The Academics category contains books and printed materials relating to the undergraduate curriculum at Princeton. This category includes generalized materials such as the annual catalogues issued by the University, as well as titles oriented towards more specific topics. The nature of Princeton as a major University implies that nearly all works in the collection relate somehow to the topic of education, however the primary focus of this category is on the development of the curriculum and its requirements. Works specifically regarding closely related topics such as Research, Libraries, and the Graduate School can be found in other categories.
Call no. P11.73
The Official Register is a compiled volume which, in most years, contains the Catalogue, the Undergraduate Announcement, the Graduate Announcement, Annual Reports of the President and Treasurer, separate announcements for each department and school, a general descriptive booklet, and Freshman Entrance Examination papers. Several of these sections, such as the Catalogue and the Undergraduate Announcement and Graduate Announcement are available separately.
Call no. P11.737.7
The Undergraduate Announcement is an annual publication which serves to inform the undergraduate student body, including prospective undergraduates, of the terms of admission, the system of undergraduate study, the requirements for graduation, and the expenses associated with student life such as tuition and room rental. The Announcement is very similar in its content to portions of the Undergraduate Catalog and the General Catalogue.
Call no. P13.73
The Catalogue is an annual volume which contains chapters describing the University administration, departments and courses, terms of admission, rules and regulations, and other information relevant to student life. It also contains a directory listing of officers and students of the University. With the exception of the directory most of this information is replicated in the Undergraduate Announcement, however in general the Catalogue is more expansive and contains several sections which the Announcement does not.
Call no. P13.73.3
The General Catalogue is the successor to the earlier (Undergraduate) Catalogue. It is essentially identical to that publication in the information it contains. The notable exception is that the General Catalogue lacks the student directory which is found in the Catalogue. This annually published title is not to be confused with the similarly titled General Catalogue, 1746-1906 which is a historical directory of alumni and faculty. The General Catalogue ceased publication in 1976, however all of the information it contained can be found in the Register and the Undergraduate Announcement.
Princeton College Bulletin
Princeton University Bulletin
The College/University Bulletin was a late 19th century magazine similar in content to PAW but with a heavier emphasis on academic matters, often focusing on recent developments and research coming out of the science departments. Princeton College Bulletin also includes on occasion some pictures and obituaries of notable alumni. Published six times a year by William Libbey.
University: A Princeton Magazine
University was a quarterly magazine primarily focused on the state of education at Princeton. In contrast to its close relative, PAW, the intended audience of University was alumni of the Graduate School, parents of undergraduates, and other non-alumni friends. After 1977 the magazine switched formats and was comprised of reprints from earlier issues of PAW. Starting around the mid-70s until it dissolved the magazine was published biannually.
General Faculty and Academics
Call Nos. P40.214 to P437.901
This section contains an assortment of books and pamphlets which document faculty and academic matters at the University. Notable here are the Faculty Facebook (P41.734) which contains portraits of the Faculty from 1959-1978. Also included are several reports such as the report of the Committee on Foreign and International Affairs (P40.737) and the Committee on the Course of Study (P40.738) and other materials which serve to document the preceptorial system and methods of undergraduate instruction at Princeton in general.
Academic Honors and Regulations
Call Nos. P45.7377 to P49.316
This very small group of books and pamphlets is related to academic requirements, grading, and academic awards. One important item here is Academic Honors at Princeton University (P47.975), an exhaustively researched book which breaks down the honors given in that time, and lists recipients by year. Several pamphlets pertaining to the Honor System can also be found here.