of the paper’s first editors. Topics covered in the early Princetonian are analogous to those which continue to dominate the pages: sports, campus events, and student life. Absent however from this early publication are the associated press dispatches and world news articles which the Princetonian began to feature in 1910.
A database of the Daily Princetonian and other Princeton University and town of Princeton, New Jersey publications can be found in Papers of Princeton.
Princeton Alumni Weekly
Founded in 1900, the Princeton Alumni Weekly (often simply referred to as PAW) is a magazine published and printed by Princeton University Press. Issued weekly until 1977 and biweekly thereafter, PAW is targeted to alumni and other members of the Princeton University community, and contains articles about current campus events as well as feature articles of a more general nature (but always related to Princeton and its alumni). PAW also contains two long-running features: The "Class Notes" section, in which alumni are encouraged to submit brief updates on their lives; and the "Memorials" section, in which an obituary is printed for any Princeton alumni that have passed on. Both of these sections are valuable resources when compiling genealogical data on alumni.
The Princeton Alumni Weekly Memorial Index, 1894-2011 provides obituaries of alumni, faculty, and honorary class members from 1894, April to 2011, July.
Digitized issues from 2006-present are available to view on the Princeton Alumni Weekly website.