Research Guides: Journals, Magazines & Newspapers on Music: Newspapers

Key Newspapers for Music Reviews, Articles & Events

Newspapers at Princeton
Connects to the LibGuide highlighting all the major newspaper collections at Princeton University in electronic format. The historical tabs also contain many helpful tips for finding current newspapers in various formats.
Nexis Uni
Extremely current resource for locating the full-text of reviews or feature articles in newspapers, such as the New York Times, Washington Post, or Boston Globe. Click on the "i" above for the best way to find music reviews and articles.
more...less...
- For most searches, select the General (default) search option in the red task bar (for reviews and feature articles); only use NEWS for a discovery, major feature article, obituary, or other newsworthy item.
- For most searches, the Easy Search option (the default) is sufficient; the Power Search option requires more complex search formatting, but also allows more powerful drilling down to specific newspapers or other sources.
- Tips for formatting searches in Easy Search:
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Link opens up a window preset to search across back issues of many of the most important U.S. newspapers--click on "Select multiple databases" and scroll down to see newspapers and coverage, and to limit searches to one or more specific newspapers. For newspapers and coverage, click on the "i" above. Note that periods of coverage vary from title to title in this still-developing resource.
more...less...
Coverage depends on the newspaper. American Hebrew and Jewish Messenger (1857-1922); American Israelite (1854-2000); Arizona Republican (1890-1922); Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945); Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003); Austin American Statesman (1871-1975); Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988); Baltimore Sun (1837-1988); Boston Globe (1872-1982); Call and Post (Cleveland) (1934-1991); Chicago Defender (1910-1975); Chicago Tribune (1849-2013); Christian Science Monitor (1908-2009); Cincinnati Enquirer (1841-1922); Cleveland Call & Post (1934-1991); Dayton Daily News (1898-1922); Detroit Free Press (1831-1922); Guardian and the Observer (1791-2003); Indianapolis Star (1903-1922); Irish Times (1859-2012); Jerusalem Post (1932-2008); Jewish Advocate (1905-1990); Jewish Exponent (1887-1990); Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005); Los Angeles Times (1881-1990); Louisville Courier Journal (1830-1922); Nashville Tennessean (1812-1922); New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993); New York Times (1851-2011); New York Tribune (1841-1962); Newsday (1940-1994); Norfolk Journal and Guide (1921-2003); Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001); Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002); San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922); St. Louis Dispatch (1874-1922); Scotsman (1817-1950); South China Morning Post (1903-1995); Times of India (1838-2005); Toronto Star (1894-2011); Wall Street Journal (1889-1997); Washington Post (1877-1998). Also includes a Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953).
The New York Times: Historical Index (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) -- 1851-2018
Search for performance reviews and feature articles on music, musicians, and the performing arts from a New York perspective.