Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Interdisciplinary Databases with Significant Music Content
EBSCO Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database providing abstract & indexing with select full text for many core scholarly journals as well as popular press periodicals
Large multidisciplinary database featuring abstracting, indexing, and select full-text of many core scholarly journals, magazines, and major newspapers covering a broad range of subjects. Music coverage depends on the journals indexed, but an excellent resource for interdisciplinary articles appearing in non-music journals.
Wilson OmniFile -- 1982+
Multidisciplinary database providing select full-text articles, abstracts, and indexing. Good resource for music articles appearing in journals outside of music and for topics on popular music and culture.
America: History and Life (via EBSCOhost)-- 1954+
Indexes books and journal articles on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. A good resource for music articles published in humanities journals outside of music.
British Periodicals (via ProQuest)
Searchable full-text and page images of several hundred British periodicals, primarily from the 19th century, but coverage spans the late 17th to the early 21st centuries. If you are researching British music, this is an essential resource.
Historical Abstracts (via EBSCOhost) -- 1954+
Indexes books and journal articles on the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. A good resource for music articles published in humanities journals outside of music.
Interdisciplinary Resources Worth a Search
American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (ABSEES) (via EBSCOhost)
Covers North American scholarship on East-Central and Eastern Europe and the former Soviet Union. Provides access to journal articles, chapter titles, miscellaneous papers, etc. published in the U.S.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Multidisciplinary index to journal literature in the arts and humanities, offering the option to find cited references used by authors in their research.
Humanities Source Complete 1925+
Encompasses all key fields of the humanities. Content includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama, poetry, and reviews.
MLA International Bibliography (via EBSCO)
Provides citations to articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of modern literature, language, and linguistics. Good source for researching texts used in vocal music music.